In Washington State, 15.7% of the adult population (aged 18+ years)—over 786,000 individuals—are current cigarette smokers. Across all states, the prevalence of cigarette smoking among adults ranges from 9.3% to 26.5%. Washington State ranks 6th among the states.
Text description of this graph is available on a separate page.
Among youth aged 12–17 years, 9.7% smoke in Washington State. The range across all states is 6.5% to 15.9%. Washington State ranks 15th among the states.
Among adults ages 35+ years, over 7,600 died as a result of tobacco use per year, on average, during 2000–2004. This represents a smoking-attributable mortality rate of 261.0/100,000. Washington State's smoking-attributable mortality rate ranks 22nd among the states.
Washington State has a smoke-free law that provides for strong protection against exposure to secondhand smoke in workplaces and public places. The law preempts local communities from enacting local smoke-free restrictions.
Among adults who work indoors, the percentage who reported anyone smoking in their work area within the preceding 2 weeks has remained lower in Washington State than in the nation overall. Currently, Washington State ranks 3rd among the states for workplace exposure, at 4.3%.
Best Practices estimates 8% of smokers could access quitlines each year. In Washington State, 4.4% of smokers called their quitline.
The Medicaid fee-for-service program in Washington State provides no coverage for tobacco dependence treatment. Washington State's Medicaid policy provides coverage for bupropion, but not varenicline, and this coverage is for pregnant women only. Washington State's Medicaid policy provides coverage for individual counseling, but not group or telephone counseling, and this coverage is for pregnant women only.
Smoke-free home rules represent awareness of the dangers of secondhand smoke. In Washington State, as in the nation, an increasing number of families have such a rule.
Currently, 87.0% of Washington State homes have this rule. Washington State ranks 4th among the states.
Rating point data were available for 42 states and the District of Columbia. Best Practices recommendations translate into an average of 800 targeted rating points (TRPs) in effective youth and 1,200 gross rating points (GRPs) in effective general audience antitobacco media campaigns per quarter. Washington State's major media market(s) aired an average of 255 youth TRPs and 575 general audience GRPs per quarter in 2008. Washington State ranks 6th among the states for the number of youth TRPs and 9th among the states for the number of general audience GRPs aired.
Washington State preempts local regulation of tobacco industry promotions and sampling. Washington State allows local regulation on display of tobacco products in commercial establishments.
Washington State requires all establishments selling tobacco products over the counter and by vending machine to be licensed. Currently, 38 states require licensure for both over the counter and vending machine sales.
Washington State maintains a $2.025 per pack tax and ranks 10th among the states.
Washington State has a minimum price law. Wholesalers and retailers cannot sell cigarettes for less than their own purchase price. This law has the effect of limiting the amount of discounting that can be offered through coupons and other types of sales promotions.
Approximately 12% of the annual revenue generated from state excise taxes and settlement payments would fund Washington State's tobacco control program at the recommended amount. However, in 2007, Washington State's funding for tobacco control was 42.6% of the recommended level. Washington State ranks 11th among the states.
Persons with disabilities experiencing problems accessing the 2010 Tobacco Control State Highlights should contact firstname.lastname@example.org, or call 1-800-CDC-INFO (1-800-232-4636).
File Formats: All viewers, players, and plug-ins used on this site can be downloaded from the file formats page. (For example: Adobe Acrobat Reader for pdf files, Windows Media Player for audio and video files, PowerPoint Viewer for presentation slides, etc.)
Get email updates
To receive email updates about Smoking & Tobacco Use, enter your email address:
- CDC/Office on Smoking and Health
4770 Buford Highway
Atlanta, Georgia 30341-3717
TTY: (888) 232-6348