State Health Department Occupational Safety and Health Contacts

Gold US
CSTE logo

Within this site, you can find contact information for NIOSH state partners involved in workplace safety and health surveillance. You may find contacts for State Epidemiologists external iconand Deputy State Epidemiologistexternal icon by visiting the Council of State and Territorial Epidemiologists (CSTEexternal icon) website.

Revised: May 2020
Please send updates via e-mail to: amobley@cdc.gov

Alaska

Deborah Hull-Jilly, MPH, CLS
Health Program Manager III/Injury Epidemiologist
Injury Surveillance Program
Section of Epidemiology, Div. of Public Health
Alaska Dept. of Health and Social Services
3601 C Street, Suite 540
Anchorage, AK  99503
Phone: (907) 269-8000
Fax: (907)-269.2041
Email: Deborah.Hull-Jilly@alaska.gov

California

Barbara Materna, PhD, CIH
Chief, Occupational Health Branch
California Department of Public Health
Building P, 3rd Floor
850 Marina Bay Parkway
Richmond, CA 94804
Phone: (510) 620-5730
Fax: (510) 620-5743
E-mail: barbara.materna@cdph.ca.gov

Colorado

Kristen Fedak, MEM, PhD
Occupational Health Coordinator
Division of Disease Control and Public Health Response
Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment
4300 Cherry Creek Drive South
Denver, CO 80246-1530
Phone: (303) 692-2791
Fax: (303) 691-7802
Email: kristen.fedak@state.co.us

Kristy Richardson, PhD
State Toxicologist; Director, Toxicology and Environmental Epidemiology Office
Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment
4300 Cherry Creek Drive South, Denver, CO 80246
Phone: (303) 692-3287
Email: kristy.richardson@state.co.us

Connecticut

Thomas St. Louis, MSPH
Program Director, Occupational Health and Special Projects
State of Connecticut Department of Public Health
410 Capitol Avenue, Mail Stop: 11 OSP
P.O. Box 340308
Hartford, CT06134-0308
Phone: (860) 509-7759
Fax: (860) 509-7785
E-mail: thomas.st.louis@ct.gov

Amanda M. DeLoreto, MPH
Epidemiologist 3, Occupational Health Unit
Environmental and Occupational Health Assessment
Connecticut Department of Public Health
410 Capitol Avenue, MS #11 EOH
Hartford, CT  06134
Phone: (860) 509-7513
Fax: (860) 509-7785
Email: amanda.deloreto@ct.gov

Ivan Cherniack, MS
Epidemiologist 2, Occupational Health Unit
Environmental and Occupational Health Assessment
Connecticut Department of Public Health
410 Capitol Avenue, MS #11 EOH
Hartford, CT 06134
Phone: (860) 509-7818
Fax: (860) 509-7785
Email: ivan.cherniack@ct.gov

Florida

Keshia Reid, PhD
Senior Environmental Epidemiologist
Division of Community Health Promotion
Florida Department of Health
4052 Bald Cypress Way, BIN A-24
Tallahassee, FL 32399-1743
Phone: (850) 245-4917
E-mail: Keshia.Reid@flhealth.gov

Meredith Hennon, MPH
Occupational Epidemiologist
Florida Department of Health
4052 Bald Cypress Way, Bin A-24
Tallahassee, Florida 32399-1743
Work: (850) 245-4984
Email: Meredith.Hennon@flhealth.gov

Mark Gaura, MPH
Program Assistant
Florida Department of Health
4052 Bald Cypress Way, Bin A-24
Tallahassee, Florida 32399-1743
Phone: (850) 558-9631
Email: Mark.Gaura@flhealth.gov

Georgia

Antionette Lavender, MPH
Occupational Health Epidemiologist
Georgia Department of Public Health
Chronic Disease, Healthy Behaviors, and Injury Epidemiology Section
2 Peachtree Street, NW Suite 14-283
Atlanta, GA 30303
Phone: 404-657-1943
Fax: 404-463-0780
Email: Antionette.Lavender@dph.ga.gov

Rana Bayakly, MPH
Chief Epidemiologist
Georgia Department of Public Health
Chronic Diseases, Healthy Behaviors and Injury Epidemiology Section
Peachtree Street, NW Suite 14-440
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3142
Phone: (404) 657-2617
E-mail: rana.bayakly@dph.ga.gov

Illinois

Linda Forst
Professor
University of Illinois at Chicago
2121 W. Taylor, MC 922
Chicago, IL 60612
Phone: (312) 996-9489
Email: lforst@uic.edu

Dr. Lee Friedman
Associate Professor
University of Illinois at Chicago
School of Public Health
Environmental and Occupational Health Sciences
1603 W Taylor St (Room 1078B)
Chicago, IL 60612
Phone: (312) 996-1649
Email: lfried1@uic.edu

Iowa

Kathy Leinenkugel, MPA, REHS, MT
Manager, Occupational Health & Safety Surveillance Program
Division of ADPER & EH | Iowa Department of Public Health
321 E. 12th Street
Des Moines, IA 50319
Phone: (515) 281-4930/800-972-2026
Fax: (515) 281-4529
E-mail: kathy.leinenkugel@idph.iowa.gov
Website: https://idph.iowa.gov/external icon

Kentucky

Terry Bunn, PhD
Director, Kentucky Injury Prevention and Research Center
University of Kentucky
333 Walter Ave., Suite 202
Lexington, KY 40504
Phone: (859) 257-4955
E-mail: tbunn2@uky.edu 

Louisiana

Anna Reilly, PhD, MPH
Occupational Health and Injury Surveillance Program
Louisiana Department of Health
Office of Public Health
Section of Environmental Epidemiology & Toxicology
1450 Poydras St., Ste 1631
New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone: (504) 568-8160
Fax: (504) 568-8149
Email: Anna.Reilly@LA.gov

Maryland

Clifford S. Mitchell, MS, MD, MPH
Director, Environmental Health Bureau
Maryland Department of Health
201 West Preston Street, Rm 327
Baltimore, MD 21201
Phone:(410) 767-7438/Fax 410-333-5995
E-mail: cliff.mitchell@maryland.gov
Website: health.maryland.govexternal icon

Massachusetts

Emily Sparer-Fine, ScD
Massachusetts Department of Public Health
Occupational Health Surveillance Program
250 Washington Street, 4th Floor
Boston, Massachusetts 02108
Phone: 617-624-5717
Confidential Fax: 617-624-5696
Email: Emily.Sparer-Fine@state.ma.us

Michigan

Kenneth Rosenman MD, FACE, FACOEM, FACPM
Professor of Medicine, Chief of the Division of Occupational and Environmental Medicine
Michigan State University
909 Fee Road, Room 117 West Fee
East Lansing, Michigan 48824
Phone: (517) 353 – 1846
For clinic appointments: (517) 353 – 4941
Fax: (517) 432 – 3606
E-mail: rosenman@msu.edu
Website: www.oem.msu.eduexternal icon

Thomas W. Largo, MPH
Michigan Department of Health and Human Services
Bureau of Epidemiology and Population Health
Division of Environmental Health
333 S. Grand Ave.
P.O. Box 30195
Lansing, MI 48909
Phone: (517) 284-4806
Fax: (517) 335-8800
E-mail: largot@michigan.gov
Website: www.michigan.gov/mdch-toxicsexternal icon

Minnesota

Erik Zabel, PhD, MPH
Epidemiologist and Program Director, Occupational Health | Injury & Violence Prevention Section
Minnesota Department of Health
PO Box 64882
Saint Paul, MN 55164-0882
Phone: 651-201-3635
Email: erik.zabel@state.mn.us

Website: www.health.state.mn.us/occhealth

Mississippi

Lei Zhang, PhD, MBA
Director, Office of Health Data and Research
Mississippi State Department of Health
570 East Woodrow Wilson
Jackson, MS 39216-4538
Phone: (601)-576-8165
Fax: (601) 576-8168
E-mail: lei.zhang@msdh.ms.gov

Missouri

Jen Weaver, MNS
Senior Epidemiology Specialist
Bureau of Environmental Epidemiology
Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services
PO Box 570, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0570 (Mailing)
Phone: (573) 522-4877
Fax: (573) 526-6946
E-mail:  Jen.Weaver@health.mo.gov

Carol Braun
Epidemiology Specialist
Division of Community and Public Health
Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services
P.O. Box 570
Jefferson City, MO 65102-0570
Phone: (573) 526-4175
Fax: (573) 526-6946
E-mail: carol.braun@health.mo.gov

Montana

Emily Healy, MS
Epidemiologist
Montana Occupational Health & Safety Surveillance Program
Montana Department of Labor & Industry
1805 Prospect Ave
Helena, MT 59601
Phone: (406) 444-1722
Email: emily.healy@mt.gov

Nebraska

Derry Stover, MPH
Epidemiology Surveillance Coordinator
Occupational Safety and Health Surveillance Program
Nebraska Department of Health & Human Services
301 Centennial Mall South
Lincoln, NE 68509
Phone: (402) 471-2822
Fax: (402) 471-8833
E-mail: derry.stover@nebraska.gov

Tom Safranek, M.D.
State Epidemiologist
Phone:(402) 471-0550
Fax: (402) 471-3601
E-mail: tom.safranek@nebraska.gov

New Hampshire

Karla Armenti, MS, ScD
Research Assistant Professor
Principal Investigator, NH Occupational Health Surveillance Program
Institute on Disability / UCED
University of New Hampshire
56 Old Suncook Road, Suite 2
Concord, NH 03301
Phone: (603) 862-2923 | Relay: 177
Fax: (603) 228 – 3270
E-mail: karla.armenti@unh.edu
Website: www.nhohsp.unh.eduexternal icon

New Jersey

Marija Borjan, PhD, MPH
Research Scientist II
New Jersey Department of Health
Occupational Health Surveillance Unit
135 East State St.
P.O. Box 369, Trenton, NJ 08625-0369
Phone: 609-913-5105
Fax: 609-826-4983
E-mail: Marija.Borjan@doh.nj.gov

New Mexico

Srikanth Paladugu, MBBS, MPH, MBA
Bureau Chief
Environmental Health Epidemiology Bureau
Epidemiology and Response Division
1190 S St. Francis Dr, Suite 1300
Santa Fe, NM 87505
Phone: (505) 476-3549 (M,W,F); (505) 841-5893 (T,Th)
Fax:(505) 827-2110

Michael Landen, MD, MPH
State Epidemiologist
Epidemiology and Response Division
New Mexico Department of Health
1190 Saint Francis Drive
P.O. Box 26110
Santa Fe, NM87502-6110
Phone: (505) 476-3575
Fax: (505) 827-0013
E-mail: Michael.Landen@state.nm.us

New York

Alicia Fletcher, MPH
Principal Investigator/Epidemiologist
Occupational Health Surveillance
Bureau of Occupational Health and Injury Prevention
New York State Department of Health
Phone: (518) 402-7900
E-mail: Alicia.Fletcher@health.ny.gov

Julia Zhu
Research Scientist
Industrial Hygienist
Bureau of Occupational Health and Injury Prevention
New York State Department of Health
E-mail: Julia.Zhu@health.ny.gov

North Carolina

Gialana Dang, DrPH, CPH (Pronouns: They/Them/Theirs)
Occupational Epidemiologist, Principle Investigator, NC Occupational Health Surveillance Program
Division of Public Health, Occupational and Environmental Epidemiology Branch
North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services
5505 Six Forks Rd.
1912 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-1912
Phone: 919-707-5904
Fax: 919-870-4807
Email: gialana.dang@dhhs.nc.gov

Oregon

Curtis Cude
Occupational Public Health Principal Investigator/Program Manager
Oregon Health Authority
Public Health Division
Environmental Public Health
Phone: 971-673-0975
Email: curtis.g.cude@dhsoha.state.or.us
Website: http://www.oregon.gov/OHAexternal icon

Ryan Olson, PhD
Professor
Oregon Institute of Occupational Health Sciences
Oregon Health & Science University
3181 SW Sam Jackson Park Rd, L606
Portland, OR 97239
Phone: (503) 494-2501
E-mail: olsonry@ohsu.edu

Tennessee

Benjamin Crumpler
Epidemiologist
Occupational Health and Injury Surveillance Programs
Office of Population Health Surveillance
Division of Population Health Assessment
Andrew Johnson Building, 2nd Floor
710 James Robertson Parkway
Nashville, TN 37423
Phone: 615-253-2783
Email: Benjamin.crumpler@tn.gov
Website: https://www.tn.gov/health/health-program-areas/statistics/health-data/occ-health.htmlexternal icon

Washington

David Bonauto, MD, MPH
Associate Medical Director
Safety and Health Assessment and Research for Prevention Program
Washington State Department of Labor and Industries
P.O. Box 44330
Olympia, WA 98504-4330
Phone: (360) 902-5664
Fax: (360) 902-5672
E-mail: David.Bonauto@Lni.wa.gov

Sara Wuellner, PhD MPH
Epidemiologist
Safety and Health Assessment and Research for Prevention Program
Washington State Department of Labor and Industries
P.O. Box 44330
Olympia, WA 98504-4330
Phone: (360)902-6727
Email: sara.wuellner@lni.wa.gov

Wisconsin

Barbara Grajewski, Ph.D.
Epidemiologist and Program Manager
Occupational Health Surveillance Program
Wisconsin Division of Public Health
1 W. Wilson St., Rm. 150
Madison, WI  53703
Phone:  608-266-0923
e-mail: barbara.grajewski@dhs.wisconsin.gov

Jon Meiman, MD
Chief Medical Officer
Wisconsin Division of Public Health
Bureau of Occupational Health
1 West Wilson Street, Room 150
Madison, WI 53701
Phone: (608) 266-1253
Fax: (608) 267-4853
E-mail: jonathan.meiman@dhs.wisconsin.gov

Wyoming

Meredith Towle, MPH
State Occupational Epidemiologist
Office of the Director
Wyoming Department of Workforce Services
1510 E. Pershing Blvd, 2nd Floor
Cheyenne, WY 82002
Phone: (307) 777-7671
Email: meredith.towle@wyo.gov

Page last reviewed: May 27, 2020