Director (Acting): Nancy Messonnier
Dr. Nancy Messonnier

Nancy Messonnier, M.D. is the Acting Director of the Center for Preparedness and Response, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). Since beginning her public health career in 1995 as an Epidemic Intelligence Service Officer assigned to the National Center for Infectious Diseases, Dr. Messonnier has held a number of leadership posts across CDC. Her permanent position is Director of the National Center for Immunization and Respiratory Diseases (NCIRD), where she also served as Deputy Director from October 2014 through March 2016. She also led the Meningitis and Vaccine Preventable Diseases Branch in NCIRD’s Division of Bacterial Diseases since its formation in 2007 through 2012.

CPR Organization
2019 CPR Org Chart
CPR Leadership Team

Office of the Director

Division of Emergency Operations

  • Director (Acting): Deb Lubar, PhD
    • Emergency and Risk Communications Branch: Dagny E.P. Olivares, MPA
    • Resource Support Branch: Bryan Taylor, MSS
    • Operations Branch: Luis C. Poblano
    • Plans, Training, Exercise and Evaluation Branch: David Kennedy, MBA

Division of Select Agents and Toxins

  • Director: Samuel Edwin
    • Program Management and Operations Branch: Tammy Gorny, MPA
    • Operations Branch: Von McClee, MS

Division of Sate and Local Readiness

  • Director: Christine Kosmos, RN, BSN, MS
    • Program Services Branch: Mark Davis, BA
    • Applied Science and Evaluation Branch: Rachel Avchen, PhD
    • Field Services Branch:Randolph Daley, DVM, MPH
    • Public Health and Health Systems Capacity Building Branch: David Hunter, MPH, MSW, BA
Page last reviewed: July 23, 2019, 12:55 PM