In Virginia, 16.4% of the adult population (aged 18+ years)—over 976,000 individuals—are current cigarette smokers. Across all states, the prevalence of cigarette smoking among adults ranges from 9.3% to 26.5%. Virginia ranks 12th among states.
Text description of this graph is available on a separate page.
Among youth aged 12–17 years, 11.0% smoke in Virginia. The range across all states is 6.5% to 15.9%. Virginia ranks 28th among the states.
Among adults aged 35+ years, over 9,200 died as a result of tobacco use per year, on average, during 2000–2004. This represents a smoking-attributable mortality rate of 267.0/100,000. Virginia's smoking-attributable mortality rate ranks 28th among the states.
Virginia does not have a statewide smoke-free law that provides adequate protection against exposure to secondhand smoke in public places. The law preempts local communities from enacting local smoke-free restrictions.
Among adults who work indoors, the percentage who reported anyone smoking in their work area within the preceding 2 weeks has remained lower in Virginia than in the nation overall. Currently, Virginia ranks 20th among states for workplace exposure, at 6.3%.
Best Practices estimates 8% of smokers could access quitlines each year. In Virginia, 0.4% of smokers called their quitline.
The Medicaid fee-for-service program in Virginia provides full coverage for tobacco dependence treatment. Virginia's Medicaid policy provides coverage for both bupropion and varenicline. Virginia's Medicaid policy provides coverage for group counseling and this coverage is for pregnant women only. Individual and telephone counseling are not covered.
Smoke-free home rules represent awareness of the dangers of secondhand smoke. In Virginia, as in the nation, an increasing number of families have such a rule.
Currently, 79.1% of Virginia homes have this rule. Virginia ranks 21st among the states.
Rating point data were available for 42 states and the District of Columbia. Best Practices recommendations translate into an average of 800 targeted rating points (TRPs) in effective youth and 1,200 gross rating points (GRPs) in effective general audience antitobacco media campaigns per quarter. Virginia's major media market(s) aired an average of 65 youth TRPs and 135 general audience GRPs per quarter in 2008. Virginia ranks 16th among the states for the number of youth TRPs and 23rd among the states for the number of general audience GRPs aired.
Virginia allows local regulation of tobacco industry promotions, sampling, and display of tobacco products in commercial establishments.
Virginia does not require establishments selling tobacco products over the counter nor by vending machine to be licensed. Currently, 38 states require licensure for both over the counter and vending machine sales.
Virginia maintains a $0.30 per pack tax and ranks 49th among the states.
Virginia does not have a minimum price law.
Approximately 34% of the annual revenue generated from state excise taxes and settlement payments would fund Virginia's tobacco control program at the Best Practices recommended amount. However, in 2007, Virginia's funding for tobacco control was 14.1% of the recommended level. Virginia ranks 32nd among the states.
Persons with disabilities experiencing problems accessing the 2010 Tobacco Control State Highlights should contact email@example.com, or call 1-800-CDC-INFO (1-800-232-4636).
File Formats: All viewers, players, and plug-ins used on this site can be downloaded from the file formats page. (For example: Adobe Acrobat Reader for pdf files, Windows Media Player for audio and video files, PowerPoint Viewer for presentation slides, etc.)
Get email updates
To receive email updates about Smoking & Tobacco Use, enter your email address:
- CDC/Office on Smoking and Health
4770 Buford Highway
Atlanta, Georgia 30341-3717
TTY: (888) 232-6348