EGAPP™ Steering Committee

The EGAPP™ steering committee was established in October 2004 by CDC’s Office of Public Health Genomics (OPHG) to provide a broader perspective on the EGAPP™ Initiative. The steering committee helps to recruit and select members for the EGAPP™ Working Group.

The steering committee members are from CDC and other agencies (e.g., Agency for Healthcare Quality Research, National Institute of Health, Health Resources and Services Administration, Food and Drug Administration, Center for Medicare and Medicaid Services). Members are appointed by OPHG.


  • Muin Khoury, MD, PhD – Office of Public Health Genomics, CDC
  • Robert L. Becker – In-Vitro Diagnostics Device Evaluation and Safety, FDA
  • Amber Berrian – Center for Quality, HRSA
  • Barbara A. Bowman, PhD – National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention & Health Promotion, CDC
  • Peter Briss, PhD – Coordinating Center for Environmental Health and Injury Prevention, CDC
  • Sara Copeland, MD – Genetic Services Branch, HRSA
  • Gregory Downing, MD – Coordinator-HHS Personalized Health Care Initiative
  • W. Gregory Feero MD, PhD – National Human Genome Research Institute, NIH
  • Andrea Ferreira-Gonzalez, PhD – Liaison, Secretary’s Advisory Committee on Genetics, Health, and Society
  • Andrew N. Freedman, PhD – Division of Cancer Control and Population Sciences, NCI
  • Althea M. Grant, MPH, PhD – National Center on Birth Defects & Developmental Disabilities, CDC
  • Scott Grosse, PhD – National Center on Birth Defects & Developmental Disabilities, CDC
  • R. Rodney Howell, MD – Liaison, Chair, Advisory Committee on Heritable Disorders and Genetic Diseases in Newborns and Children
  • Paul L. Kimmel, PhD – National Institute of Diabetes, Digestive and Kidney Diseases, NIH
  • Rochelle M. Long, PhD – National Institute of General Medical Sciences, NIH
  • Ira Lubin, PhD – National Center for Preparedness, Detection and Control of Infectious Diseases
  • Elizabeth A. Mansfield, PhD – Office of Chief Scientist, FDA
  • Shawna Mercer, PhD, MS – Community Guide, CDC
  • Gurvaneet Randhawa, MD, MPH – Center for Outcomes and Evidence, AHRQ
  • Jeffrey Roche, MD, MPH – Coverage and Anlysis Group/OCSQ/CMS
  • Pauline Sieverding, PhD, JD, MPA – Department of Veterans Affairs
  • Issam Zineh, PharmD, MPH – Office of Clinical Pharmacology, FDA


AHRQ = Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
CDC = Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
FDA = Food and Drug Administration
HRSA = Health Resources and Services Administration
NCI = National Cancer Institute
NIH = National Institutes of Health

Page last reviewed: October 21, 2011 (archived document)