Charles C. Shepard Science Awards

Photo of Charles C. Shepard MD

Charles C. Shepard, MD

Descriptive information about the prestigious Shepard Science Awards can be found here.

CDC/ATSDR established the Charles C. Shepard Science Award in 1986 in honor of Dr. Charles C. Shepard, an internationally recognized microbiologist whose career was marked by a pursuit of scientific excellence. Dr. Shepard served as chief of the Leprosy and Rickettsia Branch at CDC for more than 30 years, until his death on February 18, 1985.

The Charles C. Shepard Science Award recognizes scientists who have made important research contributions to public health. The awards are given in five categories: one individual award— for Lifetime Scientific Achievement—and four for published peer-reviewed journal articles in the categories of Assessment, Data Methods and Study Design, Laboratory Science, and Prevention and Control.

Page last reviewed: March 28, 2018, 12:00 AM