The Carol Friedman Award

Carol Friedman

“Carol was funny, fun to work with, and committed to making a difference all at the same time.”

The Carol Friedman Award was established in 2011 to honor Dr. Carol Friedman for her exemplary leadership, outstanding mentorship, and extraordinary dedication and contributions to comprehensive cancer control.

Dr. Friedman served as CDC’s first Comprehensive Control Branch Chief in the Division of Cancer Prevention and Control. She was a tireless advocate for the underserved and led numerous disaster response teams as a highly decorated commissioned officer in the U.S. Public Health Service.

2018 Award Nomination Information

Theme: Excellence in Addressing Cancer Disparities

The Carol Friedman Award was awarded to two outstanding individuals on September 11th, 2018 at the NCCCP’s 20th Anniversary Celebration. These cancer control leaders exemplify Carol’s desire to help all people overcome disease through their incredible service in reducing cancer disparities in their communities.

Ms. Hiam Hamade
Ms. Hiam Hamade – Michigan

Ms. Hamade is the Chronic Disease Prevention Programs Supervisor for the Arab Community Center for Economic and Social Services and is a member of Michigan’s Cancer Consortium’s Health Equity Committee. As an established community leader and cancer survivor herself, Hiam focuses on improving cancer screening among the men and women in Michigan’s Arab American community. She has established culturally-appropriate support groups, conducted regular needs assessments, and provides transportation and other instrumental needs to cancer patients during their treatment.

Dr. Abdul Saied Calvino
Dr. Abdul Saied Calvino – Rhode Island

Dr. Calvino is an Assistant Professor at Brown University and a board certified surgical oncologist at Roger Williams Medical Center in Providence, RI. He is a member of RI’s cancer coalition and 80 by 18 delegation to increase colorectal cancer screening. To address low colorectal cancer screening rates among minority populations –including Hispanic, Southeast Asian, and Native American men and women– Dr. Calvino designed and implemented a patient navigation program to overcome barriers to colonoscopy. This program saved hundreds of people from the devastating effects of cancer, and has become a model for community-clinical linkage interventions because of its success.

Previous Award Winners

Photo of Dr. Ann Partridge with Nikki Hayes

Dr. Ann Partridge (Massachusetts)
Outstanding Achievement in Addressing the Needs of Cancer Survivors

Photo of Nikki Hayes, Ms. Polly Hager, Ms. Virginia Warren, Captain Annie Brayboy (retired), Sherri Stewart, and Pamela Protzel-Berman

Ms. Polly Hager (Michigan) and
Ms. Virginia Warren (Arizona)
Outstanding Achievement in Secondary Prevention of and Screening for Cancer

Photo of Erin Dzuedzic with her father and Nikki Hayes

Ms. Erin Dzuedzic (Washington)
Outstanding Achievement in Primary Prevention of Cancer and Continuous Contributions in Comprehensive Cancer Control

Photo of Dr. Jane E. Korn with Nikki Hayes

Dr. Jane E. Korn (Minnesota)
Extraordinary Leadership and Exemplary Mentorship in Comprehensive Cancer Control

Photo of Dr. Anne Lanier sitting in her home

Dr. Anne Lanier (Alaska)
Outstanding Achievement in Using Surveillance Data to Drive Comprehensive Cancer Control