Skip directly to search Skip directly to A to Z list Skip directly to navigation Skip directly to page options Skip directly to site content

High Obesity Program

Programs to Reduce Obesity in High Obesity Areas to Boost Prevention

  • 11 awards
  • $8.2 million

These projects fund land grant colleges and universities in states with counties that have more than 40% prevalence of adult obesity. Residents of these communities may have less access to healthy foods and fewer opportunities to be physically active. The universities conduct intervention strategies through existing cooperative extension and outreach services at the county level, in targeted counties, to improve physical activity and nutrition, reduce obesity, and prevent and control diabetes, heart disease and stroke.

Infographic: Programs to Reduce Obesity in High Obesity Areas [PDF-4.56MB]

 Top of Page

State Awardee Grantee Profiles FY2016
Funding Amount
Principal Investigator Email Address
Alabama Auburn University [PDF-2.9MB] $1,339,162 Barb Struempler struebj@aces.edu
Arkansas University of Arkansas, Fayetteville [PDF-3.69MB] $864,773 Lisa Washburn lwashburn@uaex.edu
Georgia University of Georgia [PDF-2.48MB] $633,680 Marsha Davis davism@uga.edu
Indiana Purdue University Coming soon $578,449 Timothy Gavin gavin1@purdue.edu
Kentucky University of Kentucky [PDF-2.4MB] $826,256 Ann Vail ann.vail@uky.edu
Louisiana Louisiana State University [PDF-5.64MB] $824,977 Denise Holston DHolston@agcenter.lsu.edu
North Carolina North Carolina State University [PDF-2.69MB]  $773,677 Anne Hardison-Moody amhardis@ncsu.edu
South Dakota South Dakota State University [PDF-1.4MB] $628,456 Suzanne Stluka Suzanne.Stluka@sdstate.edu
Tennessee University of Tennessee [PDF-5MB] $1,038,000 Laura Stephenson lsteph18@tennessee.edu
Texas Texas A&M University [PDF-5.4MB] $972,990 Carol Rice crice@ag.tamu.edu
West Virginia West Virginia University [PDF-9.2MB] $453,747 Cindy Fitch cindy.fitch@mail.wvu.edu

 Top of Page

TOP