VIRGINIA

Monitor

In Virginia, 16.4% of the adult population (aged 18+
years)—over 976,000 individuals—are current cigarette
smokers. Across all states, the prevalence of cigarette
smoking among adults ranges from 9.3% to 26.5%.
Virginia ranks 12" among states.

Among youth aged 12—17 years, 11.0% smoke in
Virginia. The range across all states is 6.5% to 15.9%.
Virginia ranks 28" among the states.

Among adults aged 35+ years, over 9,200 died as a
result of tobacco use per year, on average, during
2000-2004. This represents a smoking-attributable
mortality rate of 267.0/100,000. Virginia’s smoking-
attributable mortality rate ranks 28" among the states.
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Past-Month Cigarette Use Among

Youth Aged 12-17 Years
BETTER
In Virginia, 11.0% of
National youth aged 12-17
Average: years smoked a

10.1% —> B cigarette in the past
month. The range
~€—— across all states is 6.5%
to 15.9%. Virginia ranks

28" among the states.

WORSE Source: NSDUH, 2006-2007
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Smoking-Attributable Adult

(35+ Years) Mortality
BETTER

The average annual
smoking-attributable
mortality rate in
Virginia for 2000-2004
was 267.0/100,000.
~€&— Therange across states
is 138.3/100,000 to
370.6/100,000.
Virginia ranks 28
among the states.

Source: SAMMEC
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248.5/100,000
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Protect

Virginia does not have a statewide smoke-free law
that provides adequate protection against exposure to
secondhand smoke in public places. The law preempts
local communities from enacting local smoke-free
restrictions.

State Smoke-Free Policy
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Among adults who work indoors, the percentage who
reported anyone smoking in their work area within the
preceding 2 weeks has remained lower in Virginia than
in the nation overall. Currently, Virginia ranks 20"
among states for workplace exposure, at 6.3%.

Percentage of Smokers
Calling Quitline
BETTER

In Virginia, 0.4% of

National current smokers who
Average: made a quit attempt in
28% —> the past year called a

quitline. Virginia ranks
515 among the states.
The range across states
was from less than 1%
to 10.9%.
Source: TUS-CPS, 2006-2007
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Best Practices estimates 8% of smokers could access
quitlines each year. In Virginia, 0.4% of current smok-
ers who made a quit attempt in the past year called a
quitline.
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The Medicaid fee-for-service program in Virginia pro-
vides full coverage for tobacco dependence treatment.
Virginia’s Medicaid policy provides coverage for both
bupropion and varenicline. Virginia’s Medicaid policy
provides coverage for group counseling, and this cover-
age is for pregnant women only. Individual and tele-
phone counseling are not covered.

Medicaid Coverage for Counseling
and Medications

Nicotine | v/ anicline Bupropion Counseling

Replacement

v v

Partial

Yes Yes Yes

Source: MMWR 2009;58(43):1199-204




VIRGINIA

Warn

Smoke-free home rules represent awareness of the
dangers of secondhand smoke. In Virginia, as in the
nation, an increasing number of families have such
a rule.

Currently, 79.1% of Virginia homes have this rule.
Virginia ranks 21* among the states.

Households with No-Smoking Rules
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Enforce

Antitobacco Media Campaign
Intensity, Per Quarter

Youth General Audience
(12-17 Years) (18+ Years)
BETTER BETTER

-
State

National Average: National W State
Median: 65 TRPs Median: & Average:
h
30 TRPs (16*) 138 GRPs 135 GRPs
(23")
WORSE WORSE

Source: CDC/OSH

Rating point data were available for 42 states and the
District of Columbia. Best Practices recommendations
translate into an average of 800 targeted rating points
(TRPs) in effective youth and 1,200 gross rating points
(GRPs) in effective general audience antitobacco media
campaigns per quarter. Virginia’s major media market(s)
aired an average of 65 youth TRPs and 135 general
audience GRPs per quarter in 2008. Virginia ranks

16™ among the states for the number of youth TRPs
and 23" among the states for the number of general
audience GRPs aired.

Virginia allows local regulation of tobacco industry
promotions, sampling, and display of tobacco products in
commercial establishments.

State Allows Local Advertising
and Promotion Laws

Promotion

Sampling

Yes

Source: STATE System, 2009
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Retail Environment Tobacco Licensure

Over the
Counter

No No

Source: STATE System, 2009

Vending

Machines

Virginia does not require establishments selling tobacco
products over the counter or by vending machine to be
licensed. Currently, 38 states require licensure for both

over-the-counter and vending machine sales.



Raise

Amount of Cigarette

Excise Tax
BETTER

National
Average:

Virginia maintains a
$1.34 —>

$0.30 cigarette excise
tax and ranks 49t
among the states. As of
December 31, 2009, the
range across states was
~€¢—— $0.07 to $3.46 per pack.

Source: STATE System, 2009
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Virginia maintains a $0.30 per pack tax and ranks 49"
among the states.

Virginia does not have a minimum price law.

Minimum Price Law
for Cigarettes

Minimum
Price Law

Source: CDC/OSH
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Approximately 34% of the annual revenue generated
from state excise taxes and settlement payments would
fund Virginia’s tobacco control program at the Besz
Practices recommended amount. However, in 2007,
Virginia’s funding for tobacco control was 14.1% of
the recommended level. Virginia ranks 32" among the
states.

State Funding for
Tobacco Control
BETTER

In 2007, Virginia’s
funding for tobacco
control was 14.1% of
CDC’s recommended
amount. Virginia ranks
32" among the states.
State spending ranged
from 1.1% to 85.5% of
the recommended
amount.

Median State

Funding: 17.2%
of Recommended A%
Amount —>»

WORSE Source: CDC/OSH





