Determination of Need for Syringe Services Programs

line

Appropriations language from Congress in fiscal years 2016-2018 permits use of funds from the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), under certain circumstances, to support SSPs with the exception that funds may not be used to purchase needles or syringes. State, local, tribal, or territorial health departments must first consult with CDC and provide evidence that their jurisdiction is experiencing or at risk for significant increases in hepatitis infections or an HIV outbreak due to injection drug use. CDC has developed guidancepdf icon and consults with state, local, or tribal and territorial health departments on determining if they have adequately demonstrated need according to federal law. Decisions about use of SSPs to prevent disease transmission and support the health and engagement of people who inject drugs are made at the state and local level.

After receiving a request for determination of need, CDC will have 30 business days to notify the requestor whether the evidence is sufficient to demonstrate a need for SSPs. When CDC finds there is sufficient evidence, state, local, tribal, and territorial health departments and other eligible HHS grant recipients may then apply to their respective federal agencies to direct funds to support approved SSP activities. Each federal agency (e.g., CDC, HRSA, SAMHSA) developed its own guidance for its funding recipients regarding which specific programs may apply and its application process:

Under the Consolidated Appropriation Act of 2016, federal law permits use of funds from the Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) to support syringe service programs with the exception that funds may not be used to purchase needles or syringes. In order to use DHHS funds for this purpose, eligible state, local, tribal, and territorial health departments must first consult with CDC and provide evidence that their jurisdiction is experiencing or at risk for significant increases in hepatitis infections or an HIV outbreak due to injection drug use. The table below lists jurisdictions that have consulted CDC and have been determined to have adequately demonstrated need according to federal law, along with contact information for the point of contact regarding the determination of need for that jurisdiction.

Jurisdictions Determined to be Experiencing or At-risk of Significant Increases in Hepatitis Infection or an HIV Outbreak Due to Injection Drug Use Following CDC Consultation

39 states and DC, 1 tribal nation, 1 territory, 6 select counties, 1 city. There are still 15 states/territories that have no request of determination of need pending.

This map lists 39 states, the District of Columbia, one tribal nation, one territory, six counties, and one city that have consulted CDC and have been determined to have demonstrated need according to federal law. These jurisdictions are experiencing or at-risk for significant increases in viral hepatitis infection or an HIV outbreak due to injection drug use. There are still 14 states/territories that have no request or determination of need pending.
  • 39 States and DC
    1 Tribal Nation
    1 Territory
    6 Counties
    1 City

State/Territory Jurisdictional point of contact
State/Territory
(cities and counties, if applicable)
Date of CDC concurrence Jurisdictional point of contact Email
Alaska statewide January 18, 2017 Susan A. Jones susan.jones@alaska.gov
Arizona statewide February 22, 2019
California statewide August 12, 2016 Alessandra Ross Alessandra.Ross@cdph.ca.gov
Cherokee Nation (Oklahoma) November 16, 2018 Whitney Essex whitney-essex@cherokee.org
Colorado statewide June 10, 2016 Andrés Guerrero andres.guerrero@state.co.us
Connecticut statewide April 5, 2017 Marianne Buchelli Marianne.Buchelli@ct.gov
District of Columbia June 27, 2018 Nestor Rocha Nestor.Rocha@dc.gov
Delaware statewide January 9, 2019 Bob Vella robert.vella@state.de.us
Georgia statewide August 31, 2018 Rodriques Lambert Rodriques.Lambert@dph.ga.gov
Hawaii statewide February 7, 2018 Thaddeus Pham Thaddeus.pham@doh.hawaii.gov
Illinois statewide October 27, 2017 Curt Hicks Curt.Hicks@Illinois.gov
Indiana statewide October 7, 2016 Dennis Stover DStover@isdh.IN.gov
Iowa statewide December 4, 2017 Randy Mayer Randall.Mayer@idph.iowa.gov
Kentucky statewide September 9, 2016 Karen Sams Karen.Sams@ky.gov
Louisiana statewide January 18, 2017 Sam Burgess samuel.burgess@la.gov
Maryland statewide June 17, 2016 Kip Castner kip.castner@maryland.gov
Massachusetts statewide June 17, 2016 Annette Rockwell or Dawn Fukuda Annette.Rockwell@state.ma.us, dawn.fukuda@massnail.state.ma.us
Michigan statewide June 10, 2016 Joe Coyle coylej@michigan.gov
Minnesota statewide August 19, 2016 Kathy Chinn or
Errol Saunders
kathy.chinn@state.mn.us
Errol.Saunders@doh.nj.gov
Missouri statewide September 20, 2019 Christine Smith christine.smith@health.mo.gov
Montana statewide May 4, 2018 Dana Fejes dfejes@mt.gov
Nevada statewide October 3, 2017 Lyell Collins lscollins@health.nv.gov
New Hampshire statewide October 27, 2017 Lindsay Pierce Lindsay.Pierce@dhhs.nh.gov
New Mexico statewide August 21, 2018 Andrew Gans
New Jersey statewide June 17, 2016 Steven Saunders errol.saunders@doh.nj.gov
New York statewide May 26, 2017 Allan Clear Allan.Clear@health.ny.gov
  • New York City
July 18, 2018 Dr. Julie Myers jmyers@health.nyc.gov
North Carolina statewide February 24, 2017 Aaron Fleischauer aaron.fleischauer@dhhs.nc.gov
North Dakota statewide June 16, 2017 Lindsey VanderBusch lvanderbusch@nd.gov
Ohio statewide July 24, 2018 Laurie Ricket laurie.rickert@odh.ohio.gov
  • Cuyahoga County
December 2, 2016 Terry Allan Tallan@ccbh.net
  • Lorain County
October 23, 2017 David Covell dcovell@loraincountyhealth.com
Oregon statewide October 20, 2017 Judith Leahy or
Joshua Ferrer
Judith.m.leahy@state.or.us
Joshua.s.ferrer@dhsoha.state.or.us
Pennsylvania statewide June 24, 2016 Charlie Howsare chowshare@pa.gov
Puerto Rico February 13, 2017 Javier Vazquez Melendez javazquez@salud.pr.gov
Rhode Island statewide December 2, 2016 Jamie Comella Jaime.Comella@health.ri.gov
South Carolina statewide January 9, 2019 Tony Price priceae@dhec.sc.gov
Tennessee statewide August 29, 2017 Allison Sanders Allison.sanders@tn.gov
Utah statewide June 17, 2016 Heather Bush hbush@utah.gov
Vermont statewide June 17, 2016 Patsy Kelso patsy.kelso@vermont.gov
Washington statewide April 26, 2019 Emalie Huriaux emalie.huriaux@doh.wa.gov
Virginia statewide March 22, 2017 Bruce Taylor Bruce.Taylor@vdh.virginia.gov
West Virginia statewide April 14, 2017 Sandy Graham or
Pam Reynolds
sandra.j.graham@wv.gov,
pamela.s.reynolds@wv.gov
  • Berkeley County
June 10, 2016 Sandy Graham or
Pam Reynolds
sandra.j.graham@wv.gov, pamela.s.reynolds@wv.gov
  • Cabell County and City of Huntington
September 9, 2016 Michael E. Kilkenny Michael.E.Kilkenny@wv.gov
  • Kanawha County
June 17, 2016 Sandy Graham or
Pam Reynolds
sandra.j.graham@wv.gov, pamela.s.reynolds@wv.gov
Wisconsin statewide September 9, 2016 Jim Vergeront james.vergeront@wisconsin.gov
Wyoming statewide September 22, 2017 Brittany Wardle brittany.wardle@wyo.gov

Information current as of September 24, 2019.

Page last reviewed: June 5, 2019