Skip directly to search Skip directly to A to Z list Skip directly to navigation Skip directly to page options Skip directly to site content

National Tobacco Control Program

CDC’s Office on Smoking and Health (OSH) created the National Tobacco Control Program (NTCP) in 1999 to encourage coordinated, national efforts to reduce tobacco-related diseases and deaths. The program provides funding and technical support to state and territorial health departments. NTCP funds

  • All 50 states
  • The District of Columbia
  • Eight U.S. territories/jurisdictions
  • Six national networks
  • Eight tribal support centers

NTCP-funded programs are working to achieve the objectives outlined in OSH’s Best Practices for Comprehensive Tobacco Control Programs.

The four goals of NTCP are to

The four goals of NTCP are to

  • Eliminate exposure to secondhand smoke
  • Promote quitting among adults and youth
  • Prevent initiation among youth
  • Identify and eliminate disparities among population groups

The four components of NTCP are

  • Population-based community interventions
  • Counter-marketing
  • Program policy/regulation
  • Surveillance and evaluation

Tobacco Control Map

Select a state from the drop-down menu or select a state from the map to go to that state's tobacco control Web site.


Campaigns and Multimedia

  • You Can Quit. Learn more…
  • Ready to quit smoking? Make sure you have what it takes.
  • CDC 24/7 – Saving Lives, Protecting People, Saving Money. Learn More About How CDC Works For You…