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Current Cigarette Smoking Among Adults
Aged 18 and Older, 1997

Current Cigarette Smoking Among
Adults by Race/Ethnicity, 1996�1997

Current Smokeless Tobacco Use
Among Adults Aged 18+, 1995�1996

Youth Tobacco Use
SMOKELESS TOBACCOUSE AMONG YOUTH,

GRADES 9–12, 1997 (PAST MONTH)
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AVERAGE ANNUAL DEATHS RELATED

TO SMOKING, 1990–1994
AVERAGE ANNUAL YEARS OF

POTENTIAL LIFE LOST,* 1990–1994
MEDICAL COSTS

RELATED TO SMOKING, 1993

Overall 5,210
Men 3,286
Women 1,924 
Death Rate 348/100,000
Rank 23
(No. 1 is lowest death rate)

67,351 years or an average
of 12.9 years for each death
due to smoking.

*Calculated to life expectancy

Number of Oregon youth projected to die prematurely from their smoking: 61,340
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CDC
CENTERS FOR DISEASE CONTROL 

AND PREVENTION

CIGARETTE SMOKING AMONG YOUTH,
GRADES 9–12, 1997

Youth Risk Behavior Survey (YRBS) data not available.

Ambulatory $141,660,000
Hospital $184,610,000
Nursing Home† $162,740,000
Drug $32,680,000
Other $89,480,000
Total $611,170,000

†Preliminary estimates



Tobacco Control Legislation, 1998

Tobacco Economy

Advertising
No restrictions

State Preempts Local Laws
Preemption of vending machine provisions of
minors’ access laws.

Smokefree Indoor Air

Site Restrictions Penalties

None100% 
Smokefree

Designated
smoking areas
required or
allowed 

To businesses To smokersDesignated
smoking
areas with
separate
ventilation

Tobacco Agriculture, 1997
None

Tobacco Manufacturing, 1996
None

Tobacco Use Prevention and Control Program
Funding: CDC IMPACT & RWJF/AMA SmokeLess States Program

Regional Network: Gulf, Western, and Pacific

Contact
Cinthia Campbell,Oregon Department of Human Resources,Oregon Health Division,

800 NE Oregon Street,Portland, Oregon 97232
Phone:503-731-4273 Fax: 503-731-4082 Internet Address:cinthia.m.campbell@state.or.us   

Restrictions on Vending Machines
Vending machines must be located where minors 
cannot access them. Hotels and motels are exempted.

Signage
Signs required on premises. 

Licensure
None

Minors� Access to Tobacco Products
Minim um age for sale:18
Penalties:Any person who sells to a minor will be
fined $100–$500.  
Illegal for minors to:

Purchase . . . . . . . . . . .No
Possess . . . . . . . . . . . .Yes
Use  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .No

Government worksites ✓✓

Private worksites ✓✓

Restaurants ✓✓ ✓✓

Day care centers ✓✓

Home-based day care ✓✓

Number of Oregon y outh e xposed to ETS in the home in 1996: 167,533

Oregon

85

Excise Tax
Cigarette tax per pack . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .68¢

Rank = 9 (No.1 is highest tax)
Federal and state taxes as a

percentage of retail price  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .39.3
Annual gross tax revenue

from cigarettes . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .$140,419,675

Smokeless tobacco tax:
65% of wholesale sales price.

Cigarette Sales, 1997
Number of packages sold and taxed, per capita  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .89.5


