

ADVISORY BOARD ON RADIATION AND WORKER HEALTH

4676 Columbia Parkway, MS: C-46 Cincinnati, Ohio 45226 (513) 533-6825

April 9, 2012

The Honorable Kathleen Sebelius Secretary Department of Health and Human Services 200 Independence Avenue, S.W. Washington, D.C. 20201

Dear Madam Secretary:

The Advisory Board on Radiation and Worker Health (The Board) has evaluated Special Exposure Cohort (SEC) Petition 00139 concerning workers at Hangar 481 on the premises of Kirtland Air Force Base (AFB), Albuquerque, New Mexico, under the statutory requirements established by the Energy Employees Occupational Illness Compensation Program Act of 2000 (EEOICPA) and incorporated into 42 C.F.R. § 83.13.

The National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH) has recommended that individual dose reconstructions are feasible for:

"Workers at Hangar 481, Kirtland Air Force Base (AFB), from March 1, 1989 through February 29, 1996."

NIOSH found that it has access to adequate exposure monitoring and other information necessary to do individual dose reconstructions with sufficient accuracy for members of this group, and therefore a class covering this group should not be added to the SEC. The Board concurs with this determination.

Enclosed is the supporting documentation from the Board meeting(s) where this SEC class was discussed. The documentation includes copies of the petition, the NIOSH review thereof, and related materials. If any of these items are unavailable at this time, they will follow shortly.

Sincerely,

[Signature on file]

James M. Melius, M.D., Dr. PH Chairman, ABRWH

Enclosure

CHAIRMAN

James M. Melius, M.D., Dr. PH. Albany, New York

<u>MEMBERS</u>

Henry Anderson, M.D. Madison, Wisconsin

Josie Beach Kennewick, Washington

Bradley P. Clawson Rexburg, Idaho

R. William Field, Ph.D. Iowa City, Iowa

Michael H. Gibson Franklin, Ohio

Mark A. Griffon Salem, New Hampshire

Richard Lemen, Ph.D. Canton, Georgia

James E. Lockey, M.D. Cincinnati, Ohio

Wanda I. Munn Richland, Washington

John W. Poston, Sr., Ph.D. College Station, Texas

David B. Richardson, Ph.D. Chapel Hill, North Carolina

Genevieve S. Roessler, Ph.D. Elysian, Minnesota

Phillip Schofield Bosque Farm, New Mexico

Paul L. Ziemer, Ph.D. Lafayette, Indiana

STAFF

EXECUTIVE SECRETARY

Theodore M. Katz, MPA Atlanta, Georgia

COMMITTEE MANAGEMENT

Zaida Burgos Atlanta, Georgia