State Public Health Actions (1305) (2013-2018)

CDC’s State Public Health Actions to Prevent and Control Diabetes, Heart Disease, Obesity and Associated Risk Factors and Promote School Health

The State Public Health Actions to Prevent and Control Diabetes, Heart Disease, Obesity and Associated Risk Factors and Promote School Health (State Public Health Actions) grant was a multifaceted initiative to improve health for all Americans through coordinated chronic disease prevention programs. The State Public Health Actions grant funded statewide initiatives to prevent, manage, and reduce the risk factors associated with chronic diseases—including childhood and adult obesity, diabetes, heart disease, and stroke.

To maximize efficiency, states engaged in cross-cutting activities that capitalized on similarities of these chronic diseases and many of the methods to prevent and/or control them. Work areas included implementing environmental approaches to support healthful behaviors, health system interventions to improve effective delivery of care, community-clinical linkages to support prevention and management of high blood pressure and diabetes, and collecting and analyzing data to guide work.

Basic component

State Public Health Actions was a national program that provided a base level of funding to all 50 states and DC to focus on underlying strategies that addressed all of these diseases. All states were required to put key strategies into action in their states including the following DNPAO priority strategies:

  • Promote the adoption of food service guidelines and nutrition standards, which include sodium.
  • Promote the adoption of physical activity in early child care centers, schools, and work sites.
Enhanced component

Additional resources were provided to 32 states to enable more intensive interventions and greater health outcomes for these chronic conditions including the following DNPAO priority strategies:

  • Increase access to healthy foods and beverages.
  • Increase physical activity access and outreach.
  • Increase access to breastfeeding friendly environments.
List of State Public Health Action awardees by state, fiscal year 2017 funding amounts, state profiles, principal investigator names and email addresses.
State FY2017 Funding Amount State Profile Principal Investigator Email Address
Alabama $140,416 pdf icon[PDF-831KB] James McVay jim.mcvay@adph.state.al.us
Alaska $117,051 pdf icon[PDF-1.47MB] Kathy Allely kathy.allely@alaska.gov
Arizona $428,567 pdf icon[PDF-2.30MB] Sheila Sjolander sheila.sjolander@azdhs.gov
Arkansas $415,125 pdf icon[PDF-1.90MB] Alysia Cover alysia.dubriske@arkansas.gov
California $596,691 pdf icon[PDF-1.04MB] Caroline Peck caroline.peck@cdph.ca.gov
Colorado $409,272 pdf icon[PDF-2.64MB] Gabriel Kaplan Gabriel.Kaplan@state.co.us
Connecticut $373,956 pdf icon[PDF-1.70MB] Mehul Dalal mehul.dalal@ct.gov
Delaware $117,247 pdf icon[PDF-646KB] Fred Gatto Fred.Gatto@State.de.us
District of Columbia $139,352 pdf icon[PDF-3.32MB] Robin Diggs Outlaw robin.diggs@dc.gov
Florida $527,149 pdf icon[PDF-692KB] Darcy Abbott Darcy.Abbott@flhealth.gov
Georgia $147,932 pdf icon[PDF-1.71MB] Jean O’Conner jcoconnor@dhr.state.ga.us
Hawaii $117,718 pdf icon[PDF-1.56MB] Lola Irvin Lola.Irvin@doh.hawaii.gov
Idaho $369,027 pdf icon[PDF-3.84MB] Sonja Schriever schrievs@dhw.idaho.gov
Illinois $129,305 pdf icon[PDF-2.59MB] Conny Mueller Moody conny.moody@illinois.gov
Indiana $435,127 pdf icon[PDF-837KB] Laura Heinrich ltheinri@isdh.IN.gov
Iowa $373,433 pdf icon[PDF-702KB] Jill Myers-Geadelmann jill.myers-geadelmann@idph.iowa.gov
Kansas $383,823 pdf icon[PDF-734KB] Paula Clayton pclayton@kdheks.gov
Kentucky $410,455 pdf icon[PDF-5.09MB] Connie White connie.white@ky.gov
Louisiana $143,119 pdf icon[PDF-764KB] Caroline Brazeel caroline.brazeel@la.gov
Maine $376,977 pdf icon[PDF-837KB] Debra Wigand debra.a.wigand@maine.gov
Maryland $418,557 pdf icon[PDF-655KB] Donald Shell donald.shell@maryland.gov
Massachusetts $419,323 pdf icon[PDF-3.28MB] Lea Susan Ojamaa lea.ojamaa@state.ma.us
Michigan $486,769 pdf icon[PDF-686KB] Teri Scorcia Wilson scorciawilsont@michigan.gov
Minnesota $418,070 pdf icon[PDF-3.71MB] Mary Manning mary.manning@state.mn.us
Mississippi $417,318 pdf icon[PDF-680KB] Victor Sutton victor.sutton@msdh.state.ms.us
Missouri $429,325 pdf icon[PDF-1.83MB] Belinda Heimericks Belinda.Heimericks@health.mo.gov
Montana $381,936 pdf icon[PDF-5.79MB] Todd Harwell tharwell@mt.gov
Nebraska $372,205 pdf icon[PDF-2.64MB] Kay Wenzl kay.wenzl@nebraska.gov
Nevada $119,077 pdf icon[PDF-3.285MB] Richard Whitley rwhitley@heatlh.nv.gov
New Hampshire $117,661 pdf icon[PDF-2.87MB] Jose Montero jmontero@dhhs.state.nh.us
New Jersey $463,910 pdf icon[PDF-1.91MB] Melita Jordan melita.jordan@doh.state.nj.us
New Mexico $141,780 pdf icon[PDF-3.77MB] David Vigil cathy.rocke@state.nm.us
New York $527,051 pdf icon[PDF-2.46MB] Patricia Waniewski paw04@health.state.ny.us
North Carolina $500,104 pdf icon[PDF-3.08MB] Cathy Thomas cathy.thomas@dhhs.nc.gov
North Dakota $117,022 pdf icon[PDF-2.76MB] Karalee Harper kfremming@nd.gov
Ohio $127,970 pdf icon[PDF-2.06MB] Barbara Pryor Barbara.Pryor@odh.ohio.gov
Oklahoma $120,153 pdf icon[PDF-3.77MB] Jon Lowry jonl@health.ok.gov
Oregon $379,542 pdf icon[PDF-4.12MB] Karen Girard karen.e.girard@state.or.us
Pennsylvania $515,491 pdf icon[PDF-2.32MB] Tiffany Bransteitter tistrickle@pa.gov
Rhode Island $376,698 pdf icon[PDF-2.25MB] Ana Novais Ana.Novais@health.ri.gov
South Carolina $452,753 pdf icon[PDF-2.68MB] Joseph Kyle kyleja@dhec.sc.gov
South Dakota $117,763 pdf icon[PDF-2.77MB] Linda Ahrendt linda.ahrendt@state.sd.us
Tennessee $454,329 pdf icon[PDF-6.30MB] Melissa Blair melissa.blair@tn.gov
Texas $162,980 pdf icon[PDF-3.94MB] Patty Moore patricia.moore@dshs.state.tx.us
Utah $373,184 pdf icon[PDF-1.91MB] Nicole Bissonette nicolebissonette@utah.gov
Vermont $116,963 pdf icon[PDF-2.59MB] Robin Edelman robin.edelman@state.vt.us
Virginia $463,180 pdf icon[PDF-4.41MB] Letha Fisher kathy.rocco@vdh.virginia.gov
Washington $467,195 pdf icon[PDF-2.61MB] Pama Joyner pama.joyner@doh.wa.gov
West Virginia $137,797 pdf icon[PDF-2.23MB] Joe Barker joseph.l.barker@wv.gov
Wisconsin $423,732 pdf icon[PDF-3.29MB] Timothy Corden timothy.corden@dhs.wisconsin.gov
Wyoming $116,904 pdf icon[PDF-2.45MB] Randel Hotle keith.hotle@wyo.gov