ARKANSAS

Monitor
In Arkansas, 22.3% of the adult population (aged 18+ Among adults aged 35+ years, over 4,900 died as a
years)—over 480,000 individuals—are current cigarette result of tobacco use per year, on average, during

smokers. Across all states, the prevalence of cigarette
smoking among adults ranges from 9.3% to 26.5%.
Arkansas ranks 44" among the states.

Among youth aged 12—17 years, 14.5% smoke in

2000-2004. This represents a smoking-attributable
mortality rate of 323.7/100,000. Arkansas’s smoking-
attributable mortality rate ranks 45" among the states.

Arkansas. The range across all states is 6.5% to 15.9%.

Arkansas ranks 49" among the states.
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Past-Month Cigarette Use Among

Youth Aged 12-17 Years
BETTER
National In Arkansas, 14.5% of
Average: youth aged 12-17

10.1% —> B years smoked a

cigarette in the past
month. The range
across all states is
6.5% to 15.9%.
Arkansas ranks 49t
- among the states.
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Smoking-Attributable Adult

(35+ Years) Mortality
BETTER
The average annual
smoking-attributable
mortality rate in
Arkansas for 2000-2004
was 323.7/100,000. The
range across states is
138.3/100,000 to
370.6/100,000.
Arkansas ranks 45
~€——  among the states.
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Protect

Arkansas has a smoke-free law that provides partial
protection against exposure to secondhand smoke in

public places.

State Smoke-Free Policy
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Source: STATE System, 2009

Offer

Adults Who Reported Anyone Smoking
in Work Area Within Past 2 Weeks

—— Arkansas National
12

10

Percent
o
S
[e))
3 r )
/— =
w

1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007
Source: TUS-CPS

Among adults who work indoors, the percentage who
reported anyone smoking in their work area within the
preceding 2 weeks has remained lower in Arkansas than
in the nation overall. Currently, Arkansas ranks 19*
among the states for workplace exposure, at 6.2%.

Percentage of Smokers
Calling Quitline
BETTER

In Arkansas, 3.0% of
current smokers who

National d i i
Average: "the pastyear caled a
2.8% —> - itline.

quitline. Arkansas
ranks 25" among the
states. The range across
states was from less
than 1% to 10.9%.

WORSE Source: TUS-CPS, 2006-2007

Best Practices estimates 8% of smokers could access
quitlines each year. In Arkansas, 3.0% of current smok-
ers who made a quit attempt in the past year called a
quitline.
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The Medicaid fee-for-service program in Arkansas
provides only partial coverage for tobacco dependence
treatment. Arkansas’s Medicaid policy provides coverage
for both bupropion and varenicline. Arkansas’s Medicaid
policy provides coverage for individual counseling but not
group or telephone counseling,.

Medicaid Coverage for Counseling
and Medications

Nicotine
Replacement

Partial / / Partial

Yes Yes

Varenicline @ Bupropion Counseling

Source: MMWR 2009;58(43):1199-204




ARKANSAS

Warn

Smoke-free home rules represent awareness of the
dangers of secondhand smoke. In Arkansas, as in the
nation, an increasing number of families have such a
rule.

Currently, 65.1% of Arkansas homes have this rule.
Arkansas ranks 49™ among the states.

Households with No-Smoking Rules
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Enforce

Antitobacco Media Campaign
Intensity, Per Quarter

Youth General Audience
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Rating point data were available for 42 states and the
District of Columbia. Best Practices recommendations
translate into an average of 800 targeted rating points
(TRPs) in effective youth and 1,200 gross rating points
(GRPs) in effective general audience antitobacco
media campaigns per quarter. Arkansas’s major media
market(s) aired an average of 49 youth TRPs and 52
general audience GRPs per quarter in 2008. Arkansas
ranks 20" among the states for the number of youth
TRPs and 31* among the states for the number of
general audience GRPs aired.

Arkansas allows local regulation of tobacco industry
promotions, sampling, and display of tobacco products in
commercial establishments.

State Allows Local Advertising
and Promotion Laws

Promotion Sampling

Display

Yes

Source: STATE System, 2009
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Retail Environment Tobacco Licensure

Over the
Counter

Vending
Machines

Source: STATE System, 2009

Arkansas requires all establishments selling tobacco
products over the counter and by vending machine to
be licensed. Currently, 38 states require licensure for
both over-the-counter and vending machine sales.



Raise
Amount of Cigarette Approximatel}f 18% of the annual revenue generated
Excise Tax from state excise taxes and settlement payments would
fund Arkansas’s tobacco control program at the Besz
BETTER Arkansas maintains Practices ,recommended amount. However, in 2007,
§1.15 cigarette excise Arkansas’s funding for tobacco control was 44.3% of
National tax and ranks 27 the recommended level. Arkansas ranks 10" among the
Average: among the states. As of states.
$1.34 —> December 31, 2009, the
~€— range across states was State Funding for
$0.07 to $3.46 per pack. Tobacco Control
BETTER

In 2007, Arkansas’s
il <€—— funding for tobacco
control was 44.3% of
CDC’s recommended
amount. Arkansas
ranks 10" among the
states. State spending
ranged from 1.1% to

WORSE Source: STATE System, 2009 Median State
Funding: 17.2%
of Recommended A%
Arkansas maintains a $1.15 per pack tax and ranks 27 Amount —>
among the states.

Arkansas has a minimum price law. Wholesalers must

mark up cigarettes by 4% and retailers must mark up 85-5"/; °cf|the
cigarettes by at least 7%. This law has the effect of recommended amount.
WORSE Source: CDC/OSH

limiting the amount of discounting that can be offered
through coupons and other types of sales promotions.

Minimum Price Law
for Cigarettes

Minimum
Price Law
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Source: CDC/OSH
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