Member Roster

As of April 2018

CPR’s Board of Scientific Counselors consists of 11 voting members (Appointed Special Government Employees), including the Chair; 3 Ex Officio voting members from federal agencies; and 6 liaison representatives. Voting board members and non-voting liaison representatives have expertise in the following topic areas relevant to emergency preparedness and response business, crisis leadership, emergency response and management, engineering, epidemiology, health policy and management, informatics, laboratory science, medicine, mental and behavioral health, public health law, public health practice, risk communication and social science.

Thomas Inglesby, MD
Director, Johns Hopkins Center for Health Security
Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health
Baltimore, MD
Term: 2/29/2016 – 9/30/2019

Margaret L. Brandeau, PhD
Coleman F. Fung Professor, School of Engineering Department of Management, Science and Engineering Stanford University
Stanford, California
Term: 3/1/2016 – 9/30/2019

Jennifer A. Horney, PhD, MPH, CPH
Professor and Director, Program in Epidemiology, College of Health Sciences, University of Delaware
Newark, Delaware
Term: 12/21/2018 – 9/30/2020

Suzet McKinney, DrPH, MPH
CEO/Executive Director, Illinois Medical District
Chicago, Illinois
Term: 8/6/2018 – 9/30/2021

Brent Pawlecki, MD
 Chief Health Officer
The Goodyear Tire & Rubber Company
Akron, Ohio
Term: 7/14/2016 – 9/30/2022

Alonzo L. Plough, PhD, MPH
Vice President for Research and Evaluation and Chief Science Officer
Robert Wood Johnson Foundation
Princeton, New Jersey
Term: 7/14/2016 – 9/30/2019

Catherine C. Slemp, MD, MPH
State Health Officer and Commissioner
Bureau for Public Health, West Virginia Department of Health and Human Resources
Charleston, West Virginia
Term: 12/19/2016 – 9/30/2022

Kasisomayajula Viswanath, PhD, MA, MCJ
Lee Kum Kee Professor of Health Communication
Department of Social and Behavioral Sciences
Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health
Boston, Massachusetts
Term: 8/13/2014 – 9/30/2022

Dawn Patricia Wooley, PhD, SM [NRCM], RBP, CBSP
Associate Professor, Department of Neuroscience, Cell Biology, and Physiology
Wright State University
Dayton, Ohio
Term: 8/1/2018 – 9/30/2021

Department of Defense
Jody R. Wireman, PhD, MSPH, MPA
Director, SG Force Health Protection
Peterson AFB, CO

Department of Health & Human Services

Sally Phillips, RN, PhD
Deputy Assistant Secretary
Office of the Assistant Secretary for Preparedness and Response (ASPR)
Director, Office of Strategy, Policy, Planning, and Requirements (SPPR)
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Washington DC

Department of Homeland Security
Anthony Macintyre, MD
Senior Medical Advisor, FEMA
Countering Weapons of Mass Destruction (CWMD)
Department of Homeland Security (DHS)
Washington, DC

Christina Egan, PhD, CBSP
Association of Public Health Laboratories (APHL)External
Chief, Biodefense Laboratory, Wadsworth Center
New York State Department of Health
Albany, NY

Laura Magana, PhD
Association of Schools and Programs of Public HealthExternal (ASPPH)
President CEO
1900 M St NW Ste 710
Washington, DC 20036

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials (ASTHO)External
Liaison position currently vacant

Benjamin P. Chan, MD, MPH
Council of State and Territorial Epidemiologist (CSTE)External
State Epidemiologist
New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services
Division of Public Health Services
Concord, New Hampshire

Michele Askenazi, MPH
National Association of County and City Health Officials (NACCHO)External
Director of Emergency Preparedness, Response, and Communicable Disease Surveillance
Greenwood Village, CO

Jamie Ritchey MPH, PhD
Director, Tribal Epidemiology CenterExternal (TEC)
Inter Tribal Council of Arizona (ITCA)
Phoenix, AZ

Kimberly Lochner, ScD
Deputy Associate Director for Science, CPR
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Atlanta, GA

Page last reviewed: April 25, 2019, 10:15 AM