Improved Surveillance

The Food Safety Modernization Act (FSMA) enhances CDC’s surveillance responsibilities.  CDC is charged with these tasks:

  • Coordinating and integrating federal, state, and local foodborne illness surveillance systems
  • Increasing participation in national networks
  • Facilitating the timely sharing of information
  • Developing improved epidemiology and laboratory tools
  • Improving attribution of illness to specific foods
Surveillance Working Group

As part of enhanced surveillance responsibilities, CDC established a Food Safety Surveillance Working Group consisting of 21 representatives from the Board of Scientific Counselors, CDC, U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA), U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA), academia, consumer groups, industry, and state and local health departments. The working group provides advice and recommendations on possible improvements to foodborne illness surveillance to CDC, FDA and the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS).  Each year, the working group develops a public report for the HHS Secretary.