MINNESOTA

Monitor

In Minnesota, 17.6% of the adult population (aged 18+
years)—over 695,000 individuals—are current cigarette
smokers. Across all states, the prevalence of cigarette
smoking among adults ranges from 9.3% to 26.5%.
Minnesota ranks 19* among the states.

Among youth aged 12—17 years, 11.7% smoke in Min-
nesota. The range across all states is 6.5% to 15.9%.
Minnesota ranks 32" among the states.

Among adults aged 35+ years, over 5,500 died as

a result of tobacco use per year, on average, during
2000-2004. This represents a smoking-attributable
mortality rate of 215.1/100,000. Minnesota’s smoking-
attributable mortality rate ranks 3™ among the states.
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Past-Month Cigarette Use Among
Youth Aged 12-17 Years
BETTER

In Minnesota, 11.7%
of youth aged 12-17
years smoked a
cigarette in
the past month. The
~€—— range across all states
is 6.5% to 15.9%.
Minnesota ranks 32
among the states.
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Smoking-Attributable Adult
(35+ Years) Mortality
BETTER
-«— Theaverage annual
smoking-attributable
mortality rate in
Minnesota for
2000-2004 was
215.1/100,000. The
range across states is
138.3/100,000 to
370.6/100,000.
Minnesota ranks 3™
among the states.
WORSE Source: SAMMEC
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Protect

Minnesota has a smoke-free law that provides for strong Adults Who Reported Anyone Smoking

protection against exposure to secondhand smoke in in Work Area Within Past 2 Weeks
workplaces and public places.
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Among adults who work indoors, the percentage who
reported anyone smoking in their work area within the
preceding 2 weeks has remained lower in Minnesota
than in the nation overall. Currently, Minnesota ranks
16™ among the states for workplace exposure, at 5.9%.

Offer

Percentage of Smokers The Medicaid fee-for-service program in Minnesota
Calling Quitline provides full coverage for tobacco dependence treat-

ment. Minnesota’s Medicaid policy provides coverage

BELIER for both bupropion and varenicline. Minnesota’s Med-
In Minnesota, 3.7% of icaid policy provides coverage for individual and group
current smokers who counseling but not telephone counseling.
National made a quit attempt in
Average: ~¢— thepastyearcalleda
28% —>

quitline. Minnesota Medicaid Coverage for Counseling

ranks 215 among the . .
states. The range across and Medications

states was from less L.
than 1% to 10.9%. Nicotine | yaranicline Bupropion Counseling

Replacement
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Best Practices estimates 8% of smokers could access

quitlines each year. In Minnesota, 3.7% of current Yes Yes Yes
smokers who made a quit attempt in the past year called Source: MMWR 2009;58(43):1199-204
a quitline.
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MINNESOTA

Warn

Smoke-free home rules represent awareness of the
dangers of secondhand smoke. In Minnesota, as in

the nation, an increasing number of families have such
a rule.

Currently, 79.3% of Minnesota homes have this rule.
Minnesota ranks 20® among the states.

Households with No-Smoking Rules
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Enforce

Antitobacco Media Campaign
Intensity, Per Quarter

Youth General Audience
(12-17 Years) (18+ Years)
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Rating point data were available for 42 states and the
District of Columbia. Best Practices recommendations
translate into an average of 800 targeted rating points
(TRPs) in effective youth and 1,200 gross rating points
(GRPs) in effective general audience antitobacco
media campaigns per quarter. Minnesota’s major media
market(s) aired an average of 15 youth TRPs and 67
general audience GRPs per quarter in 2008. Minnesota
ranks 28" among the states for the number of youth
TRPs and 29" among the states for the number of
general audience GRP:s aired.

Minnesota allows local regulation of tobacco industry
display, promotions, and sampling of tobacco products in
commercial establishments.

State Allows Local Advertising
and Promotion Laws
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Source: STATE System, 2009
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Retail Environment Tobacco Licensure

Over the
Counter

Vending
Machines
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Source: STATE System, 2009

Minnesota requires all establishments selling tobacco
products over the counter and by vending machine to
be licensed. Currently, 38 states require licensure for
both over-the-counter and vending machine sales.



Raise

Amount of Cigarette Approximately 10% of the annual revenue generated
Excise Tax from state excise taxes and settlement payments would
fund Minnesota’s tobacco control program at the Best
BETTER Practices recommended amount. However, in 2007,
Minnesota maintains a Minnesota’s funding for tobacco control was 39.2% of
National $1.23 cigarette excise the recommended level. Minnesota ranks 12 among
Average: tax a:‘: ratn't(s zih f the states.
3 among the states. As 0
51.34 < Decen?ber 31,2009, the
range across states was :
$0.0g7 to $3.46 per pack. State Fundlng for
Tobacco Control
BETTER

In 2007, Minnesota’s

funding for tobacco

-~€—— control was 39.2% of
CDC'’s recommended

amount. Minnesota

ranks 12" among the
states. State spending

ranged from 1.1% to

85.5% of the
recommended amount.

WORSE Source: STATE System, 2009
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Minnesota maintains a $1.23 per pack tax and ranks
25" among the states.

Minnesota has a minimum price law. Wholesalers must
mark up cigarettes by 4.5% and retailers must mark

up cigarettes by at least 8%. This law has the effect of
limiting the amount of discounting that can be offered

through coupons and other types of sales promotions. WORSE

Source: CDC/OSH

Minimum Price Law
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