Skip directly to search Skip directly to A to Z list Skip directly to navigation Skip directly to page options Skip directly to site content

Division of Tuberculosis Elimination (EIS 2018)

The mission of the Division of TB Elimination is to provide leadership in preventing, controlling, and eventually eliminating TB from the United States, in collaboration with partners at the community, state, and international levels.

Key activities:

  • Monitoring progress toward TB elimination through national TB surveillance
  • Strengthening the capacity of health departments and other partners to prevent, control, and eventually eliminate TB through improved communications, information dissemination, education, and training
  • Using contact investigations to prevent TB among persons at highest risk, including those with HIV infection
  • Building outbreak detection and response capability
  • Investigating improved treatment regimens
  • Providing technical assistance, including programmatic support, research, and the identification, treatment, and management of multidrug-resistant (MDR) TB, extensively drug-resistant (XDR) TB, and TB among the most vulnerable populations (e.g., children, correctional populations, people experiencing homelessness)

DTBE Leadership and EIS Officers

Philip LoBue, MD

Philip LoBue, MD Director

Kathryn Koski, MSEd, MPH

Kathryn Koski, MSEd, MPH Deputy Director

Carla Winston, PhD, MA

Carla Winston, PhD, MA Associate Director for Science

Lori Armstrong, PhD

Lori Armstrong, PhD (EIS 1993)

Sandy Althomsons, MA, MHS

Sandy Althomsons, MA, MHS

Maryam Haddad, MSN, MPH, FNP

Maryam Haddad, MSN, MPH, FNP (EIS 2001)

J. Steve Kammerer, MBA

J. Steve Kammerer, MBA

Adam Langer DVM, MPH

Adam Langer DVM, MPH (EIS 2006)

Roque Miramontes, PA-C, MPH

Roque Miramontes, PA-C, MPH (EIS 2006)

Sapna Bamrah Morris, MD, MBA

Sapna Bamrah Morris, MD, MBA (EIS 2006)

Thomas Navin, MD

Thomas Navin, MD (EIS 1982)

Sue Reynolds, PhD, MS, MPH

Sue Reynolds, PhD, MS, MPH

Kristine Schmit, MD, MPH

Kristine Schmit, MD, MPH (EIS 2015)

Julie Self, PhD, MPH

Julie Self, PhD, MPH (EIS 2015)

Rebekah (Becky) J. Stewart, MSN, MPH, APRN

Rebekah (Becky) J. Stewart, MSN, MPH, APRN (EIS 2015)

Ben Silk, PhD

Ben Silk, PhD (EIS 2008)

Zimy Wansaula, MD, MPH

Zimy Wansaula, MD, MPH (EIS 2016)

Jonathan Wortham, MD

Jonathan Wortham, MD (EIS 2011)