CONNECTICUT

Monitor

In Connecticut, 15.9% of the adult population (aged Among adults aged 35+ years, over 4,800 died as a
18+ years)—over 428,000 individuals—are current result of tobacco use per year, on average, during
cigarette smokers. Across all states, the prevalence of 2000-2004. This represents a smoking-attributable
cigarette smoking among adults ranges from 9.3% to mortality rate of 238.3/100,000. Connecticut’s
26.5%. Connecticut ranks 8" among the states. smoking-attributable mortality rate ranks 10" among

Among youth aged 12-17 years, 9.8% smoke in Con- the states.

necticut. The range across all states is 6.5% to 15.9%.
Connecticut ranks 17" among the states.
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In Connecticut, 9.8% of The average annual
National youth aged 12-17 years smoking-.:a\ttribut.:-xble
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6.5% to 15.9%.
Connecticut ranks 17t
among the states.
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Protect

Connecticut does not have a statewide smoke-free law
that provides adequate protection against exposure to
secondhand smoke in public places. The law preempts
local communities from enacting local smoke-free
restrictions.

State Smoke-Free Policy
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Among adults who work indoors, the percentage who
reported anyone smoking in their work area within the
preceding 2 weeks has remained higher in Connecticut
than in the nation overall. Currently, Connecticut ranks
26™ among the states for workplace exposure, at 7.4%.

Percentage of Smokers
Calling Quitline
BETTER

In Connecticut, 2.1% of
current smokers who

I':at':’“al- made a quit attempt in
verage: the past year called a
28% —>

quitline. Connecticut
ranks 33'“among the
states. The range
across states was from
less than 1% to 10.9%.
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WORSE Source: TUS-CPS, 2006-2007

Best Practices estimates 8% of smokers could access
quitlines each year. In Connecticut, 2.1% of current
smokers who made a quit attempt in the past year called
a quitline.

The Medicaid fee-for-service program in Connecticut
covered none of the tobacco dependence treatments rec-
ommended by the U.S. Public Health Service’s Clinical
Practice Guideline.

Medicaid Coverage for Counseling
and Medications
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CONNECTICUT

Warn

Smoke-free home rules represent awareness of the dangers
of secondhand smoke. In Connecticut, as in the nation, an
increasing number of families have such a rule.

Currently, 79.5% of Connecticut homes have this rule.
Connecticut ranks 16™ among the states.

Households with No-Smoking Rules
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Antitobacco Media Campaign
Intensity, Per Quarter

Youth General Audience
(12-17 Years) (18+ Years)
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Rating point data were available for 42 states and the
District of Columbia. Best Practices recommendations
translate into an average of 800 targeted rating points
(TRPs) in effective youth and 1,200 gross rating points
(GRPs) in effective general audience antitobacco
media campaigns per quarter. Connecticut’s major
media market(s) aired an average of 50 youth TRPs
and 59 general audience GRPs per quarter in 2008.
Connecticut ranks 19" among the states for the number
of youth TRPs and 30" among the states for the
number of general audience GRPs aired.

Connecticut allows local regulation of tobacco industry
promotions, sampling, and display of tobacco products in
commercial establishments.

State Allows Local Advertising
and Promotion Laws
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Retail Environment Tobacco Licensure

Over the
Counter
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Source: STATE System, 2009

Connecticut requires all establishments selling tobacco
products over the counter and by vending machine to
be licensed. Currently, 38 states require licensure for
both over-the-counter and vending machine sales.



Raise
Amount of Cigarette Approximately 12% of the annual revenue generated
Excise Tax from state excise taxes and settlement payments would
BETTER fund Connecticut’s tobacco control program at the Bes
Connecticut maintains Practices recommended amount. However, in 2007,
a $3.00 cigarette excise Connecticut’s funding for tobacco control was 7.0% of
National tax and ranks 2™ the recommended level. Connecticut ranks 39™ among
Average: among the states. As of the states.
$1.34 —> December 31,t20tOQ, the
range across states was .
$0.07 to $3.46 per pack. State Fundlng for
Tobacco Control
BETTER

In 2007, Connecticut’s

funding for tobacco

control was 7% of

CDC’s recommended

amount. Connecticut

ranks 39" among the
states. State spending

~€— ranged from 1.1% to

85.5% of the
recommended amount.

WORSE Source: STATE System, 2009 Median State
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_ o of Recommended A%
Connecticut maintains a $3.00 per pack tax and ranks Amount —>

2" among the states.

Connecticut has a minimum price law. Wholesalers
must mark up cigarettes by 6.5% and retailers must
mark up cigarettes by at least 8%. This law has the
effect of limiting the amount of discounting that can WORSE Source: CDC/OSH
be offered through coupons and other types of sales

promotions.

Minimum Price Law
for Cigarettes
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