DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES CENTERS FOR DISEASE CONTROL AND PREVENTION

Board of Scientific Counselors, National Center for Injury Prevention and Control

2019

CHAIR

Victoria Frye, Dr.P.H., M.P.H. Associate Medical Professor Department of Community Health and Social Medicine Sophie Davis School of Medicine, City College of NY New York, NY

Term: 9/16/2018 - 8/31/2020

Daniel J. Whitaker, Ph.D Professor, School of Public Health Mark Chaffin Center for Healthy Development Georgia State University Atlanta, GA

Term: 10/31/2018 - 8/31/2020

DESIGNATED FEDERAL OFFICER

Gwen Cattledge Ph.D.

MEMBERS

Donna Holland Barnes, Ph.D. Associate Professor Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences **Howard University** Washington, DC Term: 8/30/2018 - 8/31/2020

Phillip Oliver Coffin, M.D. Director of Substance Use Research Center of Public Health Research San Francisco Department of Public Health San Francisco, CA Term: 1/31/2017 - 8/31/2020

R. Dawn Comstock, Ph.D. Associate Professor, Dept. of Epidemiology Colorado School of Public Health University of Colorado Denver Aurora, CO Term: 2/9/2017 - 8/31/2019

Kermit A. Crawford, Ph.D. Associate Clinical Professor in Psychiatry Department of Psychiatry Boston University School of Medicine Boston, MA

Term: 1/31/2017 - 8/31/2020

MEMBERS

Chinazo O. Cunningham, M.D. Professor of Medicine Division of General Internal Medicine Albert Einstein College of Medicine Bronx, NY

Elizabeth Eckstrom, M.D., M.P.H. Associate Professor of Medicine Div. of General Internal Medicine & Geriatrics L475 Oregon Health & Science University Portland, OR

Term: 1/31/2017 - 8/31/2019

Frank A. Franklin, Ph.D., J.D., M.P.H. Principal Epidemiologist and Director Community Epidemiology Services Multnomah County Health Department Portland, OR

Term: 9/1/2018 - 8/31/2022

Kevin M. Guskiewicz, Ph.D.

Dean

College of Arts and Sciences University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill Chapel Hill, NC

Term: 9/1/2018 - 8/31/2022

James H. Hedlund, Ph.D.

Principal

Highway Safety North

Ithaca, NY

Term: 1/30/2017 - 8/31/2020

Todd I. Herrenkohl, Ph.D. Professor and Co-Director 3DL Partnership School of Social Work Univeristy of Washington Seattle, WA

Term: 10/16/2018 - 8/31/2020

Mark S. Kaplan, Dr.P.H. Professor of Social Welfare Department of Social Welfare, Luskin School of Public Affairs University of California at Los Angeles Los Angeles, CA Term: 9/1/2018 - 8/31/2022

Karen D. Liller, Ph.D.

Professor

College of Public Health, Dept. of Community and Family Health

University of South Florida

Tampa, FL

Term: 9/1/2018 - 8/31/2022

MEMBERS

David C. Schwebel, Ph.D.

Prof. of Psy & Assoc. Dean for Research in the Sciences

College of Arts and Sciences

University of Alabama at Birmingham

Birmingham, AL

Term: 2/3/2017 - 8/31/2020

Deborah Daro Tuggle, Ph.D. Senior Research Fellow Chapin Hall University of Chicago Chicago, IL

Term: 1/30/2017 - 8/31/2019

Federico E. Vaca, M.D., M.P.H. Professor and Vice Chair of Faculty Affairs Department of Emergency Medicine Yale University School of Medicine New Haven, CT

Term: 2/10/2017 - 8/31/2019

EX OFFICIO MEMBER(S)

Melissa Lim Brodowski, Ph.D. Senior Policy Analyst Office of the Deputy Assist. Sec. for Early Childhood Dev. Administration for Children and Families (ACF) Washintgon, DC

Dawn Castillo, M.P.H. (NIOSH alternate)
Director, Division of Safety Research
National Institute of Occupational Safety and Health
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Morgantown, WV

Mindy Chai, Ph.D., J.D. Health Science Policy Analyst Office of Science Policy, Planning and Communication NIH National Institute of Mental Health (alternate) Bethesda, MD

Wilson M. Compton, M.D., M.P.E. Deputy Director National Institute on Drug Abuse/NIH Bethesda, MD

Elizabeth A. Edgerton, M.D., M.P.H. Branch Chief, EMSC and Injury Prevention Maternal and Child Health Bureau Health Resources and Services Administration Rockville, MD

Jennifer Fan, J.D., Pharm.D.
Pharmacist/Public Health Advisory
CSAP/Office of the Director
HHS/Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration
Rockville. MD

Meredith A. Fox, Ph.D.
Chief, Science Policy and Evaluation Branch
Office Science Policy, Planning and Communications
National Institute of Mental Health, NIH
Bethesda, MD

Holly Hedegaard, M.D., M.S.P.H. Senior Service Fellow Office of Analysis and Epidemiology National Center for Health Statistics Hyattsville, MD

John Howard, M.D. Director National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Washington, DC

EX OFFICIO MEMBER(S)

Calvin C. Johnson, Ph.D.
Deputy Assistant Secretary
Office of Research, Evaluating and Monitoring /Policy Dev. and Research
Dept of Housing and Urban and Development
Washington, DC

Lyndon J.O. Joseph, Ph.D. Health Scientist Administrator Division of Geriatrics and Clinical Gerontology National Institute on Aging Bethesda, MD

Jinhee J. Lee, PharmD.
Senior Public Health Advisor
Division of Pharmacologic Therapies/Center For Substance Abuse and Treatment
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Adminstration
Rockville, MD

Amy C. Leffler, Ph.D. Social Science Analyst National Institute of Justice Department of Justice Washington, DC

Iris Mabry-Hernandez, M.D., M.P.H.
Medical Officer/Senior Advisor for Obesity Initiatives
Center for Primary Care, Prevention, and Clinical Partnerships
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
Rockville, MD

Valerie Maholmes, Ph.D.

Chief

Pediatric Trauma and Critical Illness Branch National Institute of Child Health and Human Development Bethesda, MD

Constantinos I. Miskis, J.D.
Bi-Regional Director, Regions III & IV
Administration for Community Living, Office of Regional Operations
Administration on Aging, DHHS
Atlanta, GA

Angela M. Moore Parmley, Ph.D. (NIJ Alternate) Acting Director Office of Research and Evaluation National Institute of Justice Washtington, DC

Thomas John Schroeder, M.S. Statistician, Division Director Directorate for Epidemiology/Div of Hazard & Injury Data Systems U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission Bethesda, MD

EX OFFICIO MEMBER(S)

Ernest E Sullivent, MD, MPH
Medical Officer
US Preventive Services Taskforce
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality - Primary
Rockville, MD

Kelly M. Taylor, M.S., R.E.H.S. Director Division of Environmental Health Services Indian Health Service Rockville, MD

Maria E Vegega, Ph.D.
Chief, Occupant Protection Division
Office of Impaired Driving and Occupant Protection
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration/DOT
Washington, DC

LIAISON REPRESENTATIVE(S)