In Vermont, 16.8% of the adult population (aged 18+ years)—over 82,000 individuals—are current cigarette smokers. Across all states, the prevalence of cigarette smoking among adults ranges from 9.3% to 26.5%. Vermont ranks 13th among the states.
Text description of this graph is available on a separate page.
Among youth aged 12–17 years, 11.3% smoke in Vermont. The range across all states is 6.5% to 15.9%. Vermont ranks 29th among the states.
Among adults aged 35+ years, over 800 died as a result of tobacco use per year, on average, during 2000–2004. This represents a smoking-attributable mortality rate of 247.5/100,000. Vermont's smoking-attributable mortality rate ranks 16th among the states.
Vermont has a smoke-free law that provides for strong protection against exposure to secondhand smoke in workplaces and public places.
Among adults who work indoors, the percentage who reported anyone smoking in their work area within the preceding two weeks has remained lower in Vermont than in the nation overall. Currently, Vermont ranks 25th among the states for workplace exposure, at 6.9%.
Best Practices estimates 8% of smokers could access quitlines each year. In Vermont, 7.3% of smokers called their quitline.
The Medicaid fee-for-service program in Vermont provides full coverage for tobacco dependence treatment. Vermont's Medicaid policy provides coverage for both bupropion and varenicline. Vermont's Medicaid policy does not provide coverage for individual, group, or telephone counseling.
Smoke-free home rules represent awareness of the dangers of secondhand smoke. In Vermont, as in the nation, an increasing number of families have such a rule.
Currently, 75.4% of Vermont homes have this rule. Vermont ranks 29th among the states.
Rating point data were available for 42 states and the District of Columbia. Best Practices recommendations translate into an average of 800 targeted rating points (TRPs) in effective youth and 1,200 gross rating points (GRPs) in effective general audience antitobacco media campaigns per quarter. Vermont has no reported TRP or GRP data.
Vermont allows local regulation of tobacco industry promotions, sampling, and display of tobacco products in commercial establishments.
Vermont requires all establishments selling tobacco products over the counter and by vending machine to be licensed. Currently, 38 states require licensure for both over the counter and vending machine sales.
Vermont maintains a $2.24 per pack tax and ranks 9th among the states.
Vermont does not have a minimum price law.
Approximately 14% of the annual revenue generated from state excise taxes and settlement payments would fund Vermont's tobacco control program at the Best Practices recommended amount. However, in 2007, Vermont's funding for tobacco control was 61.8% of the recommended level. Vermont ranks 6th among the states.
Persons with disabilities experiencing problems accessing the 2010 Tobacco Control State Highlights should contact email@example.com, or call 1-800-CDC-INFO (1-800-232-4636).
File Formats: All viewers, players, and plug-ins used on this site can be downloaded from the file formats page. (For example: Adobe Acrobat Reader for pdf files, Windows Media Player for audio and video files, PowerPoint Viewer for presentation slides, etc.)
Get email updates
To receive email updates about Smoking & Tobacco Use, enter your email address:
- CDC/Office on Smoking and Health
4770 Buford Highway
Atlanta, Georgia 30341-3717
TTY: (888) 232-6348