Skip directly to search Skip directly to A to Z list Skip directly to navigation Skip directly to page options Skip directly to site content

NORA Construction Sector Council

Council Members

The Council has two co-chairs, one from the NIOSH Construction Program and one from a partner organization. Currently this role is filled by a representative from CPWR – The Center for Construction Research and Training. The NIOSH Construction Program coordinator and assistant coordinator also help to facilitate the work of the Council. Members attend meetings and participate in workgroups. Contact the Sector Coordinator or NORA Coordinator with any questions, comments, or to volunteer.

Current Members

Gayla HursonRUCKO

Name Organization
Christine Branche
Chris Trahan Cain
CPWR-The Center for Construction Research and Training
G. Scott Earnest
NIOSH Program Coordinator
Elizabeth Garza
NIOSH Program Assistant Coordinator
Henry Anderson Wisconsin Department of Health Services Division of Public Health
James Antonini NIOSH
Charles Austin Sheet Metal Occupational Health Institute Trust
Mike Behm East Carolina University
Eileen Betit CPWR—The Center for Construction Research and Training
Alberto Cabán-Martinez University of Miami
Kevin Cannon Associated General Contractors of America
Sharon Chiou NIOSH
Judy Coyne NIOSH
Wayne Creasap The Association of Union Contractors
Deborah Dickerson Virginia Tech
Brent Doney NIOSH
Alan Echt NIOSH
Michael Fiore Massachusetts Department of Public Health
Mark Fullen West Virginia University
Janie Gittleman Defense Intelligence Agency
Daniel Glucksman International Safety Equipment Association
Carl Heinlein American Industrial Hygiene Association; American Contractors Insurance Group
Palmer Hickman National Joint Apprenticeship and Training Committee for the Electrical Industry
Gayla Hurson RUCKO
John Johnson Black & Veatch Corporation
Michael Johnston National Electrical Contractors Association
Vicki Kaskutas Washington University in St. Louis
Brian Kleiner Virginia Tech
T.J. Lentz NIOSH
Brian Lowe NIOSH
Howard Marks National Asphalt Pavement Association
Robert Matuga National Association of Home Builders
Barbara McCabe International Union of Operating Engineers
Dean McKenzie US Department of Labor, Occupational Safety and Health Administration
Michael Mills Liberty Mutual Insurance
Daniel Moss Association of Equipment Manufacturers
Christopher Pan NIOSH
Travis Parsons Laborers’ Health and Safety Fund of North America
Andrew Peters AECOM
Nancy Romano NIOSH
Kenneth Rueter UCOR
Nura Sadeghpour NIOSH
Bradley Sant American Road & Transportation Builders Association
Thomas Shanahan National Roofing Contractors Association
Tonya Smith-Jackson North Carolina A & T State University
Ron Sokol American Society of Safety Engineers
Charles (Chuck) Stribling, Jr. Kentucky Department of Labor
George (Don) Tolbert Retired
Doug Trout  NIOSH
Wes Wheeler National Electrical Contractors Association


A heartfelt thank you to past participants in the third decade of NORA for their contributions:

(Please note: affilations listed were current as of the time of participation but may no longer be accurate)

Name Affliation
Annie Pearce Virginia Tech
 William Piispanen  AECOM