Public Health & Promoting Interoperability Programs (formerly, known as Electronic Health Records Meaningful Use)

Program Description and History

The American Reinvestment & Recovery Act (ARRA) was enacted on February 17, 2009. ARRA includes many measures to modernize our nation’s infrastructure, one of which is the “Health Information Technology for Economic and Clinical Health (HITECH) Act”. The HITECH Act supports the concept of Electronic Health Records

In The Spotlight

If you have questions or need more information, kindly send an email to

In-Focus (Click for more)

The Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC) is not a direct recipient of data from healthcare providers, the Eligible Professionals (EPs), the Eligible Hospitals (EHs), or Critical Access Hospitals (CAHs) for the Electronic Health Records (EHRs) Meaningful Use (MU) Medicare and Medicaid Incentive Programs, there is a new option per the final rule on modifications to Meaningful Use in 2015 through 2017; National Health Care Surveys can be used to meet the specialized registry public health reporting objective. EPs, EHs or CAHs can now use submission of data to CDC’s National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) for the National Health Care Surveys as one of the measures to meet their public health objectives requirements under the Electronic Health Record Incentive Programs.

EHR Meaningful Use Banner
Page last reviewed: September 11, 2019