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American Academy of Pediatrics  

NEWBORN SCREENING FOR 

CRITICAL CONGENITAL HEART DISEASE (CCHD)–2015 STATE 

ACTIONS 

(As August 21, 2015) 

 

LEGISLATION INTRODUCED 
 

MISSOURI 
MO HB 521 Rep. Kurt Bahr (REP-MO)  
Changes the laws regarding midwifery 

No summary available at this time 

Public Hearing Completed (H) - 03/17/2015 

 

 

Legislation Introduced  

 

Legislation Enacted 
 

Legislation Failed 
 

Executive Order 
 

Regulations/Guidance 
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http://www.cqstatetrack.com/texis/statetrack/insession/insession/+cew6ySeSWpVwwww-BmeiNYRe1xwwww2wwwwwww6FqtGncdwmewG1qmowwwwwww/+/nodisplay/infopage
javascript:void(0)
http://www.cqstatetrack.com/texis/redir?id=54b739d62b&rtype=text&original=y
http://www.cqstatetrack.com/texis/redir?id=54b739d62b&rtype=status
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LEGISLATION ENACTED 

ALASKA–2013 (Effective Date–January 2014) 

Alaska Statutes Chapter 18.15 Section 205 

ARIZONA–2014 (Effective Date–July 2015) 

Arizona Revised Statutes Title 36 Section 694 

ARKANSAS–2013 (Effective Date–August 2013) 

Arkansas Code Title 20 Chapter 9 Subchapter 1 Section 103 

CALIFORNIA–2012 (Effective Date–July 2013) 

California Health and Safety Code Division 106 Part 2 Chapter 3 Article 6.6 

COLORADO–2015 (Effective Date–August 2015) 

 
Colorado Revised Statutes Title 25 Part 4 Section 1004.3 

CONNECTICUT–2012 (Effective Date–January 2013) 

General Statutes of Connecticut Title 19a Chapter 368a Section 19a-55(b)(2) 

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA–2015 (Effective Date–September 2015) 

 

District of Columbia Act 21-90 

FLORIDA –2013 

Florida 2013 Session Law: Chapter 2013-40 (Appropriations) 
* Chapter 2013-40 does not mandate newborn screening for CCHD. The law appropriates $155,592 in reoccurring 

funds and $50,000 in nonreoccurring funds for the inclusion of newborn screening for CCHD into the state’s newborn 

screening program. 

 

HAWAII–2015 (Effective Date–July 1, 2015) 

 
Hawaii Act 212 

 

ILLINOIS–2013 (Effective Date–January 1, 2014) 

http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/statutes.asp#18.15.205
http://www.azleg.gov/FormatDocument.asp?inDoc=/legtext/51leg/2R/laws/0171.htm&Session_ID=112
http://www.arkleg.state.ar.us/assembly/2013/2013R/Acts/Act768.pdf
http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/cgi-bin/displaycode?section=hsc&group=124001-125000&file=124121-124122
http://www.leg.state.co.us/clics/clics2015a/csl.nsf/fsbillcont/286E9EA74B6F022F87257DC6005A3188?Open&file=1281_enr.pdf
http://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_368a.htm#sec_19a-55
http://lims.dccouncil.us/Download/33199/B21-0006-SignedAct.pdf
http://www.cqstatetrack.com/texis/walks/fl/status.html?session=2013&number=1500
http://www.capitol.hawaii.gov/session2015/bills/HB467_SD1_.pdf
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Illinois Compiled Statutes Chapter 410 Section 1.10 

INDIANA–2011 (Effective Date–January 2012) 

Indiana Code Title 16 Article 41 Chapter 17 Section 2(b)    

INDIANA–2013  

Indiana Public Law 205 (Appropriations) 
*Appropriations for the state’s newborn screening program include funding for the implementation of newborn 

screening for CCHD. 

 

IOWA–2013 (Effective Date–July 2013) 

Iowa Code Title IV Chapter 136A Section 5A 

KENTUCKY–2013 (Effective Date–January 2014) 

Kentucky Revised Statutes Title XVIII – Public Health Chapter 214 Diseases Section 155 

LOUSIANA–2013 (Effective Date–August 2013) 

Louisiana Revised Statutes Title 40 Chapter 1300 Section 373 

 

MAINE– 2013 (Effective Date–July 2013) 

Maine Revised Statutes Annotated Title 22 Chapter 261-A Section 1532 

MARYLAND–2011 (Effective Date–July 2011) 

Maryland HEALTH-GENERAL Code Annotated Section 13-111 

MARYLAND–2015 (Effective Date–June 2015) 

Maryland Chapter Law 393 
*Requires direct entry midwives to perform newborn screening for CCHD. If they are unable to perform screening, they 

must refer the newborn to a pediatrician to be screened between 24 and 48 hours after birth. 

MASSACHUSETTS–2014 (Effective Date–January 2015) 

Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 111 Section 110C 

http://www.ilga.gov/legislation/ilcs/ilcs3.asp?ActID=1546&ChapterID=35
https://iga.in.gov/documents/fd584055
http://www.state.in.us/legislative/bills/2013/HE/HE1001.1.html
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/section/2014/136A.5A.pdf
http://www.lrc.ky.gov/statutes/statute.aspx?id=42713
http://www.legis.state.la.us/lss/lss.asp?doc=861027
http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/22/title22sec1532.html
http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/22/title22sec1532.html
http://legiscan.com/MD/text/SB786/id/328115
http://legiscan.com/MD/text/SB786/id/328115
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/2015RS/bills/hb/hb0009e.pdf
http://www.trendtrack.com/texis/walks/ma/text.html?billnum=SB1919
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MINNESOTA–2013 (Effective Date–August 2013) 

Minnesota Statutes Chapter 144 Section 1251  

MISSOURI–2013 (Effective Date–January 2014)  

Missouri Revised Statutes Title XII Chapter 191 Section 334  

NEBRASKA–2013 (Effective Date–September 2013) 

Newborn Critical Congenital Heart Disease Screening Act 

NEVADA–2013 (Effective Date–July 2015) 

Nevada Revised Statutes Chapter 442 Section 680  

NEW HAMPSHIRE–2012 (Effective Date–August 2012) 

New Hampshire Revised Statutes Title X Public Health Chapter 132 Section 10aa 

NEW JERSEY–2011 (Effective Date–October 2011) 

New Jersey Revised Statutes Title 26 Section 2-111.3-.4 

 

NEW MEXICO–2014 (Effective Date–May 2014) 

New Mexico Statutes Chapter 24 Article 1-6  

NEW YORK–2013 (Effective Date–January 2014) 

New York Public Health Law Section 2500-a 

NORTH CAROLINA–2013 (Effective Date–May 2013) 

North Carolina General Statutes Chapter 130A Section 125 

NORTH DAKOTA–2013 (Effective Date–August 2013) 

North Dakota Century Code Title 25 Chapter 17 Section 6   

 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=144.1251
http://www.moga.mo.gov/statutes/C100-199/1910000334.HTM
http://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=71-556
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-442.html#NRS442Sec680
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/X/132/132-10-aa.htm
http://www.njleg.state.nj.us/2010/Bills/PL11/74_.HTM
http://www.njleg.state.nj.us/2010/Bills/PL11/74_.HTM
http://www.cqstatetrack.com/texis/redir?id=52e1ef5711ea&rtype=text
http://law.justia.com/codes/new-york/2013/pbh/article-25/title-1/2500-a/
http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/enactedlegislation/statutes/html/bychapter/chapter_130a.html
http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/enactedlegislation/statutes/html/bychapter/chapter_130a.html
http://www.legis.nd.gov/cencode/t25c17.pdf
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OHIO–2013 (Effective Date–September 2013) 

Ohio Revised Code Title XXXVII Chapter 3701 Section 5010 

OKLAHOMA–2013 (Effective Date–July 2013) 

Oklahoma Statutes Title 63 Section 1-550.4 

OREGON–2013 (Effective Date–June 2013) 

Oregon Revised Statutes Chapter 433 Section 318 

PENNSYLVANIA–2014 (Effective September 2014) 

 

2014 Regular Session Act 94 

SOUTH CAROLINA–2013 (Effective Date–June 2013) 

South Carolina Code of Laws Title 44 Chapter 37 Section 70 

SOUTH DAKOTA–2013 (Effective Date–July 2013) 

South Dakota Codified Law Title 34 Chapter 24 Section 32 

TENNESSEE–2012 (Effective Date–January 2013) 

Tennessee Code Annotated Title 68 Chapter 5 Part 5 Section 507 

TEXAS–2013 (Effective Date–September 2013) 

Texas Health and Safety Code Title 2 Chapter 33 Section 33.011 

UTAH–2013 (Effective Date–October 2014) 

Utah Code Title 26 Chapter 10 Section 6 

VIRGINIA–2014 (Effective Date–July 2014) 

Code of Virginia Title 32.1 Chapter 2 Section 65.1 

WASHINGTON–2015 (Effective Date–July 2015) 

Revised Code of Washington Title 70 Section 83  

http://codes.ohio.gov/orc/3701.5010
https://www.sos.ok.gov/documents/legislation/54th/2013/1R/HB/1347.pdf
https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/lawsstatutes/2013ors433.html
http://www.legis.state.pa.us/cfdocs/legis/li/uconsCheck.cfm?yr=2014&sessInd=0&act=94
http://www.scstatehouse.gov/code/t44c037.php
http://legis.sd.gov/Statutes/Codified_Laws/DisplayStatute.aspx?Type=Statute&Statute=34-24-32
http://state.tn.us/sos/acts/107/pub/pc0556.pdf
http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/HS/htm/HS.33.htm
http://le.utah.gov/code/TITLE26/htm/26_10_000600.htm
http://le.utah.gov/code/TITLE26/htm/26_10_000600.htm
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?141+ful+HB387ER
http://lawfilesext.leg.wa.gov/biennium/2015-16/Pdf/Bills/House%20Passed%20Legislature/1285-S.PL.pdf
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WEST VIRGINIA–2012 (Effective Date–June 2012) 

Code of West Virginia 1931 Chapter 16 Part 44 Section 1-2 

WISCONSIN–2014 (Effective Date–March 2014) 

Wisconsin Statutes and Annotations Chapter 253 Section 13 (1) 
*Chapter 253 Section 13 (1) does not require newborn screening for CCHD; it gives authority to the WI Department of 

Health to add new conditions to the state’s newborn screening panel. 

 

LEGISLATION FAILED 

KANSAS 
KS HB 2239 Committee on Judiciary  
Newborn screening for critical congenital heart disease. 

 

RHODE ISLAND 
RI H 5757 Rep. Joseph Solomon (DEM-RI)  
AN ACT RELATING TO HEALTH AND SAFETY -- MATERNAL AND CHILD HEALTH SERVICES FOR CHILDREN 

WITH SPECIAL HEALTH CARE NEEDS (Requires all birthing facilities to perform a pulse oximetry screening 

within twenty-four (24) hours of the birth of every newborn in its care.) 

This act would require all birthing facilities to perform a pulse oximetry screening within 1 twenty-four (24) 

hours of the birth of every newborn in its care. 2 This act would take effect upon passage. 3 

 

CQ StateTrack 

EXECUTIVE ORDER 

VIRGINIA–2012  

Executive Directive 4 (2012) 

REGULATIONS/GUIDANCE/OTHER 

ALABAMA–2012/2013 (Effective Date–May 2013) 

Alabama Department of Public Health: Hospital Guidelines for Implementing Pulse Oximetry Screening for 

Critical Congenital Heart Disease 

 

http://www.legis.state.wv.us/WVCODE/Code.cfm?chap=16&art=44#44
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/2013/related/acts/135
http://www.cqstatetrack.com/texis/statetrack/insession/insession/+JeDhvrYeLLhwwww-Bmbe1cDVwwwwe6twwwwwww6FqtGncdwmewG1qmhwwwwwww/+/nodisplay/infopage
javascript:void(0)
http://www.cqstatetrack.com/texis/redir?id=54d2d4301b9&rtype=text&original=y
http://www.cqstatetrack.com/texis/statetrack/insession/insession/+ye4hJFToeVxwwww-BmeDNOse1xwwwwe0xwwwwwww6FqtGncdwmewG1qm1wwwwwww/+/nodisplay/infopage
javascript:void(0)
http://www.cqstatetrack.com/texis/redir?id=54f189cd5e&rtype=text&original=y
http://www.cqstatetrack.com/texis/redir?id=54f189cd5e&rtype=text&original=y
http://www.cqstatetrack.com/texis/redir?id=54f189cd5e&rtype=text&original=y
http://www.governor.virginia.gov/PolicyOffice/ExecutiveDirectives/pdf/Directive-4.pdf
http://www.adph.org/newbornscreening/assets/FHS.NBS.CCHDGuidelines.0312.na.pdf
http://www.adph.org/newbornscreening/assets/FHS.NBS.CCHDGuidelines.0312.na.pdf
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Alabama State Board of Health Regulations: 420-10-1-.03 Designation of Additional Heritable Diseases 

(Adopted May 17, 2013) 

DELAWARE–2013 (Effective Date–May 2013) 

Delaware Division of Public Health: 4107 Screening of Newborn Infants for Metabolic, Hematologic, 

Endocrinologic, and Certain Structural Disorders  

FLORIDA–2014 (Effective Date–October 2014) 

Florida Department of Health – Addition of CCHD to Newborn Screening Panel  

GEORGIA–2014 (Effective Date–May 2014) 

Georgia Department of Public Health: Rules of Department of Public Health Chapter 511-5-5 Georgia 

Newborn Screening Program 

IOWA–2012 (Effective Date–August 2012) 

Iowa Department of Public Health: Guidelines for Newborn Screening for Critical Congenital Heart Disease 

MASSACHUSETTS–2013 (Effective Date–May 2013) 

Massachusetts Department of Public Health: #13-5-590 Screening for Critical Congenital Heart Disease in 

Newborns 

MASSACHUSETTS–2015 (Effective Date–October 2014) 

Massachusetts Department of Health: 105 CMR 130.000, Hospital Licensure and 105 CMR 142.000 

Operation and Maintenance of Birth Centers 

MICHIGAN–2013 (Effective Date–April 2014) 

Michigan Department of Community Health: Guidelines for Implementing CCHD Screening Tool-kit 

Michigan Department of Community Health: Addition to Mandated Newborn Screening Panel/Newborn 

Screening Panel 

MISSISIPPI–2014 (Effective Date–November 2014) 

Mississippi Department of Health: Mississippi Administrative Code Title 15 Mississippi Department of 

Health Part 4 Office of Health Services Chapter 1 Newborn Screening and Birth Defects Registry (Adopted 

October 17, 2014) 

http://www.adph.org/newbornscreening/assets/NBSRULEChange6213.pdf
http://www.alabamaadministrativecode.state.al.us/UpdatedMonthly/AAM-MAY-13/CR-MAY-2013.pdf
http://regulations.delaware.gov/AdminCode/title16/Department%20of%20Health%20and%20Social%20Services/Division%20of%20Public%20Health/Family%20Health%20Services/4107.shtml
http://regulations.delaware.gov/AdminCode/title16/Department%20of%20Health%20and%20Social%20Services/Division%20of%20Public%20Health/Family%20Health%20Services/4107.shtml
http://www.floridahealth.gov/healthy-people-and-families/childrens-health/newborn-screening/
http://rules.sos.state.ga.us/cgi-bin/jump.cgi?ID=17475&d=1
http://rules.sos.state.ga.us/cgi-bin/jump.cgi?ID=17475&d=1
http://www.idph.state.ia.us/genetics/common/pdf/guidelines_newborn_screening.pdf
http://www.mass.gov/eohhs/docs/dph/quality/hcq-circular-letters/2013/dhcq-1305590.pdf
http://www.mass.gov/eohhs/docs/dph/quality/hcq-circular-letters/2013/dhcq-1305590.pdf
http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=1&ved=0CB8QFjAA&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.mass.gov%2Fcourts%2Fdocs%2Flawlib%2F104-105cmr%2F105cmr142.pdf&ei=3ecSVbuYJISQyQTD64HIDg&usg=AFQjCNEfuLOiF0I9RqTnjRvWf-bg5IEfGw&sig2=fIZYcC7nXiGWvgwh2Y6CSw&bvm=bv.89217033,d.aWw&cad=rja
http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=1&ved=0CB8QFjAA&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.mass.gov%2Fcourts%2Fdocs%2Flawlib%2F104-105cmr%2F105cmr142.pdf&ei=3ecSVbuYJISQyQTD64HIDg&usg=AFQjCNEfuLOiF0I9RqTnjRvWf-bg5IEfGw&sig2=fIZYcC7nXiGWvgwh2Y6CSw&bvm=bv.89217033,d.aWw&cad=rja
http://www.michigan.gov/documents/mdch/CCHD_Updated_July_2013KU_sm_431614_7.pdf
http://www.michigan.gov/mdch/0,4612,7-132-8347-313610--,00.html
http://www.michigan.gov/mdch/0,1607,7-132-2947-233939--,00.html
http://www.michigan.gov/mdch/0,1607,7-132-2947-233939--,00.html
http://www.sos.ms.gov/ACProposed/00020841b.pdf
http://www.sos.ms.gov/ACProposed/00020841b.pdf
http://www.sos.ms.gov/ACProposed/00020841a.pdf
http://www.sos.ms.gov/ACProposed/00020841a.pdf
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MONTANA–2014 (Effective Date–July 2014) 

Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services: Montana Administrative Register Notice 37-

677–Proposed Amendments to Administrative Rules of Montana Pertaining to Newborn Screenings and 

Follow-up of Failed Screenings (Adopted June 26, 2014) 

PENNSYLVANIA–2013 (Effective Date–March 2013) 

Pennsylvania Department of Health: Addition of Disease to the Newborn Screening and Follow-Up Program 

RHODE ISLAND–2014 (Effective Date–July 2015) 

Rhode Island Department of Health: Rules and Regulations Pertaining to the Newborn Metabolic, 

Endocrine, and Hemoglobinopathy Screening Program and the Newborn Hearing Loss Screening Program 

(Adopted August 12, 2014) 

Rhode Island Department of Health: Newborn Pulse Oximetry Screening Information for Healthcare 

Providers 

TENNESSEE–2013 (Effective Date–May 2013) 

Tennessee Department of Health: Rules of Tennessee Department of Health, Family Health and Wellness, 

Material & Child Health Chapter 1200-15-01 Newborn Hearing Testing, Screening for Metabolic/Genetic 

Disorders and Critical Congenital Heart Disease  

WISCONSIN–2014 (Effective Date–July 2014) 

Wisconsin Department of Health Services: Emergency Rule Issued to Add Critical Congenital Heart Disease 

to Newborn Screening 

Wisconsin Department of Health Services: Emergency Rule 1410 Order of the Department of Health 

Services to Adopt Emergency Rules  

http://www.mtrules.org/gateway/ShowNoticeFile.asp?TID=5579
http://www.mtrules.org/gateway/ShowNoticeFile.asp?TID=5579
http://www.mtrules.org/gateway/ShowNoticeFile.asp?TID=5579
http://www.mtrules.org/gateway/ShowNoticeFile.asp?TID=5579
http://www.pabulletin.com/secure/data/vol42/42-48/2327.html
http://sos.ri.gov/documents/archives/regdocs/released/pdf/DOH/7798.pdf
http://sos.ri.gov/documents/archives/regdocs/released/pdf/DOH/7798.pdf
http://sos.ri.gov/documents/archives/regdocs/released/pdf/DOH/7798.pdf
http://www.health.ri.gov/newbornscreening/pulseoximetry/for/providers/
http://www.health.ri.gov/newbornscreening/pulseoximetry/for/providers/
http://www.tn.gov/sos/rules/1200/1200-15/1200-15-01.20130531doc.pdf
http://www.tn.gov/sos/rules/1200/1200-15/1200-15-01.20130531doc.pdf
http://www.tn.gov/sos/rules/1200/1200-15/1200-15-01.20130531doc.pdf
http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=1&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=0CB8QFjAA&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.dhs.wisconsin.gov%2Fhealth%2Fchildren%2Fnewbornscreening%2FNBSletter070314.pdf&ei=7gm8U_i0M6mG8QGPrYDQCA&usg=AFQjCNFnSjQ0i56Kbs6OX7up3CyqkFiR_w&sig2=FGNhiYx4sWrSoPWz_BhjIw&bvm=bv.70138588,d.b2U
http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=1&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=0CB8QFjAA&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.dhs.wisconsin.gov%2Fhealth%2Fchildren%2Fnewbornscreening%2FNBSletter070314.pdf&ei=7gm8U_i0M6mG8QGPrYDQCA&usg=AFQjCNFnSjQ0i56Kbs6OX7up3CyqkFiR_w&sig2=FGNhiYx4sWrSoPWz_BhjIw&bvm=bv.70138588,d.b2U
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/emergency_rules/current/emr1410
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/emergency_rules/current/emr1410

