A1c: glycated hemoglobin (measure of blood glucose over 3 months)

AAA: Area Agencies on Aging

ADCES: Association of Diabetes Care & Education Specialists

ACO: Accountable Care Organization

ADA: American Diabetes Association

BC-ADM: Board-Certified Advanced Diabetes Management

CDC: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

CDE: Certified Diabetes Educator

CEU: Continuing Education Unit

CHW: Community Health Worker

CMS: Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services

CQI: Continuous Quality Improvement

DEAP: Diabetes Education Accreditation Program

DSME: Diabetes Self-Management Education

DSMES: Diabetes Self-Management Education and Support

DSMS: Diabetes Self-Management Support

DSMT: Diabetes Self-Management Training

ERP: Education Recognition Program

EHR: Electronic Health Record

EMR: Electronic Medical Record

FQHC: Federally-Qualified Health Center

HCPCS: Healthcare Common Procedure Coding System

MNT: Medical Nutrition Therapy

MSSP: Medicare Shared Savings Program

NCQA: National Committee for Quality Assurance

NPI: National Provider Identifier

NSDSME: National Standards for DSMES (2017)

PCMH: Patient-Centered Medical Home

PWD: Person with Diabetes

RD: Registered Dietitian

RHC: Rural Health Clinic

SMA: Shared Medical Appointment