In Utah, 9.3% of the adult population (aged 18+ years)—over 175,000 individuals—are current cigarette smokers. Across all states, the prevalence of cigarette smoking among adults ranges from 9.3% to 26.5%. Utah ranks 1st among the states. are current cigarette smokers. Across all states, the prevalence of cigarette smoking among adults ranges from 9.3% to 26.5%. Utah ranks 1st among the states.
Text description of this graph is available on a separate page.
Among youth aged 12–17 years, 6.5% smoke in Utah. The range across all states is 6.5% to 15.9%. Utah ranks 1st among the states.
Among adults aged 35+ years, over 1,200 died as a result of tobacco use per year, on average, during 2000–2004. This represents a smoking-attributable mortality rate of 138.3/100,000. Utah's smoking-attributable mortality rate ranks 1st among the states.
Utah has a smoke-free law that provides for strong protection against exposure to secondhand smoke in workplaces and public places. The law preempts local communities from enacting local smoke-free restrictions.
Among adults who work indoors, the percentage who reported anyone smoking in their work area within the preceding 2 weeks has remained lower in Utah than in the nation overall. Currently, Utah ranks 6th among the states for workplace exposure, at 4.5%.
Best Practices estimates 8% of smokers could access quitlines each year. In Utah, 5.2% of smokers called their quitline.
The Medicaid fee-for-service program in Utah provides full coverage for tobacco dependence treatment. Utah's Medicaid policy provides coverage for both bupropion and varenicline. Utah's Medicaid policy provides coverage for individual, group and telephone counseling, however, coverage for group and individual counseling is for pregnant women only.
Smoke-free home rules represent awareness of the dangers of secondhand smoke. In Utah, as in the nation, an increasing number of families have such a rule.
Currently, 90.6% of Utah homes have this rule. Utah ranks 1st in the nation.
Rating point data were available for 42 states and the District of Columbia. Best Practices recommendations translate into an average of 800 targeted rating points (TRPs) in effective youth and 1200 gross rating points (GRPs) in effective general audience antitobacco media campaigns per quarter. Utah's major media market(s) aired an average of 1070 youth TRPs and 4766 general audience GRPs per quarter in 2008. Utah ranks 1st among the states for the number of youth TRPs and general audience GRPs aired.
Utah preempts local regulation of tobacco industry promotions, sampling and display of tobacco products in commercial establishments.
Utah requires all establishments selling tobacco products over the counter and by vending machine to be licensed. Currently, 37 states require licensure for both over the counter and vending machine sales.
Utah maintains a $0.695 per pack tax and ranks 36th among the states.
Utah does not have a minimum price law.
Approximately 26% of the annual revenue generated from state excise taxes and settlement payments would fund Utah's tobacco control program at the Best Practices recommended amount. However, in 2007, Utah's funding for tobacco control was 35.6% of the recommended level. Utah ranks 15th among the states.
Persons with disabilities experiencing problems accessing the 2010 Tobacco Control State Highlights should contact firstname.lastname@example.org, or call 1-800-CDC-INFO (1-800-232-4636).
File Formats: All viewers, players, and plug-ins used on this site can be downloaded from the file formats page. (For example: Adobe Acrobat Reader for pdf files, Windows Media Player for audio and video files, PowerPoint Viewer for presentation slides, etc.)
Get email updates
To receive email updates about Smoking & Tobacco Use, enter your email address:
- CDC/Office on Smoking and Health
4770 Buford Highway
Atlanta, Georgia 30341-3717
TTY: (888) 232-6348