Skip directly to search Skip directly to A to Z list Skip directly to navigation Skip directly to page options Skip directly to site content

HHS Agency Offices of Minority Health

The Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) is the United States government’s principal agency for protecting the health of all Americans and providing essential human services, especially for those who are least able to help themselves.

The Department’s programs are administered by HHS Operating Divisions, including agencies in the U.S. Public Health Service and human services agencies.

The Patient Protection & Affordable Care Act (ACA) required the establishment of Offices of Minority Health within six agencies of HHS:

  1. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)
  2. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
  3. Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS)
  4. Food & Drug Administration (FDA)
  5. Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA)
  6. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA)

See below to find out more on HHS Offices of Minority Health.