In Tennessee, 23.1% of the adult population (aged 18+ years)—over 1,095,000 individuals—are current cigarette smokers. Across all states, the prevalence of cigarette smoking among adults ranges from 9.3% to 26.5%. Tennessee ranks 46th among the states.
Text description of this graph is available on a separate page.
Among youth aged 12–17 years, 13.0% smoke in Tennessee. The range across all states is 6.5% to 15.9%. Tennessee ranks 47th among the states.
Among adults aged 35+ years, over 9,700 died as a result of tobacco use per year, on average, during 2000–2004. This represents a smoking-attributable mortality rate of 325.0/100,000. Tennessee's smoking-attributable mortality rate ranks 46th among the states.
Tennessee has a smoke-free law that provides partial protection against exposure to secondhand smoke in public places. The law preempts local communities from enacting local smoke-free restrictions.
Among adults who work indoors, the percentage who reported anyone smoking in their work area within the preceding 2 weeks has remained higher in Tennessee than in the nation overall. Currently, Tennessee ranks 43rd among the states for workplace exposure, at 9.7%.
Best Practices estimates 8% of smokers could access quitlines each year. In Tennessee, 1.1% of smokers called their quitline.
The Medicaid fee-for-service program in Tennessee covered none of the tobacco dependence treatments recommended by the U.S. Public Health Service's Clinical Practice Guideline.
Smoke-free home rules represent awareness of the dangers of secondhand smoke. In Tennessee, as in the nation, an increasing number of families have such a rule.
Currently, 68.9% of Tennessee homes have this rule. Tennessee ranks 46th among the states.
Rating point data were available for 42 states and the District of Columbia. Best Practices recommendations translate into an average of 800 targeted rating points (TRPs) in effective youth and 1,200 gross rating points (GRPs) in effective general audience antitobacco media campaigns per quarter. Tennessee's major media market(s) aired an average of 0 youth TRPs and 1 general audience GRP per quarter in 2008. Tennessee ranks 38th for the number of youth TRPs and ranks 38th among the states for the number of general audience GRPs aired.
Tennessee preempts local regulation of tobacco industry promotions, sampling and display of tobacco products in commercial establishments.
Tennessee does not require establishments selling tobacco products over the counter nor by vending machine to be licensed. Currently, 38 states require licensure for both over the counter and vending machine sales.
Tennessee maintains a $0.62 per pack tax and ranks 39th among the states.
South Dakota has a minimum price law. Wholesalers must mark up cigarettes by 4.5 percent and retailers must mark up cigarettes by at least 8 percent. This law has the effect of limiting the amount of discounting that can be offered through coupons and other types of sales promotions.
Approximately 27% of the annual revenue generated from state excise taxes and settlement payments would fund Tennessee's tobacco control program at the Best Practices recommended amount. However, in 2007, Tennessee's funding for tobacco control was 1.1% of the recommended level. Tennessee ranks 51st among the states.
Persons with disabilities experiencing problems accessing the Tobacco Control State Highlights 2010 should contact firstname.lastname@example.org, or call 1-800-CDC-INFO (1-800-232-4636).
Get email updates
To receive email updates about Smoking & Tobacco Use, enter your email address:
- CDC/Office on Smoking and Health
4770 Buford Highway
Atlanta, Georgia 30341-3717
TTY: (888) 232-6348