
Past Month Frequent

Past Month = tobacco use on one or more days in the past month
Frequent = tobacco use on 20+ days in the past month

CIGARETTE SMOKING AMONG YOUTH,
GRADES 9–12, 1997*

All States 36.4% 16.7%
NJ 37.9% 19.3%
Boys 36.7% 19.4%
Girls 38.8% 19.2%

Health Impact and Costs

OFFICE ON SMOKING AND HEALTH/NATIONAL CENTER FOR CHRONIC DISEASE PREVENTION AND HEALTH PROMOTION
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Current Cigarette Smoking Among Adults
Aged 18 and Older, 1997

Current Cigarette Smoking Among
Adults by Race/Ethnicity, 1996�1997

Current Smokeless Tobacco Use
Among Adults Aged 18+, 1995�1996

Youth Tobacco Use
SMOKELESS TOBACCOUSE AMONG YOUTH,

GRADES 9–12, 1997*(PAST MONTH)

All States (Median)

New Jersey Overall
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AVERAGE ANNUAL DEATHS RELATED

TO SMOKING, 1991–1994
AVERAGE ANNUAL YEARS OF

POTENTIAL LIFE LOST,* 1991–1994
MEDICAL COSTS

RELATED TO SMOKING, 1993

Overall 12,831
Men 7,775
Women 5,056 
Death Rate 327/100,000
Rank 14
(No. 1 is lowest death rate)

172,539 years or an average
of 13.4 years for each death
due to smoking.

*Calculated to life expectancy

Number of New Jersey youth projected to die prematurely from their smoking: 135,593
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Adult Tobacco Use in New Jersey

All States . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 9.3%
NJ  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 5.4%

Boys  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 9.7%
Girls . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 1.5%

*Unweighted data. May not apply to all youth 
(grades 9–12) in the state.

Ambulatory $402,250,000
Hospital $519,960,000
Nursing Home† $468,560,000
Drug $108,440,000
Other $241,290,000
Total $1,740,510,000

†Preliminary estimates



Tobacco Control Legislation, 1998

Tobacco Economy

Advertising
No restrictions

State Preempts Local Laws
No preemption

Smokefree Indoor Air

Site Restrictions Penalties

None100% 
Smokefree

Designated
smoking areas
required or
allowed 

To businesses To smokersDesignated
smoking
areas with
separate
ventilation

Tobacco Agriculture, 1997
None

Tobacco Manufacturing, 1996
Overall tobacco manufacturing  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .$1,000,000
Tobacco manufacturing as a percentage of gross state product . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .0.0004%

Tobacco Use Prevention and Control Program
Funding: NCI ASSIST & RWJF/AMA SmokeLess States Program

Regional Network: Mid-Atlantic

Contact
Mianne Edwards,New Jersey Department of Health and Senior Services,Division of Addiction Services

P.O. Box 362,120 South Stockton St.,Trenton,New Jersey 08625-0362
Phone:609-292-4414 Fax: 609-292-3816 Internet Address:me2@doh.state.nj.us   

Restrictions on Vending Machines
Limited restrictions on vending machine placement.

Signage
Signs required on premises and affixed to vending 
machines.

Licensure
Retail license and vending machine license required.

Minors� Access to Tobacco Products
Minim um age for sale:18
Penalties:Any person who sells to a minor will be
fined $250. Revocation/suspension of license for 
violation. 
Illegal for minors to:

Purchase . . . . . . . . . . .No
Possess . . . . . . . . . . . .No
Use  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .No

Government worksites ✓✓ ✓✓

Private worksites ✓✓

Restaurants ✓✓

Day care centers ✓✓ ** ✓✓

Home-based day care†

Number of Ne w Jer sey youth e xposed to ETS in the home in 1996: 398,218

New Jersey

71

Excise Tax
Cigarette tax per pack . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .80¢

Rank = 4 (No.1 is highest tax)
Federal and state taxes as a

percentage of retail price . . . . . . . . . . . . .30.7%*
Annual gross tax revenue

from cigarettes . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .$245,962,500*

Smokeless tobacco tax:
48% of wholesale sales price.

*Based on previous tax rate of 40¢ per pack.

Cigarette Sales, 1997
Number of packages sold and taxed, per capita  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .77.0

†Language does not specify home-based day care.
**Smoking is banned when children are present. When children are not present smoking must be in separately ventilated areas.


