Skip directly to search Skip directly to A to Z list Skip directly to navigation Skip directly to page options Skip directly to site content

Members of the NORA Public Safety Council

The Council has two co-chairs, a NIOSH Public Safety Program Coordinator and a stakeholder representative. The NIOSH Program Manager and other NIOSH Public Safety Program leaders are Council Members and facilitate the work of the Council. Members attend meetings and are the core of the group. Corresponding members are kept informed of Council activities, have opportunities to provide input on topics to be discussed, and may join workgroups. Contact the NIOSH Council Co-Chair or the NORA Coordinator with questions or comments or to volunteer.

Current Members

Name Organization
Jefferey L. Burgess
University of Arizona
William E. Haskell
Maryann D'Alessandro
Program Manager
Corey R. Butler
Program Coordinator
Jeffrey D. Palcic
Assistant Coordinator
Brett Bowman Prince William County Department of Fire and Rescue
George Broyles US Forest Service
Nelson Bryner US Department of Commerce National Institute of Standards and Technology
Marc Caplan US Department of Homeland Security
Luenda E. Charles NIOSH
Robert "Doug" Daniels NIOSH
Richard Duffy  
Renee Funk
Former Assistant Coordinator
Kitty H. Gelberg New York State Department of Health
Casey C. Grant Fire Protection Research Foundation
Paula Grubb NIOSH
Thomas Hales NIOSH
William J. Johnson
Former Co-Chair
National Association of Police Organizations
Travis Kubale NIOSH
Brian J. Maguire University of Maryland, Baltimore County
Brian Montgomery US Department of Justice National Institute of Justice
Paul Moore NIOSH
Peter Morris North Carolina Department of Public Safety
Patrick Morrison International Association of Fire Fighters
Rick Neimiller
Former Corresponding Member
American Jail Association
Milt Nenneman US Department of Homeland Security Science and Technology Directorate
Dori Reissman NIOSH
Eric Schultz American Correctional Association
Seth A. Seabury RAND
Kevin M. Sommers Fraternal Order of Police
Victor Stagnaro National Fallen Firefighters Foundation
John Thompson National Sheriffs' Association
Erin Vermilye International Association of Chiefs of Police
Gamunu Wijetunge US Department of Transportation National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
Margaret Wilson US Department of Homeland Security Federal Emergency Management Agency

Current Corresponding Members

Name Organization
Neil Blackington City of Boston Emergency Medical Services
Mike Brown National Sheriffs' Association
Peter I. Dworsky MONOC - Monmouth Ocean Hospital Service Corporation
Jack Harne US Department of Justice National Institute of Justice
Richard Hart Waterbury (CT) Fire Department
Rachel Hedge National Association of Police Organizations
Brian Henderson US Border Patrol
John Kenny Pennsylvania State University
Roger Lackore Oshkosh Corporation
Nadine Levick EMS Safety Foundation
Robert Marton Miami-Dade County Safety Office
Amy Muncy Fraternal Order of Police
Michael K. O'Shea
Former Member
US Department of Justice National Institute of Justice
Eric Osnes Federal Bureau of Investigation
Alba N. Quinones Iowa Medical and Classification Center
Jim Sedore Washington State
Ray Sibley City of Denver
Joe Simpson North Carolina Department of Public Safety
Matthew Tobia Anne Arundel (MD) County Fire Department
Tim Woods National Sheriffs' Association


A heartfelt thank you to past participants for their contributions:

(please note: affiliations listed were current as of the time of participation but may no longer be accurate)

Name Organization
Les Boord
Former Program Manager
formerly with NIOSH
Beth Currier
Former Member
International Association of Chiefs of Police
Linda Frederick
Former Member
Teresa Schnorr
Former Program Manager
Gwyn Smith-Ingley
Former Member
formerly with American Jail Association
Tracy Thomas
Former Member
formerly with Richmond Ambulance Authority
David Utterback
Former Co-Chair
Formerly with NIOSH