Skip directly to search Skip directly to A to Z list Skip directly to navigation Skip directly to page options Skip directly to site content

Minority Health Events

Webinar: Understanding Health Disparities in Rural America - Insights from the CDC MMWR Rural Health Series

Did you know rural racial and ethnic minorities are less likely to have a usual source of care? These and other unique health challenges experienced by rural racial and ethnic populations are often overlooked in conversations on rural health. The recent MMWR report, Racial/Ethnic Health Disparities Among Rural Adults – United States, 2012-2015 looked at health disparities among rural racial and ethnic groups. Join authors of the report from the CMS Office of Minority Health and CDC Office of Minority Health and Health Equity as they provide an overview of racial and ethnic health disparities in rural communities, including indicators such as health-related quality of life and chronic health conditions. CMS and CDC will be joined by two FORHP Outreach grantees who will share how they are working to address racial and ethnic disparities in their communities. The presentation will also provide resources to help improve the quality of care provided to all individuals, reduce disparities, and achieve health equity.

Date: Monday, December 18, 2017
Time: 11:00am Pacific, 12:00pm Mountain, 1:00pm Central, 2:00pm Eastern
Duration: approximately 60 minutes

Registration

This webinar is free. High-speed internet is required to participate. A recording will be available on our website after the live event. Connection details will be emailed to you immediately upon registration.

Hispanic Heritage Month Webinar

Getting Data Right – and Righteous to Improve Hispanic or Latino Health

Webinar Slides – Getting Data Right to Improve Hispanic or Latino Health [PDF – 2 MB]

Featuring
Alfonso Rodríguez Lainz, PhD, DVM, MPVM, CDC Division of Global Migration and Quarantine, U.S.-Mexico Unit

October 3, 2017
1:00-2:00 p.m. ET

TOP