LOUISIANA

Monitor

In Louisiana, 20.5% of the adult population (aged 18+
years)—over 675,000 individuals—are current cigarette

smokers. Across all states, the prevalence of cigarette
smoking among adults ranges from 9.3% to 26.5%.
Louisiana ranks 37" among the states.

Among youth aged 1217 years, 11.0% smoke in

Louisiana. The range across all states is 6.5% to 15.9%.

Louisiana ranks 26 among the states.

Among adults aged 35+ years, over 6,500 died as a
result of tobacco use per year, on average, during
2000-2004. This represents a smoking-attributable
mortality rate of 299.8/100,000. Louisiana’s smoking-
attributable mortality rate ranks 41 among the states.
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Past-Month Cigarette Use Among
Youth Aged 12-17 Years
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Smoking-Attributable Adult

(35+ Years) Mortality
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The average annual
smoking-attributable
National mortality rate in
Average:_> Louisiana for 2000-2004

was 299.8/100,000. The
range across states is
138.3/100,000 to
370.6/100,000.
~¢— Louisiana ranks 41+
among the states.
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Protect

Louisiana has a smoke-free law that provides partial
protection against exposure to secondhand smoke in

public places.

State Smoke-Free Policy
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Adults Who Reported Anyone Smoking
in Work Area Within Past 2 Weeks
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Among adults who work indoors, the percentage who
reported anyone smoking in their work area within the
preceding 2 weeks has remained higher in Louisiana
than in the nation overall. Currently, Louisiana ranks
41* among the states for workplace exposure, at 9%.

Percentage of Smokers
Calling Quitline
BETTER

In Louisiana, 0.6% of

National current smokers who
Average: made a quit attempt in
2.8% — the past year called a

quitline. Louisiana ranks
48" among the states.
The range across states
was from less than
1% to 10.9%.

Source: TUS-CPS, 2006-2007
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Best Practices estimates 8% of smokers could access
quitlines each year. In Louisiana, 0.6% of current smok-
ers who made a quit attempt in the past year called a
quitline.
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The Medicaid fee-for-service program in Louisiana
provides only partial coverage for tobacco dependence
treatment. Louisiana’s Medicaid policy provides cover-
age for both bupropion and varenicline. Louisiana’s
Medicaid policy does not provide coverage for group,
individual, or telephone counseling.
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LOUISIANA

Warn

Smoke-free home rules represent awareness of the
dangers of secondhand smoke. In Louisiana, as in the
nation, an increasing number of families have such a
rule.

Currently, 74.7% of Louisiana homes have this rule.
Louisiana ranks 33 among the states.

Households with No-Smoking Rules
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Enforce

Antitobacco Media Campaign
Intensity, Per Quarter

Youth General Audience
(12-17 Years) (18+ Years)
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Rating point data were available for 42 states and the
District of Columbia. Best Practices recommendations
translate into an average of 800 targeted rating points
(TRPs) in effective youth and 1,200 gross rating points
(GRPs) in effective general audience antitobacco
media campaigns per quarter. Louisiana’s major media
market(s) aired an average of 62 youth TRPs and 157
general audience GRPs per quarter in 2008. Louisiana
ranks 17" among the states for the number of youth
TRPs and 19" among the states for the number of
general audience GRPs aired.

Louisiana preempts local regulation of tobacco industry
promotions and sampling. Louisiana allows local regu-
lation on display of tobacco products in commercial
establishments.

State Allows Local Advertising
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Retail Environment Tobacco Licensure

Over the
Counter

Vending
Machines

Source: STATE System, 2009

Louisiana requires all establishments selling tobacco
products over the counter and by vending machine to
be licensed. Currently, 38 states require licensure for
both over-the-counter and vending machine sales.



Raise
: roximate o of the annual revenue generate
Amount of Cigarette Approximately 20% of th 1 g d
Excise Tax from state excise taxes and settlement payments would
BETTER fund Louisiana’s tobacco control program at the Best
Practices recommended amount. However, in 2007,
Louisiana’s funding for tobacco control was 17.2% of
National the recommended level. Louisiana ranks 26™ among the
Average: Louisiana maintains a states.
$1.34 —/> $0.36 cigarette excise
tax and ranks 48t .
among the states. As of State Fundlng for
December 31, 2009, the Tobacco Control
range across states was BETTER
~€— $0.07 to $3.46 per pack. In 2007, Louisiana’s
WORSE Source: STATE System, 2009 fundmg for tobacco

Median State
Funding: 17.2%

Y . . zoth
Louisiana maintains a $0.36 per pack tax and ranks 48" of Recommended
among the states. Amount —>

control was 17.2% of
CDC’s recommended
amount. Louisiana

~¢— ranks 26'" among the

states. State spending

ranged from 1.1% to

85.5% of the

recommended amount.

Louisiana has a minimum price law. Wholesalers must
mark up cigarettes by 2% and retailers must mark up
cigarettes by at least 6%. This law has the effect of
limiting the amount of discounting that can be offered

. WORSE Source: CDC/OSH
through coupons and other types of sales promotions.

Minimum Price Law
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