Skip directly to search Skip directly to A to Z list Skip directly to navigation Skip directly to page options Skip directly to site content

State Public Health Actions (1305)

CDC's State Public Health Actions to Prevent and Control Diabetes, Heart Disease, Obesity and Associated Risk Factors and Promote School Health

The State Public Health Actions to Prevent and Control Diabetes, Heart Disease, Obesity and Associated Risk Factors and Promote School Health (State Public Health Actions) grant is a multifaceted initiative to improve health for all Americans through coordinated chronic disease prevention programs. The State Public Health Actions grant funds statewide initiatives to prevent, manage, and reduce the risk factors associated with chronic diseases—including childhood and adult obesity, diabetes, heart disease, and stroke.

To maximize efficiency, states engage in cross-cutting activities that capitalize on similarities of these chronic diseases and many of the methods to prevent and/or control them. Work areas include implementing environmental approaches to support healthful behaviors, health system interventions to improve effective delivery of care, community-clinical linkages to support prevention and management of high blood pressure and diabetes, and collecting and analyzing data to guide work.

Basic component

State Public Health Actions is a national program that provides a base level of funding to all 50 states and DC to focus on underlying strategies that address all of these diseases. All states must put into action key strategies in their states including the following DNPAO priority strategies:

  • Promote the adoption of food service guidelines and nutrition standards, which include sodium.
  • Promote the adoption of physical activity in early child care centers, schools, and work sites.
Enhanced component

Additional resources are provided to 32 states to enable more intensive interventions and greater health outcomes for these chronic conditions including the following DNPAO priority strategies:

  • Increase access to healthy foods and beverages.
  • Increase physical activity access and outreach.
  • Increase access to breastfeeding friendly environments.

 Top of Page

State FY2016 Funding Amount State Profile Principal Investigator Email Address
Alabama $114,736 [PDF-831KB] James McVay jim.mcvay@adph.state.al.us
Alaska $116,386 [PDF-1.47MB] Kathy Allely kathy.allely@alaska.gov
Arizona $415,593 [PDF-2.30MB] Sheila Sjolander sheila.sjolander@azdhs.gov
Arkansas $359,879 [PDF-1.90MB] Alysia Cover alysia.dubriske@arkansas.gov
California $483,888 [PDF-1.04MB] Caroline Peck caroline.peck@cdph.ca.gov
Colorado $404,970 [PDF-2.64MB] Gabriel Kaplan Gabriel.Kaplan@state.co.us
Connecticut $320,345 [PDF-1.70MB] Mehul Dalal mehul.dalal@ct.gov
Delaware $116,317 [PDF-646KB] Fred Gatto Fred.Gatto@State.de.us
District of Columbia $132,208 [PDF-3.32MB] Robin Diggs Outlaw robin.diggs@dc.gov
Florida $527,149 [PDF-692KB] Darcy Abbott Darcy.Abbott@flhealth.gov
Georgia $126,861 [PDF-1.71MB] Jean O’Conner jcoconnor@dhr.state.ga.us
Hawaii $110,053 [PDF-1.56MB] Lola Irvin Lola.Irvin@doh.hawaii.gov
Idaho $369,027 [PDF-3.84MB] Sonja Schriever schrievs@dhw.idaho.gov
Illinois $129,305 [PDF-2.59MB] Conny Mueller Moody conny.moody@illinois.gov
Indiana $296,182 [PDF-837KB] Laura Heinrich ltheinri@isdh.IN.gov
Iowa $322,294 [PDF-702KB] Jill Myers-Geadelmann jill.myers-geadelmann@idph.iowa.gov
Kansas $211,847 [PDF-734KB] Paula Clayton pclayton@kdheks.gov
Kentucky $410,455 [PDF-5.09MB] Connie White connie.white@ky.gov
Louisiana $132,180 [PDF-764KB] Caroline Brazeel caroline.brazeel@la.gov
Maine $375,562 [PDF-837KB] Debra Wigand debra.a.wigand@maine.gov
Maryland $380,763 [PDF-655KB] Donald Shell donald.shell@maryland.gov
Massachusetts $369,052 [PDF-3.28MB] Lea Susan Ojamaa lea.ojamaa@state.ma.us
Michigan $424,564 [PDF-686KB] Teri Scorcia Wilson scorciawilsont@michigan.gov
Minnesota $406,024 [PDF-3.71MB] Mary Manning mary.manning@state.mn.us
Mississippi $330,466 [PDF-680KB] Victor Sutton victor.sutton@msdh.state.ms.us
Missouri $375,215 [PDF-1.83MB] Belinda Heimericks Belinda.Heimericks@health.mo.gov
Montana $381,936 [PDF-5.79MB] Todd Harwell tharwell@mt.gov
Nebraska $337,785 [PDF-2.64MB] Kay Wenzl kay.wenzl@nebraska.gov
Nevada $119,077 [PDF-3.285MB] Richard Whitley rwhitley@heatlh.nv.gov
New Hampshire $96,548 [PDF-2.87MB] Jose Montero jmontero@dhhs.state.nh.us
New Jersey $387,015 [PDF-1.91MB] Melita Jordan melita.jordan@doh.state.nj.us
New Mexico $123,916 [PDF-3.77MB] David Vigil cathy.rocke@state.nm.us
New York $510,355 [PDF-2.46MB] Patricia Waniewski paw04@health.state.ny.us
North Carolina $327,482 [PDF-3.08MB] Cathy Thomas cathy.thomas@dhhs.nc.gov
North Dakota $117,022 [PDF-2.76MB] Karalee Harper kfremming@nd.gov
Ohio $105,264 [PDF-2.06MB] Barbara Pryor Barbara.Pryor@odh.ohio.gov
Oklahoma $105,770 [PDF-3.77MB] Jon Lowry jonl@health.ok.gov
Oregon $374,399 [PDF-4.12MB] Karen Girard karen.e.girard@state.or.us
Pennsylvania $479,330 [PDF-2.32MB] Tiffany Bransteitter tistrickle@pa.gov
Rhode Island $358,148 [PDF-2.25MB] Ana Novais Ana.Novais@health.ri.gov
South Carolina $371,475 [PDF-2.68MB] Joseph Kyle kyleja@dhec.sc.gov
South Dakota $115,885 [PDF-2.77MB] Linda Ahrendt linda.ahrendt@state.sd.us
Tennessee $276,807 [PDF-6.30MB] Melissa Blair melissa.blair@tn.gov
Texas $145,534 [PDF-3.94MB] Patty Moore patricia.moore@dshs.state.tx.us
Utah $351,849 [PDF-1.91MB] Nicole Bissonette nicolebissonette@utah.gov
Vermont $114,513 [PDF-2.59MB] Robin Edelman robin.edelman@state.vt.us
Virginia $376,259 [PDF-4.41MB] Letha Fisher kathy.rocco@vdh.virginia.gov
Washington $364,216 [PDF-2.61MB] Pama Joyner pama.joyner@doh.wa.gov
West Virginia $107,567 [PDF-2.23MB] Joe Barker joseph.l.barker@wv.gov
Wisconsin $423,732 [PDF-3.29MB] Timothy Corden timothy.corden@dhs.wisconsin.gov
Wyoming $43,376 [PDF-2.45MB] Randel Hotle keith.hotle@wyo.gov

 Top of Page

Top
Error processing SSI file