MONTANA

Monitor

In Montana, 18.5% of the adult population (aged 18+
years)—over 138,000 individuals—are current cigarette

smokers. Across all states, the prevalence of cigarette
smoking among adults ranges from 9.3% to 26.5%.
Montana ranks 28" among the states.

Among youth aged 1217 years, 12.2% smoke in

Montana. The range across all states is 6.5% to 15.9%.

Montana ranks 41* among the states.

Among adults aged 35+ years, over 1,400 died as a
result of tobacco use per year, on average, during
2000-2004. This represents a smoking-attributable
mortality rate of 276.0/100,000. Montana’s smoking-
attributable mortality rate ranks 32" among the states.
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Past-Month Cigarette Use Among

Youth Aged 12-17 Years
BETTER

In Montana, 12.2%
of youth aged 12-17
years smoked a
cigarette in the past
month. The range
across all states is 6.5%
to 15.9%. Montana
e ranks 41t among
the states.

National
Average:
10.1% —> 20t

WORSE Source: NSDUH, 2006-2007

Source: BRFSS, 2007-2008

Smoking-Attributable Adult

(35+ Years) Mortality
BETTER
The average annual
smoking-attributable
National mortality rate in
Average: > Montana for 2000-2004

was 276.0/100,000. The
range across states is
- 138.3/100,000 to
370.6/100,000.
Montana ranks 32
among the states.

248.5/100,000

WORSE Source: SAMMEC
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Protect

Montana has a smoke-free law that provides for strong
protection against exposure to secondhand smoke in
workplaces and public places.

State Smoke-Free Policy
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Among adults who work indoors, the percentage who
reported anyone smoking in their work area within the
preceding 2 weeks has remained lower in Montana than
in the nation overall. Currently, Montana ranks 24™
among the states for workplace exposure, at 6.8%.

Yes Yes Yes
Source: STATE System, 2009
Offer
Percentage of Smokers
Calling Quitline
BETTER
~€— In Montana, 9.7% of
current smokers who
National made a quit attempt in
Average: uitine. Montana ranks
2.8% —> 9 :

3" among the states.
The range across states
was from less than 1%
to 10.9%.

WORSE Source: TUS-CPS, 2006-2007

Best Practices estimates 8% of smokers could access
quitlines each year. In Montana, 9.7% of current smok-
ers who made a quit attempt in the past year called a
quitline.
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The Medicaid fee-for-service program in Montana
provides full coverage for tobacco dependence treat-
ment. Montana’s Medicaid policy provides coverage for
both bupropion and varenicline. Montana’s Medicaid
policy does not provide coverage for individual, group,
or telephone counseling.

Medicaid Coverage for Counseling
and Medications

Nicotine

Varenicline
Replacement

Bupropion

Counseling

Yes No

Source: MMWR 2009;58(43):1199-204

Yes Yes




MONTANA

Warn

Smoke-free home rules represent awareness of the
dangers of secondhand smoke. In Montana, as in

the nation, an increasing number of families have such
a rule.

Currently, 79.4% of Montana homes have this rule.
Montana ranks 18" among the states.

Households with No-Smoking Rules
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Enforce

Antitobacco Media Campaign
Intensity, Per Quarter

Youth General Audience
(12-17 Years) (18+ Years)
BETTER BETTER
No TRP No GRP
data data
available available
—> —>
National National
Median: Median:
30TRPs 138 GRPs
WORSE WORSE

Source: CDC/OSH

Rating point data were available for 42 states and the
District of Columbia. Best Practices recommendations
translate into an average of 800 targeted rating points
(TRPs) in effective youth and 1,200 gross rating points
(GRPs) in effective general audience antitobacco media

campaigns per quarter. Montana has no reported TRP
or GRP data.

Montana preempts local regulation of tobacco industry
sampling. Montana allows local regulation on promo-
tions and display of tobacco products in commercial
establishments.

State Allows Local Advertising
and Promotion Laws

Promotion Sampling

Display

No

Source: STATE System, 2009

Yes Yes
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Retail Environment Tobacco Licensure

Over the
Counter

Vending
Machines

Source: STATE System, 2009

Montana requires all establishments selling tobacco
products over the counter and by vending machine to
be licensed. Currently, 38 states require licensure for
both over-the-counter and vending machine sales.



Raise
Amount of Cigarette Approximately 12% of the annual revenue generated
Excise Tax from state excise taxes and settlement payments would
fund Montana’s tobacco control program at the Best
BETTER Montana maintains a Practices recommended amount. However, in 2007,
$1.70 cigarette excise Montana’s funding for tobacco control was 57.3% of
National tax and ranks 17t the recommended level. Montana ranks 7" among the
Average: ~€— among the states. As of states
$1.34 —> December 31, 2009, the
range across states was .
$0.(?7 to $3.46 per pack. State Fundlng for
Tobacco Control
BETTER

In 2007, Montana’s
~€— funding for tobacco
control was 57.3% of
CDC'’s recommended
amount. Montana
ranks 7" among the
states. State spending
ranged from 1.1% to
85.5% of the
recommended amount.

WORSE Source: STATE System, 2009 Median State

Funding: 17.2%

of Recommended A%
Montana maintains a $1.70 per pack tax and ranks 17% Amount >

among the states.

Montana has a minimum price law. Wholesalers must
mark up cigarettes by 5.75% and retailers must mark
up cigarettes by at least 10%. This law has the effect of
limiting the amount of discounting that can be offered WORSE Source: CDC/OSH
through coupons and other types of sales promotions.

Minimum Price Law
for Cigarettes

Minimum
Price Law

v

Source: CDC/OSH
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