
Selected Indicators by Rank and State
 

Percentage of Recommended Tobacco Control Investment, 2007
 

State Ranking Percentage of Recommended Investment 
Maine 1 85.5% 
Delaware 2 79.4% 
Wyoming 3 78.2% 
Alaska 4 70.7% 
Hawaii 5 66.6% 
Vermont 6 61.8% 
Montana 7 57.3% 
Colorado 8 48.7% 
North Dakota 9 47.1% 
Arkansas 10 44.3% 
Washington 11 42.6% 
Minnesota 12 39.2% 
New Mexico 13 38.9% 
Arizona 14 38.2% 
Utah 15 35.6% 
New York 16 34.8% 
Maryland 17 32.2% 
Ohio 18 32.1% 
Oklahoma 19 25.8% 
West Virginia 20 24.1% 
Iowa 21 21.0% 
Pennsylvania 22 20.5% 
Nebraska 23 20.3% 
California 24 19.2% 
Wisconsin 25 17.8% 
Louisiana 26 17.2% 
North Carolina 27 16.0% 
South Dakota 28 15.7% 
Indiana 29 15.3% 
Rhode Island 30 14.6% 
Nevada 31 14.6% 
Virginia 32 14.1% 
Idaho 33 12.8% 
Massachusetts 34 11.4% 
Oregon 35 11.1% 
New Jersey 36 10.4% 
District of Columbia 37 10.0% 
Kansas 38 7.5% 
Connecticut 39 7.0% 
Illinois 40 6.3% 
Kentucky 41 6.0% 
New Hampshire 42 5.9% 
South Carolina 43 5.4% 
Alabama 44 3.7% 
Florida 45 3.1% 
Georgia 46 2.7% 
Texas 47 2.3% 
Michigan 48 2.1% 
Missouri 49 1.7% 
Mississippi 50 1.4% 
Tennessee 51 1.1% 

Source: CDC/OSH, 2009 
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State Cigarette Excise Tax per Pack as of December 31, 2009
 

State Ranking Tax Amount 
Rhode Island 1 $3.460 
Connecticut 2 $3.000 
New York 3 $2.750 
New Jersey 4 $2.700 
Hawaii 5 $2.600 
Wisconsin 6 $2.520 
Massachusetts 7 $2.510 
District of Columbia 8 $2.500 
Vermont 9 $2.240 
Washington 10 $2.025 
Alaska 11 $2.000 
Arizona 11 $2.000 
Maine 11 $2.000 
Maryland 11 $2.000 
Michigan 11 $2.000 
New Hampshire 16 $1.780 
Montana 17 $1.700 
Delaware 18 $1.600 
Pennsylvania 18 $1.600 
South Dakota 20 $1.530 
Texas 21 $1.410 
Iowa 22 $1.360 
Florida 23 $1.339 
Ohio 24 $1.250 
Minnesota 25 $1.230 
Oregon 26 $1.180 
Arkansas 27 $1.150 
Oklahoma 28 $1.030 
Indiana 29 $0.995 
Illinois 30 $0.980 
New Mexico 31 $0.910 
California 32 $0.870 
Colorado 33 $0.840 
Nevada 34 $0.800 
Kansas 35 $0.790 
Utah 36 $0.695 
Mississippi 37 $0.680 
Nebraska 38 $0.640 
Tennessee 39 $0.620 
Kentucky 40 $0.600 
Wyoming 40 $0.600 
Idaho 42 $0.570 
West Virginia 43 $0.550 
North Carolina 44 $0.450 
North Dakota 45 $0.440 
Alabama 46 $0.425 
Georgia 47 $0.370 
Louisiana 48 $0.360 
Virginia 49 $0.300 
Missouri 50 $0.170 
South Carolina 51 $0.070 

Source: STATE System, 2009 
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100% Smoke-Free Indoor Air Laws as of December 31, 2009
 

State Ranking Worksite Restaurant Bar 
Arizona Full Coverage YES YES YES 
Colorado Full Coverage YES YES YES 
D.C. Full Coverage YES YES YES 
Delaware Full Coverage YES YES YES 
Hawaii Full Coverage YES YES YES 
Illinois Full Coverage YES YES YES 
Iowa Full Coverage YES YES YES 
Maine Full Coverage YES YES YES 
Maryland Full Coverage YES YES YES 
Massachusetts Full Coverage YES YES YES 
Minnesota Full Coverage YES YES YES 
Montana Full Coverage YES YES YES 
Nebraska Full Coverage YES YES YES 
New Jersey Full Coverage YES YES YES 
New Mexico Full Coverage YES YES YES 
New York Full Coverage YES YES YES 
Ohio Full Coverage YES YES YES 
Oregon Full Coverage YES YES YES 
Rhode Island Full Coverage YES YES YES 
Utah Full Coverage YES YES YES 
Vermont Full Coverage YES YES YES 
Washington Full Coverage YES YES YES 
Florida Partial Coverage (2 of 3) YES YES NO 
Louisiana Partial Coverage (2 of 3) YES YES NO 
Nevada Partial Coverage (2 of 3) YES YES NO 
South Dakota Partial Coverage (2 of 3) YES YES NO 
Arkansas Partial Coverage (1 of 3) YES NO NO 
North Dakota Partial Coverage (1 of 3) YES NO NO 
Pennsylvania Partial Coverage (1 of 3) YES NO NO 
Tennessee Partial Coverage (1 of 3) YES NO NO 
Idaho Partial Coverage (1 of 3) NO YES NO 
New Hampshire Partial Coverage (1 of 3) NO YES NO 
Alabama No Coverage NO NO NO 
Alaska No Coverage NO NO NO 
California No Coverage NO NO NO 
Connecticut No Coverage NO NO NO 
Georgia No Coverage NO NO NO 
Indiana No Coverage NO NO NO 
Kansas No Coverage NO NO NO 
Kentucky No Coverage NO NO NO 
Michigan* No Coverage NO NO NO 
Mississippi No Coverage NO NO NO 
Missouri No Coverage NO NO NO 
North Carolina*** No Coverage NO NO NO 
Oklahoma No Coverage NO NO NO 
South Carolina No Coverage NO NO NO 
Texas No Coverage NO NO NO 
Virginia No Coverage NO NO NO 
West Virginia No Coverage NO NO NO 
Wisconsin** No Coverage NO NO NO 
Wyoming No Coverage NO NO NO 
* Law providing full protection becomes effective May 1, 2010 
** Law providing full protection becomes effective July 5, 2010 
*** Law providing partial protection in two locations becomes effective January 2, 2010 

Source: STATE System, 2009 
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 Tobacco Counter-Marketing Media Intensity – Youth Quarterly Target 
Rating Points, 2008 

State Ranking Rating Points 
Utah 1 1070 
New York 2 395 
Florida 3 321 
North Carolina 4 308 
Indiana 5 266 
Washington 6 255 
Iowa 7 249 
California 8 138 
Hawaii 9 134 
Colorado 10 118 
Nebraska 11 106 
Pennsylvania 12 93 
New Mexico 13 80 
Massachusetts 14 76 
West Virginia 15 68 
Virginia 16 65 
Louisiana 17 62 
Oregon 18 60 
Connecticut 19 50 
Arkansas 20 49 
Michigan 21 37 
Wisconsin 22 30 
Kansas 23 29 
South Dakota 24 23 
Arizona 25 23 
Maryland 26 22 
District of Columbia 27 20 
Minnesota 28 15 
Illinois 29 14 
Idaho 30 14 
Ohio 31 11 
South Carolina 32 6 
Nevada 33 4 
Missouri 34 2 
Oklahoma 35 2 
Maine 36 1 
Kentucky 37 <1 
Alabama 38 0 
Georgia 38 0 
Mississippi 38 0 
North Dakota 38 0 
Tennessee 38 0 
Texas 38 0 
New Hampshire No Data No Data 
New Jersey No Data No Data 
Alaska No Data No Data 
Delaware No Data No Data 
Montana No Data No Data 
Rhode Island No Data No Data 
Vermont No Data No Data 
Wyoming No Data No Data 

Source: CDC/OSH, 2010 
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 Tobacco Counter-Marketing Media Intensity – Household Quarterly 
Gross Rating Points, 2008 

State Ranking Rating Points 
Utah 1 4766 
New York 2 2389 
Florida 3 1183 
Hawaii 4 1003 
Iowa 5 969 
Indiana 6 722 
California 7 670 
Nebraska 8 631 
Washington 9 575 
Pennsylvania 10 556 
North Carolina 11 549 
Massachusetts 12 433 
Oregon 13 363 
Colorado 14 344 
West Virginia 15 289 
New Mexico 16 253 
South Dakota 17 218 
Maryland 18 171 
Louisiana 19 157 
Michigan 20 151 
Illinois 21 146 
Kansas 22 138 
Virginia 23 135 
Wisconsin 24 119 
District of Columbia 25 118 
Arizona 26 111 
South Carolina 27 105 
Idaho 28 99 
Minnesota 29 67 
Connecticut 30 59 
Arkansas 31 52 
Oklahoma 32 37 
Ohio 33 26 
Nevada 34 18 
Maine 35 11 
Missouri 36 8 
Kentucky 37 1 
Tennessee 38 1 
Texas 39 <1 
Alabama 40 0 
Georgia 40 0 
Mississippi 40 0 
North Dakota 40 0 
New Hampshire No Data No Data 
New Jersey No Data No Data 
Alaska No Data No Data 
Delaware No Data No Data 
Montana No Data No Data 
Rhode Island No Data No Data 
Vermont No Data No Data 
Wyoming No Data No Data 

Source: CDC/OSH, 2010 
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      Medicaid Fee-for-Service Coverage for Tobacco Dependence 
Treatments, 2007 

State Medications Counseling 
Indiana ALL YES 
Massachusetts ALL YES 
Minnesota ALL YES 
New Mexico ALL YES 
Oklahoma ALL YES 
Oregon ALL YES 
Pennsylvania ALL YES 
Colorado ALL PREGNANT ONLY 
Mississippi ALL PREGNANT ONLY 
New Hampshire ALL PREGNANT ONLY 
Utah ALL PREGNANT ONLY 
Virginia ALL PREGNANT ONLY 
California ALL NO 
Delaware ALL NO 
District of Columbia ALL NO 
Hawaii ALL NO 
Idaho ALL NO 
Illinois ALL NO 
Montana ALL NO 
Nevada ALL NO 
New Jersey ALL NO 
North Carolina ALL NO 
Ohio ALL NO 
South Carolina ALL NO 
Vermont ALL NO 
Alaska SOME YES 
Arkansas SOME YES 
Maine SOME YES 
Maryland SOME YES 
Michigan SOME YES 
North Dakota SOME YES 
West Virginia SOME YES 
Wisconsin SOME YES 
Wyoming SOME YES 
Iowa SOME PREGNANT ONLY 
Florida SOME NO 
Kansas SOME NO 
Louisiana SOME NO 
New York SOME NO 
South Dakota SOME NO 
Texas SOME NO 
Washington PREGNANT ONLY PREGNANT ONLY 
Rhode Island NO YES 
Arizona NO PREGNANT ONLY 
Kentucky NO PREGNANT ONLY 
Alabama NO NO 
Connecticut NO NO 
Georgia NO NO 
Missouri NO NO 
Nebraska NO NO 
Tennessee NO NO 

Source: MMWR 2009, 58(43), 1199-1204. 
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