Contributors and Acknowledgements


Healthcare Infection Control Practices Advisory Committee (HICPAC)

HICPAC Members:

Deverick Anderson, MD, MPH, Duke University Medical Center; Hilary M. Babcock, MD, MPH, Washington University School of Medicine in St Louis; Vickie M. Brown, RN, MPH, WakeMed Health & Hospitals; Kristina Bryant, MD, University of Louisville School of Medicine; Vineet Chopra, MBBS, MD, MSc, FACP, FHM, The University of Michigan Health System; Nicholas Daniels, MD, MPH, University of California, San Diego; Elaine Dekker, Priscilla Chan and Mark Zuckerberg San Francisco General Hospital & Trauma Center; Daniel J. Diekema, MD, University of Iowa Carver College of Medicine; Loretta L. Fauerbach, MS, CIC, Fauerbach & Associates, LLC; Michael D. Howell, MD, MPH, Google Research, Google; W. Charles Huskins, MD, MSc, Mayo Clinic College of Medicine; Lynn Janssen, MS, California Department of Public Health; Lisa Maragakis, MD, MPH, The Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine; Jan Patterson, MD, University of Texas Health Science Center, San Antonio; Michael Anne Preas, RN, University of Maryland Medical Center; Selwyn O. Rogers Jr, MD, MPH, The University of Chicago; Sheri Chernetsky Tejedor, MD, Emory University School of Medicine; Deborah S. Yokoe, MD, MPH, University of California, San Francisco

HICPAC ex officio Members:

Yvonne Chow, MPP, Health Resources & Services Administration; Elizabeth Claverie-Williams, MS, U.S. Food & Drug Administration; David Henderson, MD, National Institutes of Health; Stephen Kralovic, MD, MPH, U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs; Melissa Miller, BSN, MD, MS, Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality; Gary Roselle, MD, U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs; Daniel Schwartz, MD, MBA, Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services; Judith Trawick, Health Resources & Services Administration

HICPAC Liaison Representatives:

Darlene Carey, MSN, RN, Association of Professionals of Infection Control and Epidemiology, Inc.; Paul T. Conway, American Association of Kidney Patients; Craig Coopersmith, MD, Society of Critical Care Medicine; Karen deKay, MSN, RN, Association of periOperative Registered Nurses; Elaine Dekker, RN, BSN, America’s Essential Hospitals; Louise M. Dembry, MD, MS, MBA, Society for Healthcare Epidemiology of America; Kathleen Dunn, BScN, MN, RN, Public Health Agency of Canada; Kristen Ehresmann, RN, MPH, Association of State and Territorial Health Officials; Maryellen Guinan, Esq, America’s Essential Hospitals; Marion Kainer, MD, MPH, Council of State and Territorial Epidemiologists; Jason Kane, MD, Society for Critical Care Medicine; Alan Kliger, MD, American Society of Nephrology; Jacqueline Lawler, MPH, National Association of County and City Health Officials; Chris Lombardozzi, MD, America’s Essential Hospitals; Emily Lutterloh, MD, Association of State and Territorial Health Officials; Lisa McGiffert, Consumers Union; Sharon Morgan, RN, American Nurses Association; Dana Nguyen, BSN, RN, National Association of County and City Health Officials; Silvia Quevedo, CCC-SLP, CAE, Association of Professionals of Infection Control and Epidemiology, Inc.; Mark Russi, MD, MPH, American College of Occupational and Environmental Medicine; Robert G. Sawyer, MD, Surgical Infection Society; Christa Schorr, DNP, MSN, Society for Critical Care Medicine; Andrea Shane, MD, MPH, Pediatric Infectious Disease Society; Kathryn Spates, The Joint Commission; Linda Spaulding, RN, DNVGL; Lisa Spruce, RN, DNP, Association of PeriOperative Registered Nurses; Lisa Tomlinson, Association of Professionals of Infection Control and Epidemiology; Margaret VanAmringe, MHS, Joint Commission; Valerie Vaughn, MD, Society of Hospital Medicine; Stephen Weber, MD, Infectious Diseases Society of America; Amber Wood, MSN, RN, Association of PeriOperative Registered Nurses


In addition to the contributors for each section of this Guideline Update, the authors wish to thank: Michael L. Tapper, MD, Lenox Hill Hospital, New York, NY; Michael Bell, MD, Division of Healthcare Quality Promotion (DHQP), National Center for Emerging and Zoonotic Infectious Diseases (NCEZID), CDC; Erin Stone, MA, DHQP, NCEZID, CDC; Anna Acosta, MD, Division Of Bacterial Diseases (DBD), National Center For Immunization And Respiratory Diseases (NCIRD), CDC; Fiona Havers, MS, MHS, DBD, NCIRD, CDC; Sarah Mbaeyi, MD, MPH, DBD, NCIRD, CDC; Tami H. Skoff, MS, DBD, NCIRD, CDC; Tejpratap Tiwari, MD, DBD, NCIRD, CDC; Chris A. Van Beneden, MD, MPH, DBD, NCIRD, CDC