Safe WATCH Recipients 2015-2020

Through the Safe WATCH program (CDC-RFA-EH15-1507), CDC is working with drinking water programs in the following health departments to improve their programs and reduce exposures from private water sources in their communities:

Map of the Safe WATCH grantees for the 2015-2020 funding cycle

State Health Departments

  • Arizona Department of Health Services
  • Connecticut Department of Public Health
  • Indiana State Department of Health
  • Louisiana Department of Health and Hospitals
  • Michigan Department of Health and Human Services
  • Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services
  • New Jersey Department of Health
  • New Mexico Department of Health
  • New York State Department of Health
  • North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services
  • Oregon Health Authority
  • Tennessee Department of Health
  • Vermont Department of Health
  • West Virginia Department of Health and Human Resources

Local Health Departments

  • Delta County (CO) Environmental Health
  • Gaston County (NC) Department of Health and Human Services
  • La Crosse County (WI) Health Department
  • Madison County (NY) Health Department
  • Tacoma-Pierce County (WA) Health Department

Earlier Recipients

In 2013-2015 (before Safe WATCH was established), CDC funded health departments to count and gather data on private wells and other drinking water systems not regulated under the Safe Drinking Water Act. The 11 recipients of funding under this cooperative agreement were Duval County (Florida), Cerro Gordo County (Iowa), and the states of Connecticut, Florida, Louisiana, Maine, New Hampshire, New Mexico, New York, Ohio, and Oregon.

Prior funding through our Environmental Health Specialists Network also included some projects on private wells and other water topics.