Skip directly to search Skip directly to A to Z list Skip directly to navigation Skip directly to page options Skip directly to site content


On this Page

The Interagency Task Force on Antimicrobial Resistance (ITFAR) was created in 1999 to coordinate the activities of federal agencies in addressing antimicrobial resistance (AR) in recognition of the increasing importance of AR as a public health threat.

The Task Force is co-chaired by:

  • Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
  • Food and Drug Administration (FDA)
  • National Institutes of Health (NIH)

Membership also includes:

  • Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)
  • Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS)
  • Department of Agriculture (USDA)
  • Department of Defense (DoD)
  • Department of Veterans Affairs (VA)
  • Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
  • Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA)
  • Department of Health and Human Services Office of the Assistant Secretary for Preparedness and Response (HHS/ASPR)
  • Office of the Assistant Secretary for Health (HHS/OASH)

In 2001, the Task Force developed an initial Action Plan, entitled A Public Health Action Plan to Combat Antimicrobial Resistance, outlining specific issues, goals, and actions important for addressing the problem of AR.  The Action Plan has since been revised several times and  the most recent Action Plan can be found here.  All previous versions can be found in Archives.

 Top of Page


Task Force Co-Chairs

FDA/DHHSEdward M. Cox, Jr., MD, MPHOffice of Antimicrobial Products, CDER
 Patrick McDermott MS, PhDDirector, National Antimicrobial Resistance Monitoring System, CVM
NIH/DHHSDennis M. Dixon, PhDChief, Bacteriology and Mycology Branch, DMID/NIAID
 Jane M. Knisely, PhDProgram Officer, Bacteriology and Mycology Branch, DMID/NIAID
CDC/DHHSSteve Solomon, MDDirector, Office of Antimicrobial Resistance, DHQP/NCEZID
 Jean Patel, PhD, D(ABMM)Deputy Director, Office of Antimicrobial Resistance, DHQP/NCEZID

Agency/Department Representatives

AHRQ/DHHSWilliam. B. Baine, MDSenior Medical Advisor, Center for Outcomes and Evidence
ASPR/DHHSJoe Larsen, PhDChief, Broad Spectrum Antimicrobials (BSA) Program
CMS/OCSQKaren Nakano, M.D., M.S.Medical Officer, DHMM/QMHAG
HRSA/DHHSPaul D. Moore, DPhSenior Health Policy Advisor, Office of Rural Health Policy
OASH/DHHSDon Wright, M.D., M.P.H.Deputy Assistant Secretary for Healthcare Quality
USDAEileen Thacker, DVM, PhD, DACVMNational Program Leader, Animal Health
DoDJames F. Cummings, MD, FACP FIDSADirector, GEIS
DVAGary Roselle, MDDirector, VHA National Infectious Diseases Service (NIDS)
EPASusan Jennings, M.S.EPA Office of Pesticide Programs

Consulting Members

Wanda RussPolicy Analyst, Office of Executive Secretariat
Neena Anandaraman, DVM, MPH, DACVPMVeterinary Epidemiologist , Applied Epidemiology Division
Stephen Kralovic, MD, MPHDeputy Director, VHA National Infectious Diseases Service (NIDS)
Allison Kelly, MDAntimicrobial Stewardship Director, VHA National Infectious Diseases Service (NIDS)
Emil Lesho, DO, FACPDirector, MSRN, WRAIR
DoDPaige Waterman, MDAssistant Director, MSRN, WRAIR

 Top of Page


Archived Progress Report