NIOSH Recognizes 2006 Award Winners for Excellence in Science, Service & Research to Practice


NIOSH Update:

Contact: Fred Blosser (202) 401-3749
May 25, 2006

Today, May 25, 2006, the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH) presented the annual Alice Hamilton Awards, James P. Keogh Awards, and Bullard-Sherwood Research-to-Practice Awards. These awards are given to recognize the scientific excellence of technical and instructional materials by NIOSH scientists and engineers, to honor exceptional service by an individual in the occupational safety and health field, and to highlight outstanding efforts by NIOSH scientists and their partners in applying occupational safety and health research to preventing workplace fatalities, illnesses, or injuries.

The awards are:

  • The Alice Hamilton Award for 2006, named for pioneering research and occupational physician Dr. Alice Hamilton, is presented to four NIOSH technical products of superior scientific merit from 2005. It is given on the basis of rigorous reviews by panels of scientific experts, including peers from both outside and inside NIOSH, for outstanding NIOSH contributions in the areas of biological sciences, engineering and physical sciences, human studies, and educational materials.
  • The 2006 James P. Keogh Award for Outstanding Service in Occupational Safety and Health is presented to Marilyn A. Fingerhut, Ph.D. in recognition of her distinguished career of scholarship and leadership at NIOSH. During her career she has conducted innovative research on dioxin, established herself as a champion and expert for women’s occupational health issues, and has moved forward global occupational health risk assessment.
  • The Bullard-Sherwood Research-to-Practice Award is presented for excellence in applying research to occupational illness and injury prevention. The award, presented by NIOSH for the first time in 2005, is named for Edward W. Bullard, inventor of the hard hat, and R. Jeremy Sherwood, inventor of the personal industrial hygiene sampling pump. The recipients of the award were selected after close reviews for outstanding contributions in three categories: knowledge, for research resulting in developing and transferring new knowledge into practice; interventions, for research resulting in interventions put into practice; and technology, for research resulting in new technologies put into practice.

“NIOSH is proud to once again recognize the great work accomplished by our researchers and partners in furthering the prevention of work-related injuries, illnesses, and deaths,” said NIOSH Director John Howard, M.D. “These awards reflect NIOSH’s core values of conducting exemplary science to meet important needs, moving that research into practice, and developing partnerships nationally and globally.”

The list of recipients of the 2006 Alice Hamilton Award can be found at The list of recipients of the 2006 Bullard-Sherwood Award can be found at


Page last reviewed: August 6, 2012