Skip directly to search Skip directly to A to Z list Skip directly to navigation Skip directly to page options Skip directly to site content

State Health Department Occupational Safety and Health Contacts

Gold USCSTE logo

Revised: September 2017
Compiled by: DSHEFS/Surveillance Branch
NIOSH, Mail Stop: R-17
4676 Columbia Parkway
Cincinnati, OH 45226-1998
Phone: (513) 841-4343
Send updates via E-mail to: amobley@cdc.gov

Within this site, you can find contact information for NIOSH state partners involved in workplace safety and health surveillance. You may find contacts for State Epidemiologists and Deputy State Epidemiologist by visiting the Council of State and Territorial Epidemiologists (CSTE) website.

 

California

Barbara Materna, PhD, CIH
Chief, Occupational Health Branch
California Department of Public Health
Building P, 3rd Floor
850 Marina Bay Parkway
Richmond, CA 94804
Phone: (510) 620-5730
Fax: (510) 620-5743
E-mail: barbara.materna@cdph.ca.gov

 

Colorado

Mike Van Dyke, PhD, CIH
Chief, Environmental Epidemiology, Occupational Health, and Toxicology Branch
Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment
4300 Cherry Creek Drive South
Denver, CO 80246
Phone: (303) 692-6375
E-mail: mike.vandyke@state.co.us

Roberta Smith, RN, MSPH, CIC, CIH, OHN
Occupational Health Program Manager
Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment
4300 Cherry Creek Drive South
Denver, CO 80246
Phone: (303) 692-2791
Email: roberta.smith@state.co.us

 

Connecticut

Thomas St. Louis, MSPH
Program Director, Occupational Health and Special Projects
State of Connecticut Department of Public Health
410 Capitol Avenue, Mail Stop: 11 OSP
P.O. Box 340308
Hartford, CT06134-0308
Phone: (860) 509-7759
Fax: (860) 509-7785
E-mail: thomas.st.louis@ct.gov

 

Florida

Melissa Jordan
Director, Public Health Research
Division of Community Health Promotion
Florida Department of Health
4052 Bald Cypress Way, BIN A24
Tallahassee, FL 32399
Work: (850) 245-4577
E-mail: Melissa.Jordan@flhealth.gov

Melissa Baniak
Occupational Program Coordinator
Division of Community Health Promotion
Florida Department of Health
4052 Bald Cypress Way, BIN A24
Tallahassee, FL 32399
Phone: (850) 245-4984
E-mail: Melissa.Baniak@flhealth.gov

 

Georgia

Rana Bayakly, MPH
Chief Epidemiologist
Georgia Department of Public Health
Chronic Diseases, Healthy Behaviors and Injury Epidemiology Section
Peachtree Street, NW Suite 14-440
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-3142
Phone: (404) 657-2617
E-mail: rana.bayakly@dph.ga.gov

 

Illinois

Linda Forst
Professor
University of Illinois at Chicago
2121 W. Taylor, MC 922
Chicago, IL 60612
Phone: (312) 355-3826
E-mail: forst-l@uic.edu

Jennifer Layden, MD
Senior Medical Advisor to the Director
122 S. Michigan Avenue, 7th Floor
Chicago, Illinois 60603
Phone: (312) 814-3547
E-mail: Jennifer.Layden@illinois.gov

 

Iowa

Kathy Leinenkugel, MPA, REHS, MT
Manager, Occupational Health & Safety Surveillance Program
Division of ADPER & EH | Iowa Department of Public Health
321 E. 12th Street
Des Moines, IA 50319
Phone: (515) 281-4930/800-972-2026
Fax: (515) 281-4529
E-mail: kathy.leinenkugel@idph.iowa.gov
Website: http://idph.iowa.gov/lpp/occupational-health

 

Kentucky

Terry Bunn, PhD
Director, Kentucky Injury Prevention and Research Center
University of Kentucky
333 Walter Ave., Suite 202
Lexington, KY 40504
Phone: (859) 257-4955
E-mail: tbunn2@uky.edu 

Jonathan Ballard, MD, MS, MPH
Director, Epidemiology and Health Planning
Department for Public Health
275 East Main Street, Mail Stop: HS2GWC
Frankfort, KY 40621
Phone: (502) 564-7243
Fax: (502) 564-9626
E-mail: Jonathan. Ballard@ky.gov

 

Louisiana

Anna Reilly, PhD, MPH
Occupational Health and Injury Program Supervisor
Louisiana Department of Health
1450 Poydras, Suite 1631
New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone: (504) 568-8160
Fax: (504) 568-8149
E-mail: anna.reilly@la.gov

 

Maryland

Clifford S. Mitchell, MS, MD, MPH
Director, Environmental Health Bureau
Maryland Department of Health
201 West Preston Street, Rm 327
Baltimore, MD 21201
Phone:(410) 767-7438/Fax 410-333-5995
E-mail: cliff.mitchell@maryland.gov

 

Massachusetts

Michael A. Fiore, MS
Massachusetts Department of Public Health
Occupational Health Surveillance Program
250 Washington Street, 4th Floor
Boston, Massachusetts 02108
Phone: (617) 624-5627
Fax: (617) 624-5676
Website: www.mass.gov/dph/ohsp
DPH Blog: http://publichealth.blog.state.ma.us/

 

Michigan

Kenneth Rosenman MD, FACE, FACOEM, FACPM
Professor of Medicine, Chief of the Division of Occupational and Environmental Medicine
Michigan State University
909 Fee Road, Room 117 West Fee
East Lansing, Michigan 48824
Phone: (517) 353 – 1846
For clinic appointments: (517) 353 – 4941
Fax: (517) 432 – 3606
E-mail: rosenman@msu.edu
Website: www.oem.msu.edu

Thomas W. Largo, MPH
Michigan Department of Health and Human Services
Bureau of Epidemiology and Population Health
Division of Environmental Health
333 S. Grand Ave.
P.O. Box 30195
Lansing, MI 48909
Phone: (517) 284-4806
Fax: (517) 335-8800
E-mail: largot@michigan.gov
Website: www.michigan.gov/mdch-toxics

 

Minnesota

Adrienne Landsteiner, MPH PhD
Center for Occupational Health and Safety
Chronic Disease and Environmental Epidemiology
Minnesota Department of Health
PO Box 64882
Saint Paul, MN 55164-0882
Phone: (651) 201-3635
Fax: (651) 201-5898
E-mail: Adrienne.landsteiner@state.mn.us

 

Mississippi

Lei Zhang, PhD, MBA
Director, Office of Health Data and Research
Mississippi State Department of Health
570 East Woodrow Wilson
Jackson, MS 39216-4538
Phone: (601)-576-8165
Fax: (601) 576-8168
E-mail: lei.zhang@msdh.ms.gov

 

Missouri

Carol Braun
Epidemiology Specialist
Division of Community and Public Health
Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services
P.O. Box 570
Jefferson City, MO 65102-0570
Phone: (573) 526-4175
Fax: (573) 526-6946
E-mail: carol.braun@health.mo.gov

 

Montana

Julia Brennan, MPH
Epidemiologist
Montana Occupational Health & Safety Surveillance Program
Montana Department of Labor & Industry
1805 Prospect Avenue
Helena, MT 59601
Phone: (406) 444-1722
Email: jbrennan@mt.gov

 

Nebraska

Derry Stover, MPH
Epidemiology Surveillance Coordinator
Occupational Safety and Health Surveillance Program
Nebraska Department of Health & Human Services
301 Centennial Mall South
Lincoln, NE 68509
Phone: (402) 471-2822
Fax: (402) 471-8833
E-mail: derry.stover@nebraska.gov

Tom Safranek, M.D.
State Epidemiologist
Phone:(402) 471-0550
Fax: (402) 471-3601
E-mail: tom.safranek@nebraska.gov

 

New Hampshire

Karla Armenti, MS, ScD
Research Assistant Professor
Principal Investigator, NH Occupational Health Surveillance Program
Institute on Disability / UCED
University of New Hampshire
56 Old Suncook Road, Suite 2
Concord, NH 03301
Phone: (603) 862-2923 | Relay: 177
Fax: (603) 228 – 3270
E-mail: karla.armenti@unh.edu
Website: www.nhohsp.unh.edu

 

New Jersey

Margaret E. Lumia, PhD, MPH
Research Scientist I
Consumer, Environmental and Occupational Health Service
NJ Department of Health
Phone: (609) 826 – 4762
Fax: (609) 826 – 4983
E-mail: Margaret.Lumia@doh.nj.gov

 

New Mexico

Michael Landen, MD, MPH
State Epidemiologist
Epidemiology and Response Division
New Mexico Department of Health
1190 Saint Francis Drive
P.O. Box 26110
Santa Fe, NM87502-6110
Phone: (505) 476-3575
Fax: (505) 827-0013
E-mail: Michael.Landen@state.nm.us

 

New York

Kitty H. Gelberg, PhD, MPH
Director
Bureau of Occupational Health and Injury Prevention
Empire State Plaza, Corning Tower Room 1325
Albany, NY 12237
Phone: (518) 402-7900
Fax: (518) 402-7909
E-mail: kitty.gelberg@health.ny.gov

Karen Cummings, MPH
Section Chief
Asbestos Safety Training and Occupational Lung Programs
Bureau of Occupational Health and Injury Prevention
New York State Department of Health
E-mail: Karen.Cummings@health.ny.gov

Alicia Fletcher, MPH
Research Scientist
Epidemiologist
Bureau of Occupational Health and Injury Prevention
New York State Department of Health
E-mail: Alicia.Fletcher@health.ny.gov

Julia Zhu
Research Scientist
Industrial Hygienist
Bureau of Occupational Health and Injury Prevention
New York State Department of Health
E-mail: Julia.Zhu@health.ny.gov

 

North Carolina

Gregory Dang, DrPH, CPH
Occupational Epidemiologist, Principle Investigator, NC Occupational Health Surveillance Program
Division of Public Health, Occupational and Environmental Epidemiology Branch
North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services
5505 Six Forks Rd.
1912 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-1912
Phone: (919) 707 5904
Fax: (919) 870-4807
E-mail:gregory.dang@dhhs.nc.gov

Sheila A. Higgins, RN, MPH, COHN-S
Manager Occupational Surveillance
Occupational Environmental Epidemiology Branch
Division of Public Health
North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services
1912 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC27699-1912
Phone: (919) 707-5940
Fax: (919) 870-4810
E-mail: sheila.higgins@dhhs.nc.gov

 

Oregon

Curtis Cude
Surveillance Program Manager, Environmental Public Health
Center for Health Protection
Oregon Public Health Division
Oregon Health Authority
800 NE Oregon, #640
Portland, OR 97232-2162
Phone: (971) 673-0975
E-mail: curtis.g.cude@dhsoha.state.or.us

Ryan Olson, PhD
Associate Professor
Oregon Institute of Occupational Health Sciences
Oregon Health & Science University
3181 SW Sam Jackson Park Rd, L606
Portland, OR 97239
Phone: (503) 494-2501
E-mail: olsonry@ohsu.edu

 

Tennessee

Kimberly R. Glenn, PhD, MPH | Director
Office of Healthcare Statistics
Division of Policy, Planning and Assessment
Andrew Johnson Building, 2nd Floor
710 James Robertson Pkwy
Nashville, TN 37423
Phone: (615) 532-7885 Cell: (615) 438-8268
E-mail: E-mail: kimberly.glenn@tn.gov
http://tn.gov/health
Connect with TDH on Facebook and Twitter @TNDeptofHealth

 

Texas

Leticia M. Nogueira, PhD MPH
Director
Environmental and Injury Epidemiology and Toxicology Unit
Texas Department of State Health Services
1100 West 49th Street
PO Box 149347, MC1964
Austin, TX  78714-9347
Phone: (512) 776-6704
Fax: (512) 776-7689

Emily Hall, MPH
Senior Epidemiologist
Environmental and Injury Epidemiology and Toxicology Unit
Texas Department of State Health Services
1100 West 49th Street
PO Box 149347, MC1964
Austin, TX  78714-9347
Phone: (512) 776-2652
Fax: (512) 776-7689

 

Washington

David Bonauto, MD, MPH
Associate Medical Director
Safety and Health Assessment and Research for Prevention Program
Washington State Department of Labor and Industries
P.O. Box 44330
Olympia, WA 98504-4330
Phone: (360) 902-5664
Fax: (360) 902-5672
E-mail: David.Bonauto@Lni.wa.gov

 

Wisconsin

Jon Meiman, MD
Chief Medical Officer
Wisconsin Division of Public Health
Bureau of Occupational Health
1 West Wilson Street, Room 150
Madison, WI 53701
Phone: (608) 266-1253
Fax: (608) 267-4853
E-mail: jonathan.meiman@dhs.wisconsin.gov

 

Wyoming

Meredith Towle, MPH
State Occupational Epidemiologist
Office of the Director
Wyoming Department of Workforce Services
1510 E. Pershing Blvd, 2nd Floor
Cheyenne, WY 82002
Phone: (307) 777-7671
Email: meredith.towle@wyo.gov

TOP