Source of standard: CDC’s National Program of Cancer Registries

Source item name: Not applicable

Source item number: Not applicable

This variable indicates whether a state is funded by CDC’s NPCR or NCI’s SEER Program.external icon

Considerations for Use

  • Central cancer registries that received funding from NPCR and submitted data during any 2001–2018 diagnosis year are categorized as “NPCR registries.” They include Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming.
  • “SEER registries” are central cancer registries receiving funding only from SEER during the 2001–2018 diagnosis years (Connecticut, Hawaii, Iowa, and New Mexico).