In Wyoming, 19.4% of the adult population (aged 18+ years)—over 78,000 individuals—are current cigarette smokers. Across all states, the prevalence of cigarette smoking among adults ranges from 9.3% to 26.5%. Wyoming ranks 30th among the states.
Text description of this graph is available on a separate page.
Among youth aged 12–17 years, 14.9% smoke in Wyoming. The range across all states is 6.5% to 15.9%. Wyoming ranks 50th among the states.
Among adults aged 35+ years, over 700 died as a result of tobacco use per year, on average, during 2000–2004. This represents a smoking-attributable mortality rate of 283.1/100,000. Wyoming's smoking-attributable mortality rate ranks 35th among the states.
Wyoming does not have a statewide smoke-free law that provides adequate protection against exposure to secondhand smoke in public places.
Among adults who work indoors, the percentage who reported anyone smoking in their work area within the preceding 2 weeks has remained higher in Wyoming than in the nation overall. Currently, Wyoming ranks 49th among the states for workplace exposure, at 12.2%.
Best Practices estimates 8% of smokers could access quitlines each year. In Wyoming, 4.6% of smokers called their quitline.
The Medicaid fee-for-service program in Wyoming provides only partial coverage for tobacco dependence treatment. Wyoming's Medicaid policy provides coverage for both bupropion and varenicline. Wyoming's Medicaid policy provides coverage for individual and group counseling, but not telephone counseling.
Smoke-free home rules represent awareness of the dangers of secondhand smoke. In Wyoming, as in the nation, an increasing number of families have such a rule.
Currently, 70.2% of Wyoming homes have this rule. Wyoming ranks 44th among the states.
Rating point data were available for 42 states and the District of Columbia. Best Practices recommendations translate into an average of 800 targeted rating points (TRPs) in effective youth and 1,200 gross rating points (GRPs) in effective general audience antitobacco media campaigns per quarter. Wyoming has no reported TRP or GRP data.
Wyoming allows local regulation of tobacco industry promotions, sampling, and display of tobacco products in commercial establishments.
Wyoming requires all establishments selling tobacco products over the counter but not by vending machine to be licensed. Currently, 38 states require licensure for both over the counter and vending machine sales.
Wyoming maintains a $0.60 per pack tax and ranks 40th among the states.
Wyoming does not have a minimum price law
Approximately 23% of the annual revenue generated from state excise taxes and settlement payments would fund Wyoming's tobacco control program at the Best Practices recommended amount. However, in 2007, Wyoming's funding for tobacco control was 78.2% of the recommended level. Wyoming ranks 3rd among the states.
Persons with disabilities experiencing problems accessing the 2010 Tobacco Control State Highlights should contact firstname.lastname@example.org, or call 1-800-CDC-INFO (1-800-232-4636).
File Formats: All viewers, players, and plug-ins used on this site can be downloaded from the file formats page. (For example: Adobe Acrobat Reader for pdf files, Windows Media Player for audio and video files, PowerPoint Viewer for presentation slides, etc.)
Get email updates
To receive email updates about Smoking & Tobacco Use, enter your email address:
- CDC/Office on Smoking and Health
4770 Buford Highway
Atlanta, Georgia 30341-3717
TTY: (888) 232-6348