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In New Mexico, 19.4% of the adult population (aged 
18+ years)—over 286,000 individuals—are current 
cigarette smokers. Across all states, the prevalence of 
cigarette smoking among adults ranges from 9.3% to 
26.5%. New Mexico ranks 31st among the states.
Among youth aged 12–17 years, 11.8% smoke in New 
Mexico. The range across all states is 6.5% to 15.9%. 
New Mexico ranks 36th among the states.

Among adults aged 35+ years, over 2,100 died as a  
result of tobacco use per year, on average, during  
2000–2004. This represents a smoking-attributable 
mortality rate of 234.0/100,000. New Mexico’s  
smoking-attributable mortality rate ranks 5th among  
the states.

*** Data not shown because sample size is less than 50.

*** 
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In New Mexico, 11.8% 
of youth aged 12–17 

years smoked a 
cigarette in the past 

month. The range 
across all states is 

6.5% to 15.9%. New 
Mexico ranks 36th 
among the states.

Past-Month Cigarette Use Among 
Youth Aged 12–17 Years
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Average:
10.1%

Source: NSDUH, 2006–2007

The average annual 
smoking-attributable 
mortality rate in New 

Mexico for 2000–2004 
was 234.0/100,000. The 

range across states is 
138.3/100,000 to 

370.6/100,000. New 
Mexico ranks 5th among 

the states.

Smoking-Attributable Adult 
(35+ Years) Mortality
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New Mexico has a smoke-free law that provides for 
strong protection against exposure to secondhand 
smoke in workplaces and public places.

The Medicaid fee-for-service program in New Mexico 
provides full coverage for tobacco dependence treat-
ment. New Mexico’s Medicaid policy provides cover-
age for both bupropion and varenicline. New Mexico’s 
Medicaid policy provides coverage for individual and 
group counseling but not telephone counseling, and 
this coverage is available by fee-for-service when a valid 
behavioral health diagnosis other than tobacco depen-
dence exists.

Best Practices estimates 8% of smokers could access 
quitlines each year. In New Mexico, 3.9% of current 
smokers who made a quit attempt in the past year called 
a quitline. 

Among adults who work indoors, the percentage who 
reported anyone smoking in their work area within the 
preceding 2 weeks has remained higher in New Mexico 
than in the nation overall. Currently, New Mexico ranks 
47th among the states for workplace exposure, at 10.2%.

Smoke-Free
Workplaces

Smoke-Free
Restaurants

Smoke-Free
Bars

Source: STATE System, 2009 

State Smoke-Free Policy

Yes Yes Yes

Source: TUS-CPS

Adults Who Reported Anyone Smoking 
in Work Area Within Past 2 Weeks
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In New Mexico, 3.9% of 
current smokers who 

made a quit attempt in 
the past year called a 
quitline. New Mexico 
ranks 19th among the 

states. The range across 
states was from less 
than 1% to 10.9%.

Percentage of Smokers 
Calling Quitline
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Source: TUS-CPS, 2006–2007
Nicotine

Replacement
Varenicline Bupropion Counseling

Source: MMWR 2009;58(43):1199–204
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Smoke-free home rules represent awareness of the dangers 
of secondhand smoke. In New Mexico, as in the nation, 
an increasing number of families have such a rule.

Currently, 76.7% of New Mexico homes have this rule. 
New Mexico ranks 24th among the states.

Rating point data were available for 42 states and the 
District of Columbia. Best Practices recommendations 
translate into an average of 800 targeted rating points 
(TRPs) in effective youth and 1,200 gross rating points 
(GRPs) in effective general audience antitobacco media 
campaigns per quarter. New Mexico’s major media 
market(s) aired an average of 80 youth TRPs and 253 
general audience GRPs per quarter in 2008. New 
Mexico ranks 13th among the states for the number of 
youth TRPs and 16th among the states for the number 
of general audience GRPs aired. 

New Mexico preempts local regulation of tobacco  
industry sampling. New Mexico allows local regulation 
on promotions and display of tobacco products in  
commercial establishments.

Display Promotion Sampling

Source: STATE System, 2009 

State Allows Local Advertising
and Promotion Laws
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Source: STATE System, 2009 

Retail Environment Tobacco Licensure
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Source: TUS-CPS

Households with No-Smoking Rules

Pe
rc

en
t

1999  2000   2001    2002    2003   2004    2005   2006   2007

New Mexico                       National

0

10

20

30

40

50

60

70

80

90

100

62.5
71.5

75.1
76.7

60.2
66.0

72.1

77.6

State 
Average: 
80 TRPs 
(13th)

State 
Average: 
253 GRPs 
(16th)

Antitobacco Media Campaign 
Intensity, Per Quarter
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New Mexico does not require establishments selling to-
bacco products over the counter or by vending machine 
to be licensed. Currently, 38 states require licensure for 
both over-the-counter and vending machine sales.
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New Mexico maintains a $0.91 per pack tax and ranks 
31st among the states. 
New Mexico does not have a minimum price law.

New Mexico maintains 
a $0.91 cigarette excise 

tax and ranks 31st 
among the states. As of 
December 31, 2009, the 
range across states was 
$0.07 to $3.46 per pack.

Amount of Cigarette 
Excise Tax
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Approximately 23% of the annual revenue generated 
from state excise taxes and settlement payments would 
fund New Mexico’s tobacco control program at the Best 
Practices recommended amount. However, in 2007, 
New Mexico’s funding for tobacco control was 38.9% 
of the recommended level. New Mexico ranks 13th 
among the states.

In 2007, New Mexico’s 
funding for tobacco 

control was 38.9% of 
CDC’s recommended 
amount. New Mexico 
ranks 13th  among the 
states. State spending 
ranged from 1.1% to 

85.5% of the 
recommended amount.
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Tobacco Control
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