NEVADA

Monitor

In Nevada, 22.2% of the adult population (aged 18+

years)—over 428,000 individuals—are current cigarette

smokers. Across all states, the prevalence of cigarette
smoking among adults ranges from 9.3% to 26.5%.
Nevada ranks 43" among the states.

Among youth aged 12—17 years, 10.2% smoke in
Nevada. The range across all states is 6.5% to 15.9%.
Nevada ranks 20" among the states.

Among adults aged 35+ years, over 3,300 died as a
result of tobacco use per year, on average, during
2000-2004. This represents a smoking-attributable
mortality rate of 343.7/100,000. Nevada’s smoking-
attributable mortality rate ranks 49" among the states.
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Past-Month Cigarette Use Among
Youth Aged 12-17 Years
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. In Nevada, 10.2% of
National youth aged 12-17
Average: years smoked a
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cigarette in the past
month. The range
across all states is 6.5%
to 15.9%. Nevada ranks

20* among the states.
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Smoking-Attributable Adult

(35+ Years) Mortality
BETTER
The average annual
National smoking-attributable
— mortality rate in
Average: Nevada for 2000-2004

248.5/100,000 was 343.7/100,000. The

range across states is
138.3/100,000 to
370.6/100,000. Nevada
ranks 49*" among
the states.
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Protect

Nevada has a smoke-free law that provides partial pro-

tection against exposure to secondhand smoke in public

places.

State Smoke-Free Policy
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Among adults who work indoors, the percentage who
reported anyone smoking in their work area within

the preceding 2 weeks has remained higher in Nevada
than in the nation overall. Currently, Nevada ranks 51+
among the states for workplace exposure, at 16.9%.

Percentage of Smokers
Calling Quitline
BETTER

In Nevada, 1.4% of
current smokers who

National made a quit attempt in
Average: the past year called a
28% —> quitline. Nevada ranks

41*among the states.
The range across
states was from less
than 1% to 10.9%.
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Best Practices estimates 8% of smokers could access
quitlines each year. In Nevada, 1.4% of current smok-
ers who made a quit attempt in the past year called a
quitline.
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The Medicaid fee-for-service program in Nevada pro-
vides full coverage for tobacco dependence treatment.
Nevada’s Medicaid policy provides coverage for both bu-
propion and varenicline. Nevada’s Medicaid policy does
not provide coverage for individual, group, or telephone
counseling.

Medicaid Coverage for Counseling
and Medications

Nicotine
Replacement

Varenicline @ Bupropion Counseling

Yes

Source: MMWR 2009;58(43):1199-204
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NEVADA

Warn

Smoke-free home rules represent awareness of the
dangers of secondhand smoke. In Nevada, as in the
nation, an increasing number of families have such a
rule.

Currently, 81.7% of Nevada homes have this rule.
Nevada ranks 11" among the states.

Households with No-Smoking Rules
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Enforce

Antitobacco Media Campaign
Intensity, Per Quarter

Youth General Audience
(12-17 Years) (18+ Years)
BETTER BETTER

State State
Average: Average:
— 4TRPs — 18 GRPs
National (33) National (34™)
Median: - Median: -
30 TRPs 138 GRPs
WORSE WORSE

Source: CDC/OSH

Rating point data were available for 42 states and the
District of Columbia. Best Practices recommendations
translate into an average of 800 targeted rating points
(TRPs) in effective youth and 1,200 gross rating points
(GRPs) in effective general audience antitobacco media
campaigns per quarter. Nevada’s major media market(s)
aired an average of 4 youth TRPs and 18 general
audience GRPs per quarter in 2008. Nevada ranks

33" among the states for the number of youth TRPs
and 34" among the states for the number of general
audience GRPs aired.

Nevada preempts local regulation on promotions and
display of tobacco products in commercial establish-
ments. Nevada allows local regulation of tobacco industry
sampling.

State Allows Local Advertising
and Promotion Laws

Display Promotion Sampling
No No Yes

Source: STATE System, 2009
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Retail Environment Tobacco Licensure

Over the
Counter

Vending
Machines

Source: STATE System, 2009

Nevada requires all establishments selling tobacco prod-
ucts over the counter and by vending machine to be
licensed. Currently, 38 states require licensure for both
over-the-counter and vending machine sales.



Raise

Amount of Cigarette
Excise Tax
BETTER

Nevada maintains an
$0.80 cigarette excise
tax and ranks 34
among the states. As of
December 31, 2009, the
~€—— range across states was
$0.07 to $3.46 per pack.

National
Average:
$1.34 —>

WORSE Source: STATE System, 2009

Nevada maintains an $0.80 per pack tax and ranks 34
among the states.

Nevada does not have a minimum price law.

Minimum Price Law
for Cigarettes

Minimum
Price Law

Source: CDC/OSH
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Approximately 19% of the annual revenue generated
from state excise taxes and settlement payments would
fund Nevada’s tobacco control program at the Best
Practices recommended amount. However, in 2007,
Nevada’s funding for tobacco control was 14.6% of the
recommended level. Nevada ranks 31 among the states.

State Funding for

Tobacco Control
BETTER
In 2007, Nevada’s
funding for tobacco
control was 14.6% of
CDC’s recommended
amount. Nevada ranks
31stamong the states.
~¢— State spending ranged
from 1.1% to 85.5% of
the recommended
amount.
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