Skip directly to search Skip directly to A to Z list Skip directly to navigation Skip directly to page options Skip directly to site content

NIOSH Extramural Workforce Development

Training Programs

Training Project Grant Directors

The following is a list of Training Projects Grants (TPGs) supported by NIOSH.  The majority of NIOSH’s TPGs provide academic training in the fields of industrial hygiene, occupational medicine, occupational safety, and allied occupational safety and health disciplines.  A few of the NIOSH TPGs offer non-academic training programs.

Industrial Hygiene Project Grants

University of Arizona
Jeffrey L. Burgess, MD
Associate Dean for Research
Mel & Enid Zuckerman College of Public Health
1295 N Martin
Tucson, AZ 85724
Phone: (520) 626-4918
Email: jburgess@u.arizona.edu

University of Massachusetts, Lowell
David Kriebel, ScD
Dept. of Work Environment
One University Avenue
Lowell, MA 01854
Phone: (978) 934-3270
Email: David_Kriebel@uml.edu

Montana Tech of the University of Montana
Julie F. Hart, PhD, CIH
Safety, Health and Industrial Hygiene
1300 W. Park Street
Butte, MT 59701-8997
Phone: (406) 496-4792
Email: JHart@mtech.edu

University of North Alabama
Leshan Kimbrough, PhD, CIH, CSP
UNA Box 5049
Florence, Alabama 35632
Phone: (256) 765-4652
Email: lkimbrough2@una.edu

University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center
Margaret L. Phillips, PhD, CIH
Occupational & Environmental Health
801 N.E. 13th Street
Oklahoma City, OK 73104
Phone: (405) 271-2070 ext. 46764
Email: margaret-phillips@ouhsc.edu

Purdue University
Ellen M. Wells, PhD
School of Health Sciences
Hampton Hall of Civil Engineering
550 Stadium Mall Dr.
West Lafayette, IN 47907
Phone: (765)496-3535
Email: wells54@purdue.edu                

University of Puerto Rico
Sergio Caporali, PhD, CIH
School of Public Health
Medical Sciences Campus
P.O. Box 365067
San Juan, PR 00936
Phone: (787) 758-2525, ext. 1438
Email:  sergoi.caporali@upr.edu   

University of Toledo
Farhang Akbar, PhD
Department of Public Health
3015 Arlington Avenue
Toledo, OH 43614
Phone: (419) 383-4543
Email: farhang.akbar@utoledo.edu

Tulane University
Roy J. Rando, ScD, CIH
Environmental Health Sciences
1440 Canal St.
New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone: (504) 988-3870
Fax: (504) 584-1726
Email: rando@tulane.edu

West Virginia University
Chris Martin, MD
Institute for Occupational & Environmental Health
West Virginia University
P.O. Box 9190
Morgantown, WV 26506
Phone: (304) 293-3693
Email: cmartin@hsc.wvu.edu

Occupational Medicine Project Grants

Meharry Medical College
Heather O’Hara, MD, MSPH, FACOEM
Dept. of Family and Community Medicine
1005 Dr. D.B. Todd Blvd.
Nashville, TN 37208
Phone: (314) 606-1796

Email:  hohara@mmc.edu

University of Pennsylvania
Judith Green McKenzie, MD, MPH
Emergency Medicine, School of Medicine
Ground Ravdin
3400 Spruce St.
Philadelphia, PA 19104
Phone: (215) 662-2354
Email: jmckenzi@mail.med.upenn.edu

University of Texas Health Science Center at Tyler
Jeffrey L. Levin, MD, MSPH
Occupational and Environmental Health Sciences
11937 U.S. Hwy. 271
Tyler, TX 75708
Phone: (903) 877-5900
Email: jeffrey.levin@uthct.edu  

West Virginia University
Chris Martin, MD
Institute for Occupational & Environmental Health
West Virginia University
P.O. Box 9190
Morgantown, WV 26506
Phone: (304) 293-3693
Email: cmartin@hsc.wvu.edu

Yale University
Carrie Redlich, MD
Occup. & Environ. Medicine Program
135 College St., 3rd Floor, Rm. 366
New Haven, CT 06510
Phone: (203) 737-3495
Email: carrie.redlich@yale.edu

Occupational Safety Project Grants

Montana Tech of the University of Montana
Julie Hart, PhD
Safety, Health and Industrial Hygiene
1300 W. Park Street
Butte, MT 59701-8997
Phone: (406) 496-4792
Email: JHart@mtech.edu

University of Massachusetts, Lowell
David Kriebel, ScD
Dept. of Work Environment
One University Avenue
Lowell, MA 01854
Phone: (978) 934-3270
Email: David_Kriebel@uml.edu

State University of New York at Buffalo
Lora Cavuoto, PhD
Dept. of Industrial and Systems Engineering
324 Bell Hall
Buffalo, NY 14260
Phone: (716) 645-4696
Email: loracavu@buffalo.edu

Ohio State University
Carolyn M. Sommerich, PhD
Department of Integrated Systems Engineering
1971 Neil Ave., 210 Baker Systems
Columbus, OH 43210
Phone: (614) 292-9965
Email: sommerich.1@osu.edu

Ohio University
Diana J. Schwerha, PhD
Industrial and Systems Engineering
278 Stocker Center
Athens, OH 45701
Phone: (740) 593-1577
Email: schwerha@ohio.edu

Texas A&M University
Mark E. Benden, PhD, CPE
School of Rural Public Health
1266 TAMU
College Station, TX 77843
Phone: (979) 436-9334
Email:   mbenden@sph.tamhsc.edu

Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
Maury Nussbaum, PhD
Grado Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering
250 Durham Hall (0118)
Blacksburg, VA 24061-0118
Phone: (540) 231-6053
Email: nussbaum@vt.edu

West Virginia University
Chris Martin, MD
Institute for Occupational & Environmental Health
West Virginia University
P.O. Box 9190
Morgantown, WV 26506
Phone:  (304)  293-3693
Email: cmartin@hsc.wvu.edu

Murray State University
Tracey Wortham, PhD
Dept. of Occupational Safety & Health
157 Industry & Technology Center
Murray, KY 42071
Phone: (270) 809-6654
Email: twortham@murraystate.edu

Allied Occupational Safety and Health Project Grants

University of Connecticut – Occupational Health Psychology
Vicki J. Magley, PhD
Department of Psychological Sciences
406 Babbidge Road
Storrs, CT 06269-1020
Phone (860) 486-9010
Email: vicki.magley@uconn.edu

Emory University – Occupational and Environmental Epidemiology
Paige Tolbert, PhD
Rollins School of Public Health
1518 Clifton Road, N.E.
Atlanta, GA 30322
Phone: (404) 727-3801
Email: ptolber@emory.edu

University of Massachusetts, Lowell
David Kriebel, ScD
Dept. of Work Environment
One University Avenue
Lowell, MA 01854
Phone: (978) 934-3270
Email: David_Kriebel@uml.edu

Millersville University
Jack Ogutu, PhD, AEP, ASP - Occupational Safety and Environmental Health Program
P.O. Box 1002
Millersville, PA 17551
Phone: (717) 871-7229
Email: jack.ogutu@millersville.edu

Portland State University
Leslie B. Hammer, PhD
Psychology Department
317 Cramer Hall
P.O. Box 751
Portland, OR 97207
Phone: (503) 725-3971
Email: hammerl@pdx.edu

Western Kentucky University
Vijay Golla, PhD
Department of Public Health
1906 College Heights Blvd.
Bowling Green, Kentucky 42101
Phone: (270) 745-5088
Email: vijay.golla@wku.edu

University of Wisconsin-Stout
Brian Finder, DIT, CIH
College of STEMM
248 Jarvis Hall Tech Wing
Menomonie, WI 54751
Phone: (715) 232-1422
Email: finderb@uwstout.edu

Non-academic Training Project Grants

International Association of Fire Fighters
Elizabeth Harman, MS, MBA
1750 New York Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20006
Phone: (202) 737-8484
Email: eharman@iaff.org

Alaska Marine Safety Education Association.
Jerry Dzugan, MS
2924 Halibut Point Rd.
Sitka, AK 99835
Phone: (907) 747-3287
Email: director@amsea.org

Association of Occupational and Environmental Clinics
Robert J. Harrison, MD
1010 Vermont Ave.
Washington, DC 20005
Phone: (510) 620-5769
Email: Robert.Harrison@CDPH.ca.gov

Top