Diabetes Education in Tribal Schools (DETS) Curriculum


The Health Is Life in Balance Diabetes Education in Tribal Schools K–12 curriculumexternal icon (search “DETS”) offers culturally relevant and scientifically based teachings in three sections: Grades K-4, 5-8, 9-12. The curriculum lessons are based on the 5 E’s of educational instruction: Engagement, Exploration, Explanation, Elaboration, and Evaluation. Lessons focus on:

  • Health
  • Type 1 and type 2 diabetes
  • Science
  • Community knowledge
  • Civic responsibility
  • Life in balance
  • Health professions

National Institutes of Healthexternal icon developed the curriculum in collaboration with eight tribal colleges and universities, the CDC Native Diabetes Wellness Program, and the Indian Health Service’s Division of Diabetes Treatment and Preventionexternal icon.

The K–4 DETS lessons include a set of the Eagle Books and an animated DVD. Additional DETS lessons for Grades 5–8, based on the Eagle Books youth novels, are included in the Youth Novels Educational Guide.

Page last reviewed: August 16, 2021