Skip directly to search Skip directly to A to Z list Skip directly to navigation Skip directly to site content Skip directly to page options
CDC Home

State Highlights

Connecticut

Monitor

Adult Current Cigarette/Smokeless Tobacco Use

In Connecticut, the percentage of adults (ages 18+) who currently smoke cigarettes was 17.1% in 2011. Across all states and D.C., the prevalence of cigarette smoking among adults ranged from 11.8% to 29.0%. Connecticut ranked 5th among the states.

The percentage of adults who currently use smokeless tobacco was 1.5% in 2011. Across all states and D.C., the prevalence ranged from 1.4% to 9.8%. Connecticut ranked 3rd among the states.

 

Graph shows current smoking among adults by demographic characteristics Text description of this graph is available on a separate page.

 

Youth Current Cigarette/Smokeless Tobacco/Cigar Use

In Connecticut, the percentage of youth in grades 9–12 who currently smoke cigarettes was 15.9% in 2011. The range across 44 states was 5.9% to 24.1%. Connecticut ranked 19th among 44 states.

Connecticut had no reported YRBS data on smokeless tobacco, cigars, or tobacco in 2011.

 

Chart shows past month cigarette use among youths ages 12 to 17 Text description of this chart is available on a separate page.

 

Past-Year Cigarette Initiation

In 2008–2009, of all Connecticut youth ages 12–17 who had never smoked, 8.3% smoked a cigarette for the first time in the past year. This ranked 50th in the nation, with a range of 3.3%–9.2% among the states.

Of all young adults ages 18–25 who had never smoked, 6.6% smoked a cigarette for the first time in 2008–2009. This ranked 12th in the nation, with a range of 4.2%–14.7% among the states.

Chart shows past-year cigarette initiation for people ages 12-25 who had never smoked before. Text description of this chart is available on a separate page.

 

Protect

Adult Exposure to Secondhand Smoke

Among all adults, the percentage who reported being exposed to secondhand smoke within the past 7 days was lower in Connecticut than in the nation overall. In 2009–2010, overall exposure to secondhand smoke in Connecticut was 46.0%, ranking 22nd among the states.

Adults were exposed to secondhand smoke in various locations. The table shows the percentage of Connecticut adults who reported any exposure, as well as exposure in their home, in a vehicle, or in indoor or outdoor areas at work or public places in the past 7 days.

Chart shows adult exposure to secondhand smoke. Text description of this chart is available on a separate page.

 

Opinions about Smoking in the Workplace

In 2009–2010, 85.7% of adults in Connecticut thought that smoking should never be allowed in indoor workplaces, ranking 5th among the states.

 

Chart shows adults who reported anyone smoking in work area within past two weeks Text description of this chart is available on a separate page.

Smoke-Free Home Rules

In 2009–2010, 84.1 % of adults in Connecticut reported that their homes had smoke-free home rules, ranking 15th among the states. The percentage of homes without smoke-free home rules with children living in them was 34.6%, ranking 36th among the states.

 

Chart shows adults who reported anyone smoking in the home within the past two weeks. Text description of this chart is available on a separate page.

 

State Smoke-Free Policy

As of June 30, 2012, Connecticut had laws that do not fully protect individuals from secondhand smoke by allowing smoking in indoor areas of workplaces, restaurants, and bars. The state law did not allow local communities to enact local smokefree laws.

 

Chart shows state smoke-free policy Text description of this chart is available on a separate page.

Offer

Adults Who Made a Quit Attempt in the Last Year

During 2009–2010, 56.1% of Connecticut adult smokers made a quit attempt in the past year, ranking 19th among the states.

Chart shows adults who made a quit attempt in the last year Text description of this chart is available on a separate page.

 

Quitline Utilization

In 2010, the Connecticut quitline received 9,932 calls, and 3,608 tobacco users (an estimated 0.9% of all tobacco users in the state) received telephone counseling, cessation medications, or both from the state quitline.

Medicaid Coverage for Counseling and Medications

In 2010, Connecticut's Medicaid program provided incomplete coverage through Medicaid for tobacco-dependence treatment. Connecticut provided partial coverage for nicotine replacement therapies, partial coverage for varenicline, partial coverage for bupropion, and full coverage for individual counseling (i.e., partial group coverage).

Chart shows medicaid coverage for counseling and medications. Text description of this chart is available on a separate page.

 


 

Warn

Tobacco Counter-Marketing Media Intensity

CDC Best Practices recommendations translate into an average quarterly exposure of 1,200 general audience gross rating points (GRPs) and 800 youth target rating points (TRPs) in effective anti-tobacco media campaigns. Connecticut had an average of 810.4 general audience GRPs and 226.2 youth TRPs per quarter in television advertising supporting tobacco control messages in 2010.

 

Chart shows tobacco counter-marketing media intensity Text description of this chart is available on a separate page.

 

Chart shows tobacco counter-marketing media intensity Text description of this chart is available on a separate page.

Knowledge of the Dangers of Tobacco

In Connecticut, 65.7% of adults thought that breathing smoke from other people's cigarettes or other tobacco products is very harmful to one's health in 2009–2010. Additionally, 87.6% thought that cigarette smoking is very addictive.

 

Chart shows the knowledge of the dangers of tobacco Text description of this chart is available on a separate page.

 

Chart shows the level of addiction to tobacco Text description of this chart is available on a separate page.

Enforce

State Allows Local Advertising and Promotion Laws

As of June 30, 2012, Connecticut allowed local regulation of tobacco industry promotions, tobacco product sampling, and display of tobacco products in commercial establishments.

 

Chart shows how the state allows local advertising and promotion laws Text description of this chart is available on a separate page.

 

Over-the-Counter Retail Licensure

As of June 30, 2012, Connecticut required all establishments selling cigarettes and smokeless tobacco products over-the-counter to be licensed. Nationally, 37 states required over-the-counter licensure for cigarettes, 29 of which also have a requirement for smokeless tobacco, with various renewal frequencies, fees and penalties for violations.

 

Chart shows the state's over-the-counter retail licensure Text description of this chart is available on a separate page.

 

Raise

Amount of Tobacco Product Excise Tax

As of June 30, 2012, the excise tax on cigarettes in Connecticut was $3.40 per pack, ranking 3rd among the states. The tax on cigars was 50% of the wholesale sales price per cigar, and for little cigars the tax was 50% of the wholesale sales price per pack of 20. The tax on smokeless tobacco was 50% of the wholesale sales price; however, snuff was taxed individually at $1.00 per ounce.

 

Chart shows amount of tobacco product excise tax for a state Text description of this chart is available on a separate page.

 

Price Paid for Last Cigarettes Purchased

In Connecticut, 91.1% of adult smokers bought their last cigarettes by the pack, and 8.9% bought them by the carton in 2009–2010. The average price that Connecticut smokers reported paying for their last pack of cigarettes was $7.51 in 2009–2010; the range among states was $7.98 to $4.04. Connecticut did not have any reportable data on the average price paid for the last carton of cigarettes bought by smokers in 2009–2010; the range among 45 states with valid data was $64.45 to $30.46.



Persons with disabilities who experience problems accessing the Tobacco Control State Highlights 2012 should contact tobaccoinfo@cdc.gov, or call 1-800-CDC-INFO (1-800-232-4636).

 
CDC 24/7 – Saving Lives, Protecting People, Saving Money. Learn More About How CDC Works For You…
Contact Us:
  • CDC/Office on Smoking and Health
    4770 Buford Highway
    MS F-79
    Atlanta, Georgia 30341-3717
  • 800-CDC-INFO
    (800-232-4636)
    TTY: (888) 232-6348
    Contact CDC-INFO
USA.gov: The U.S. Government's Official Web PortalDepartment of Health and Human Services
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention   1600 Clifton Rd. Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, USA
800-CDC-INFO (800-232-4636) TTY: (888) 232-6348 - Contact CDC-INFO