Mining Feature: NIOSH Researchers Win Ergonomics Award

Monday, September 24, 2018

Awardees stand on stage after receiving medals

Patrick Dempsey (third from right) stands on stage at the IEA Triennial Congress after accepting the IEA/Liberty Mutual Medal.

The interdisciplinary group of researchers who developed ErgoMine recently won an extremely prestigious award from the International Ergonomics Association (IEA) for the collection of ergonomics audits they developed for use in the ErgoMine app.

The app—an ergonomics audit tool—allows mineworkers and safety professionals alike to reliably audit workspaces in the areas of bagging, haul truck, and maintenance and repair operations at surface mining and processing facilities. The app not only collects the inputted audit information, but provides recommendations for possible ergonomics improvements.

The group, consisting of Patrick Dempsey, Jonisha Pollard, Bill Porter, Alan Mayton, John Heberger, Sean Gallagher, Leanna Reardon, and Colin Drury, was awarded the IEA/Liberty Mutual Medal at the association’s triennial congress in Florence, Italy. Patrick traveled to the conference to accept the award on behalf of the team.

The team won for their article about ErgoMine that was printed in the journal Ergonomics.

Congratulations to the group!

Page last reviewed: December 2, 2019
Page last updated: September 24, 2018