CDC 2016 State, Local, and Tribal Grantees Map Text Description

Division for Heart Disease and Stroke Prevention’s (DHDSP) Program Development and Services Branch Chronic Disease Programs

Fiscal Year 2017

A map of the United States and U.S. territories showing funded initiatives by DHDSP to prevent, manage, and reduce risk factors associated with heart disease and stroke.

State public health actions are in place in all 50 states and the District of Columbia.

Local public health actions are taking place in 17 states and four city health departments, including California, Hawaii, Kansas, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Nebraska, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Utah, Virginia, and Washington State.

Good Health and Wellness in Indian Country Tribes and Tribal Organizations involves 12 tribes and 11 tribal organizations in Alaska, California, Idaho, Kansas, Montana, Nebraska, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Oregon, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, and Wisconsin.

Twelve Good Health and Wellness in Indian Country Tribal Epidemiology Centers are located in Arizona, California, Montana, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Oregon, South Dakota, Tennessee, Washington State, and Wisconsin.

Nineteen states are designated as WISEWOMAN States. (WISEWOMAN is an abbreviation for Well-Integrated Screening and Evaluation for WOMen Across the Nation.) These states include Alabama, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Michigan, Missouri, Nebraska, North Carolina, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Utah, Vermont, West Virginia, and Wisconsin.

Alaska has two WISEWOMAN Tribal Organizations: the Southcentral Foundation (SCF) and the Southeast Alaska Regional Health Consortium (SEARHC).

The YMCA of the USA Program is in 30 states, including Alabama, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Missouri, Nebraska, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Vermont, Virginia, Washington State, and Wisconsin. Some states have multiple participating YMCA programs. As of November 2017, there were 98 YMCA associations offering the program.

ASTHO (the Association of State and Territorial Health Officials) Heart Disease and Stroke Prevention Learning Collaborative States and Territories include 22 states (Alabama, Arkansas, Colorado, Connecticut, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, New Hampshire, New York, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, and Wisconsin); the District of Columbia; the Eastern Aleutian Tribes of Alaska; and territories of the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, Guam, Palau, and the U.S. Virgin Islands.

The Mississippi Delta Health Collaborative operates in the state of Mississippi.

Below the map are the logos of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.