Skip directly to search Skip directly to A to Z list Skip directly to navigation Skip directly to page options Skip directly to site content

CDC Consultations on Determination of Need Requests

Under the Consolidated Appropriation Act of 2016, federal law permits use of funds from the Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) to support syringe service programs with the exception that funds may not be used to purchase needles or syringes. In order to use DHHS funds for this purpose, eligible state, local, tribal, and territorial health departments must first consult with CDC and provide evidence that their jurisdiction is experiencing or at risk for significant increases in hepatitis infections or an HIV outbreak due to injection drug use. The table below lists jurisdictions that have consulted CDC and have been determined to have adequately demonstrated need according to federal law, along with contact information for the point of contact regarding the determination of need for that jurisdiction.

Number of jurisdictions that have submitted request for CDC consultation: 29

Jurisdictions Determined to be Experiencing or At-risk of Significant Increases in Hepatitis Infection or an HIV Outbreak Due to Injection Drug Use Following CDC Consultation

State
(cities and counties, if applicable)
Date of CDC concurrence Jurisdictional point of contact Email
Alaska statewide January 18, 2017 Susan A. Jones susan.jones@alaska.gov
California statewide August 12, 2016 Alessandra Ross Alessandra.Ross@cdph.ca.gov
Colorado statewide June 10, 2016 Andrés Guerrero andres.guerrero@state.co.us
Connecticut statewide April 5, 2017 Marianne Buchelli Marianne.Buchelli@ct.gov
Delaware (select counties)
  • Kent County
December 2, 2016 Bob Vella robert.vella@state.de.us
  • Sussex County
December 2, 2016 Bob Vella robert.vella@state.de.us
Indiana statewide October 7, 2016 Dennis Stover DStover@isdh.IN.gov
Kentucky statewide September 9, 2016 Karen Sams Karen.Sams@ky.gov
Louisiana statewide January 18, 2017 Sam Burgess samuel.burgess@la.gov
Maryland statewide June 17, 2016 Kip Castner jeffrey.hitt@maryland.gov
Massachusetts statewide June 17, 2016 Annette Rockwell or Dawn Fukuda Annette.Rockwell@state.ma.us, dawn.fukuda@massnail.state.ma.us
Michigan statewide June 10, 2016 Joe Coyle coylej@michigan.gov
Minnesota statewide August 19, 2016 Kathy Chinn kathy.chinn@state.mn.us
New Jersey statewide June 17, 2016 Errol Saunders Errol.Saunders@doh.nj.gov
Ohio (select counties)
  • Cuyahoga County
December 2, 2016 Terry Allan Tallan@ccbh.net
Pennsylvania statewide June 24, 2016 Charlie Howsare chowshare@pa.gov
Rhode Island statewide December 2, 2016 Jamie Comella Jaime.Comella@health.ri.gov
Utah statewide June 17, 2016 Heather Bush hbush@utah.gov
Vermont statewide June 17, 2016 Patsy Kelso patsy.kelso@vermont.gov
Washington statewide June 17, 2016 Tim Candela tim.candela@doh.wa.gov
Virginia statewide March 22, 2017 pending pending
West Virginia statewide
  • Berkeley County
June 10, 2016 Sandy Graham or Pam Reynolds sandra.j.graham@wv.gov, pamela.s.reynolds@wv.gov
  • Cabell County and City of Huntington
September 9, 2016 Michael E. Kilkenny Michael.E.Kilkenny@wv.gov
  • Kanawha County
June 17, 2016 Sandy Graham or Pam Reynolds sandra.j.graham@wv.gov, pamela.s.reynolds@wv.gov
  • All other counties
April 14, 2017 Sandy Graham or Pam Reynolds sandra.j.graham@wv.gov, pamela.s.reynolds@wv.gov
Wisconsin statewide September 9, 2016 Jim Vergeront james.vergeront@wisconsin.gov

Information current as of April 24, 2017.

TOP